F5 - best study level fighter for beginner?

Heliflyer_71

Flown in FSX and P3D for many years. Flown study level airliners, predominantly PMDG products. I’m new to DCS - would people recommend the F5 as a good starting point for a study level jet fighter would you recommend an alternative? Keen to take advantage of the lunar sale.

Thanks.

The F-5 is a trainer aircraft (lead-in fighter training) or in some cases a front-line fighter, depending on the country.

All aircraft in DCS are "study level", and in most cases will exceed anything you've encountered in FSX/P3D to date.

The flight models are generally very good (even where there are issues), and smoke every other flight sim on the market even in 2021.

As written above, just get the modules you're interested in and start flying. F2P ends later tonight (UTC), so just get them and try them!

As a module, the F-5 is analogue, no computers, so bombing is done the old way of tables and flight profiles.

If you master the F-5, everything else is easy.

Motorola 68000 | 1 Mb | Debug port

"When performing a forced landing, fly the aircraft as far into the crash as possible." - Bob Hoover.

The JF-17 is not better than the F-16; it's different. It's how you fly that counts.

"An average aircraft with a skilled pilot, will out-perform the superior aircraft with an average pilot."

Many thanks Tiger II - I’ve had a go at flying the F5 today and the JF17. Both nice flight models.  I’m interested by your comments regarding DCS vs FSX/P3D - having spent many hrs getting to grips with engine start ups, programming of FMCs, SIDS and STARs on study level aircraft in FSX/P3D it will be interesting to see the comparison in DCS.  Studying and effectively deploying weapons systems could be a challenge!

I think I’ll bite the bullet and purchase the F5. Got to get my hands on a HOTAS system too but BREXIT seems to be holding up any available stock.