HOTAS buttons stop working mid flight

So I created a thread in the F-16 forum thinking it was specific to that airframe but further tested has proved that to be false.

I'm new to DCS and this issue has persisted for me since my first installation.

The crux of the issue is at a seemingly random points in game, DCS stops registering button inputs from the HOTAS. Hitting ESC twice to open and close the menu temporarily fixes the problem, until it occurs again and I have to repeat the work around. I can go an entire session without it happening, but then sometimes it's every few minutes. It's not until I go to slew the radar, release a missile etc. that I know it has happened because nothing happens.

During this time DCS is still responding to Axis inputs from the HOTAS so it's not as if the window has lost all focus as I suspected might be the case.

I'm running a Virpil warbrd stick with a TWCS throttle, 2 monitors, 1 running DCS and the other just for general use.

I'm running DCS via Steam.

I have several other USB input devices plugged in, but disabled in the DCS settings.

- I have tried disconnecting the second monitor with no success.

- I have tried putting the no hot plug fix into autoexec.cfg with no success.

- I have tried running in full screen mode with no success.

- I have tried running DCS directly from the .exe, even with admin permissions, with no success.

The last thing I can think of trying is to unplug all of my other USB input devices. Though they are disabled within the DCS settings anyway so they really shouldn't be making a difference whether they are plugged in or not.

I've attached the log file from my latest test where it occurred and there doesn't seem to be any obvious indication of an error causing this etc.