Mirage Aerodynamic Performance Overpowered

Gents,

After many hours and many engagements I am sure it is apparent to anyone that the Mirage 2000C is a potent dogfighter. It got to the point however, that it seemed to be a bit too untouchable and I began to do some research.

First and foremost I am an actual military pilot with considerable dogfight history so I realized early on that something didn't seem right. After talking with multiple French acquaintances who have flown or have flown against the Mirage in real life we came to a few realizations.

Main questions I asked:

1.) Is the Mirage really this superior in ACM? (Dogfighting)

Yes and no. The mirage with its delta wing has an ability to gain first shot opportunity on almost any fighter if the pilot desires but it comes at a cost. The high bleed rates of the delta wing also leads to high drag at low altitudes and its lack of thrust makes it a dog once its bled down.

2.) What are the weaknesses then if any of a delta wing fighter with fly by wire? because I cant seem to find any (In game).

As stated above, its high drag wing and relatively weak thrust give mirage pilots a hard time once they execute an energy excursion in order to employ on their opponent. Once bled down it is difficult to regain an advantage or energy and is often bested by the F-16 and most certainly the F-15.

3.) Given the answers above, in your opinion is the module modeled correctly?

No. In game at low airspeeds the mirage begins to turn at a higher sustained turn rate then when it is in its designed rate band (roughly 320-450KIAS) at 15k ft and if tested against its true EM diagram (unclassified document listed below) the module fails to resemble the true numbers.

Mirage+2000+at+15k.jpg

As seen above, although it holds a decent sustained turn rate at airspeed, as it bleeds down its turn rate is significantly affected. In game as the aircraft bleeds it actually sustains higher turn rates at lower airspeeds.