Odd Flight Dynamics IGE while entering ETL

Buznee

Not sure if anyone else has seen this phenomenon in the sim but I notice the aircraft behaves as if it is overly contrained when in ground effect and starting to enter into translational lift. By overly constrained I mean it almost looks like the aircraft moves or translates and doesn't rotate for a small portion of time during this regime of flight. It feels very unnatural. The aircraft also rises quite rapidly as if the ETL is almost a step function. If you'd like all try to get a replay that I can share with you guys. If you've ever flown Microsoft flight simulator and watched a replay you know how unnatural the replay looks, the overly-constrained effect I'm referring to is shown similarly through fsx replay. I see a similar temporary motion out of the aircraft during this condition. Once you pass through this regime the aircraft feels free and alive again.

Thoughts? :huh:

I'm a total noob when trying to explain air dynamics, but, the word "transitional" is used for a reason.

In ground effect, you are literally floating on the compressed air underneath you (developed by rotor down-wash) when you start going forward and adding speed you are transitioning from a stable float to using the lift of the rotors and it will stumble (so to speak) until you fully leave the ground effect and are actually using the lift of the rotor blades.

In a twin rotor, as opposed to a tri-blade rotor, the effect, or stumble is more apparent. It could be that our Huey might be a little exaggerated in that "stumble", but maybe not. ---- sounds good to me.

Okay, somebody else's turn.

Win 10 64 bit

Intel I-7 7700K

32GB Ram

Nvidia Geforce GTX 1060 6gig