No FPS improvements no matter the settings - HP Reverb

witwas

Hi Guys,

Recently changed from a vive pro to the HP Reverb.

All works well in x-plane on high settings but i cant seem to get it to work with dcs, i tried multiple guides here on the forum but no matter what i do: high, low, super low settings in DCS or steam FPS gets stuck between 20 and 45 max (unplayable).

I have a i7-7700k, 32gb ram, 2080TI and everything on SSD's

Any help?

Have you tried:

- the shaders mod

- setting terrain textures to low

- turn off shadows

- MSAA to x2

- lower the PD

In my experience, all of the above affected frame rate

System: 9700, 64GB DDR4, 2070S, NVME2, Rift S, Jetseat, Thrustmaster F18 grip, VPC T50 stick base and throttle, CH Throttle, MFG crosswinds, custom button box, Logitech G502 and Marble mouse.

Server: i5 2500@3.9Ghz, 1080, 24GB DDR3, SSD.

I'm no expert - but I'll throw the following in...

Try renaming your userfiles\saved games\dcs\config directory to config.old and let DCS recreate everything incase it's a mod/setting/etc.

Make sure Windows Gaming DVR is disabled too.

If the GPU is only at 35% and FPS's are so low - I'd agree.. .there's a setting somewhere that could be holding things back.

What Settings do you have in WMR? Refresh rates, etc?

Also what settings do you have in SteamVR (both globally, and for DCS specifically)?

Hi Adam,

I am installing a new copy (beta) of dcs, lets see what that gives.

Have you verified that the hardware run as it should?

A good way is to use for example 3D mark and check that the hardware delivers the expected points for your CPU and GPU.

One other thing: you cannot look at the CPU load for the whole CPU fir DCS.

DCS mainly loads one core hard and another just a little, all other cores is more or less not used. This causes the total combined load to look as low( 10-20% for me, and probably 50% for you).