How Germany Could Have Taken It All

As a once active pilot myself (not current, its been many years), I'd like to comment on DSC aircraft...

Now, I've never flown anything above a 172 Cessna so its been a fun virtual DCS experience flying the Mustang, Spitfire and BE109 (so far). Now, "feel" is a big part of flying. That's something you can't get through these sims, but still a hoot to fly.

Assuming the flight characteristics are fairly accurate, I must say German pilots had to have been god-like to amass the kills they racked up in that 109! My god its a handful to fly. Where I like the Mustang and love the Spit, I really don't like that 109. I know I've only got a few hours in it and I will certainly dedicate more, but the thing is not a friendly craft to pilot. I can't help but think if Germany also had Spits or Mustangs equivalents, then they would have shot everything out of the sky. Having the success rate they had with 109's, then I hate to think what it would have been in Spits!

Mustangs can get you into trouble quick, too. But fly it right and its a doll. Spitfires are spectacular in the air. If it wasn't for the completely dumb wheel brake/taxiing setup, it would be close to perfect for me. 😉

Now don't flame me, it's all a little tongue in cheek, but I do feel that way about the aircraft themselves. I'll comment again after I put some more hours in the 109.

Miccara

I would say visibility is the biggest issues with both the Fw190 and the Me109. Can't fight what you can't see. Bogie somewhere on your six, you're basically screwed (even more than you normally would be). If used to their strengths, the FW and ME can win a fight. Lose sight of opponent, your only option is to run like hell. That's what a wingman is for, to cover your six. Better to hunt as a pack.

I love the visibility in the Mustang. That more than anything makes it a joy to fly (for me). I would say the benefits of the bubble canopy outweigh the lack of protection.