ETS question

Hmm. Depends. If there are many manpads out there you don't want to go to low. But than again if there are "real" sams you don't want to go to high either.

Perhaps someone with insight could teach us more?

ASUS P4T533-C|P4 3.06@3.45|1024Mb Kingston 1066 rambus|ATI 9.... *EDITED* - Listen to Mods!!!

I am just getting into the ETS mode for the 25T and am learning to do SEAD mission's and going after SAM's.

What is the recommended alttitude for this type of mission?

ETS mode? Are we talking ARMs? I fly with the HUD in Russian and doon't recognize the abbreviation. Anyway, this is one of those questions for which there is no single easy answer. Think of SEAD as an art form rather than a science and you might be closer to understanding what to do when.

There are a number of determining factors: The known and anticipated enemy threats in the area (both ground- and air-based), terrain, weather (visibility and turbulence), the composition of your own strike package, the weapons you have under your wings, to name a few.

All that being said, I generally feel safer below 1000 m altitude because it's much quicker to get down and hide in the weeds. But, of course, terrain, weather, and enemy composition all factor in. Low altitude shrinks the threat zone of enemy long- and medium-range SAMs. But, unfortunately, it also shrinks the range of your own missiles. And low altitude also increases the lethality of short-range SAMs and AAA.

High altitude has the benefit of increasing the range of your ARMs and decreases the lethality of the short-range threat. But it also expands the threat zone of the medium- and long-range threats you might be trying to kill.