one TARGET SCRIPT FOR all A/C & switch STATES

For some time now I have been messing with various MODS and scripts to achieve some sort of commonality with my ever growing list of plane models.

I have tried the very good polaris_and_schnixsuite of MODS and profiles and this came close to what I would like but still some of the switches are not the way I want them. Switch behaviour, mods and lua coding appears to vary from model to model and DCS or their partners.

The recent updates to DCS 1.5 beta together with me forgetting to remove all the installed MODS with JMSME, caused some confusion and made me think about Thrustmasters TARGET again.

TARGET configuration for each aircraft using the GUI is a real pain and there are issues although pilot error is often the cause, at least with me.... and although I have some programming knowledge I would rather be flying than scripting.

To resolve this I have written ONE target script that will work FOR ALL switch states, buttons & axis for ANY AIRCRAFT model running in DCS.

TARGET, DX Codes and Keyboard characters

Without TARGET DCS will recognise the TMWH switch position by DX codes, that is, it will know when a switch is ON. A 2 pole switch has 2 states, ON & OFF and a 3 pole switch has 2 ON states with the middle position being OFF.

DCS A10C is programmed to interpret all inputs correctly and switches just workas they should.

Other modules are different. You have to configure them in DCS. Some Aircraft model switches will recognise both DX states and the switch works, others do not and you have to move the switch twice to toggle it and 3 position switches are even more awkward.

You can directly alter the .lua files and mod each aircraft switch behaviour separately by editing the LUA file and even then, correct switch behaviour is difficult to achieve. Often these MODS are overwritten on updates if not removed beforehand - in reality not a big deal if you are using JMSGE.