BS2 1.2.x bugs and glitches thread (not CTD/BSOD) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2012, 12:10 AM   #1
Erforce
ED Translator
 
Erforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: France
Posts: 530
Reputation power: 10
Erforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the rough
Default BS2 1.2.x bugs and glitches thread (not CTD/BSOD)

Last edited may 03rd 2014 / last changes in BOLD - DCS 1.2.8.27203
Note : don't lose hope, i know ED is reading this sometimes. Maybe nostalgia or sadness, but they're reading !

Here you can list what you have found so far with this new version of DCS World and Black Shark 1.2.8 (or earlier...)
Thank you for your support.
Gray lines means not it's confirmed/infirmed in latest patch. Please help me if you see any change
Red lines means this bug should happen to everyone
Green lines means this bug is hopefully resolved for standard installations
Orange lines means it's a tricky situation. It can happen

If you have a certified history change, it could be better - but don't forget BlackShark 1 wasn't perfect too.
The ™ symbol means ED's tester team has made an official statement

  • Mainly BS2 :
- Black Shark on any deck drifting proportionally to the speed of the boat. - Active since 1.2.1
- HUD not repairable (and Doppler Nav) - Active 1.2.0 () (Damn you, cheat mode lovers ;-)
- CALC / RAIM (Abris Airport Codes) Malfunction - Active v1.2.0 (JG_Smil & TurboHog (Hotfix))
- Kh-25ML behavior - Active v 1.2.7 (dimitriov™)



- Instant engine failure shutoff * - Active since v1.2.1 6288 -> Check the track Instant shutoff.trk.
- Black buildings may occur with Alt-Tabbing
- Active v7122 Mainly in FullScreen Mode. (or when BS is reduced, 500MB VRAM lost in the process)()
- TV Errors display may occur with Alt-Tabbing - Active v1.2.1 6288 Resolving when turning TV ON, and/or moving / reboot K041. ()
- Incorrect Lazer Distance - Active v1.2.1 6288 (not always) but usually resolve itself when pressing a Second time on Designate Target.()
- The "Crazy" Shkval - Active since BS1 (not always) (Speed)
- ADF indicator problem (Ark.lua) - Active since BS1 but not a really clear procedure (BaD CrC and JG_Smil)
- Can't spawn multi-sharks on carrier in MP - Active 1.2.3 v9871 (can't test this atm)
- Cut-Off Engine levers shortcuts messed - Active BS1 ? (tietze and MadCat)

- Alt-tab issue is back. - not hapenning to me since v1.2.1 6288 (NHOMY)
- Old explosion ? (or randomized effect...) - Feature to increase FPS
- Russian Betty talking in English on Red Side (+ installed RU files) - Resolved 6288 with 1.2.1 corresponding files.
- Radio comms (pilot voice) in English on the Red Side (+ installed RU files) - Resolved 6288 with 1.2.1 corresponding files.
-
Mouse Cursor Not showing immediately - Resolved 7122
- Helipads not lightenning - Resolved (Could be a install issue - workaround : map object Power Supply truck) 7570(NHOMY) (Tempest)
- 5+ seconds freeze after clicking "fly button" - RE-DEActivated 7204
- Limited Radio controls in Easy communications - Resolved 7570 => If not, Use normal comms instead (Right Alt + Radio button`(SPU-9 PTT in options)). ()
- AI direct order (Attack) not always followed - Resolved v7570 (it may depends local anti-air threats) ()
- AI DataLink targets new behavior - Resolved and Repaired, See my guide herev1.2.4 11855
- Can't start from ramp on a boat - Resolved v1.2.4 11855
- Magnetic/True Heading differences not working - Resolved 1.2.7 v23803 (IvanK & tietze)
- Wrong sided heat blur (Right engine On / Left exhaust blur) -
Resolved 1.2.7 v23803 (sgtmike74)
- Gun shell ejection position - Hotfix available. - Resolved 1.2.8 v27203 (Davis0079™)
- Incorrect Km / Mile conversion. - Resolved 1.2.8 v27203 (JaBoG32_Herby & Tietze™)



[/SIZE] Needs official confirmation :
- Engines Restart Failure within 1mn05 (not repairable). - Active since BS1 (MaverickF22)
- Non-FFB Trim oversteering - Active v1.2.2 (Doveman)
- Gearbox Oil Pressure Light illumination procedure - Active BS1? (Nereid)
- Zebra light missing when rotor RPM set to Low (RAlt Numkey Minus(-) ) as described last line page 10-11. - In Confirmation v7570 - 10201(JG14_Smil)
- Fuel gauge needle frozen when fuel switch is off/on (unpowered) - Appeared in 1.2.2 v7204 - Confirmed normal behavior
- SA-TLF "de-switched". This had no function anyway. - Appeared in 1.2.4
  • Not only BS2 :
- still slideshow with arty/smerch bomblet any almost anything with dust (ship cannon, MLRS launchs (close), rockets...) - Active v1.2.0 (better in 1.2.3 but just because of less smoke effects)


- Carrier Ops : Crashs on deck : Resolved in 6288 at least. (Happy face ! )24 Fighters can land without trouble !
-
Long load time with high/med/low settings and SSD (50secs preload (+ 30secs load), was present in 1.2.0 but resolved magically to about 30s) - Resolved v7570 (10s preload/10s load, not for everyone though)
- Smerch miscalculation in long range - Seems Resolved 1.2.3 v9871
- DCS Ships : Some USSR ships won't engage Blue team with missiles. Some others shoot missiles in water (Nimitz's sam, Tomahawk (Ticonderoga fire at point)).- Resolved 1.2.3 V9871 (at least tomahawk+Harpoon anti-ship)
- Random crashes (not developped here yet) v6288
- Flickering After Burners on some crafts, like mig 31, F18, ATi / nVidia - Resolved v1.2.4 11652
- Mission Editor save/prepare/fly messed. - Resolvedv1.2.4 11652
- USA ships (Oliver) CIWS broken (bad tracking then go stuck). - Resolved 1.2.7v23803
------
*NOMHY : Not Happenning On My System
-----

*Instant engine failure steps to follow : Make your chopper going nuts
I succeeded only once in 30+ tries in v6288... Track V7570 below:

Instant shutoff.trk

set a vodka-friendly weather (-50°C Winter)
in flight Ka50, low-med altitude
-- Take control --
set Ice/dust protection ON
set max RPM (page-up or yellow levers back-left)
Shut off L/R Electronic Engine Governor (EEG)

look at your engines RPM monitor. should be around 9500/10000 RPM @ 1000°C
now raise your collective to max
Temperature should rise fast above 1150°C
Engine fails miserably if its try to pass 10 000 RPM
one or two engine instantly go to 0 RPM.

don't make this with your über char log book.

It's seems ED won't let us Overclock our chopper are they recommend for our processors. why they made a 11K red zone RPM ? my car car go in the red zone without instant fail

Last edited by Erforce; 05-03-2014 at 12:06 PM. Reason: v27203 1.2.8 - Gun Shell + Mi/Km resovled
Erforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 06:30 AM   #2
MTFDarkEagle
Veteran
 
MTFDarkEagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The Netherlands, near EHTW
Posts: 4,862
Reputation power: 154
MTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud ofMTFDarkEagle has much to be proud of
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erforce View Post
Shut off L/R Electronic Engine Governor (EEG)
That's generally a baaad idea LOL It's there for a reason you know: so you don't blow up your engine(s).
__________________
MTFDarkEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:17 AM   #3
winz
Senior Member
 
winz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,220
Reputation power: 35
winz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to allwinz is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
It's seems ED won't let us Overclock our chopper are they recommend for our processors. why they made a 11K red zone RPM ? my car car go in the red zone without instant fail
Disable the rev limiter on your car and repeat the test
winz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 08:29 AM   #4
Dejjvid
Senior Member
 
Dejjvid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,084
Reputation power: 16
Dejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really niceDejjvid is just really nice
Default

If you rev your cold engine at -50C I can guarantee that you will end up with a broken engine.
The EGT only show you the temperature of the exhaust, not the rest of the engine.
__________________
i7 8700K | GTX 1080 Ti | 16GB RAM | 500GB M.2 SSD | TIR5 w/ Trackclip Pro | TM Hotas Warthog | Saitek Pro Flight Rudder

http://www.132virtualwing.org

HOTAS Warthog mod tutorial
Dejjvid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:04 PM   #5
Erforce
ED Translator
 
Erforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: France
Posts: 530
Reputation power: 10
Erforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the roughErforce is a jewel in the rough
Default

Mates it was just a procedure to show this bug.
I know every "don't do this irl blah blah"

fact is sometime i shut off (or just forgot) EEG to gain some power.
You could gain some extra climb m/s because the Engine Limiter is not active.

Moreover, -50°C, 0°C, +50°C, same story. By the way your engine Loves cold air. My car will probably survive over-rpm and extra power in a -50°C environment, as long as nothing is frozen.
same for 7Ghz CPU.
My Rev, Limiter, or Ruptor like i call it here allows me to enter 50/75% the red zone.
So, please be kind not to populate this thead with "Don't do it anyway"

ED is not maintaining a "known bugs" log for us, and it could be useful if someone start this kind of thread. you could save 1h when looking for a bug and 2h reporting a bug, because you easily found someone else already done that.
Like everyone have the cursor bug, and i didn't tested the skhval yet.

cheers
Erforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:15 PM   #6
159th_Falcon
Senior Member
 
159th_Falcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Den Helder, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,027
Reputation power: 29
159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light159th_Falcon is a glorious beacon of light
Default

As for the RPM Red Zone. Its so you can actually see if the engine is in a overspeed condition or not.
And when it is alert the maintenance crew to take appropriate action.

If you would not have the red zone, you would never know if the engine was in a over speed condition for any period of time.
Which can have a disastrous effect on the engine's lifetime.
(turbine wheels can actually explode due to to high RPM's)
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by cichlidfan View Post
The keeper of all mathematical knowledge and the oracle of flight modeling.
159th_Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 03:50 PM   #7
Druid_
ED Testers Team
 
Druid_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dubai (Expat)
Posts: 2,222
Reputation power: 35
Druid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to allDruid_ is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erforce View Post
Here you can list what you have found so far with this new version of DCS World and Black Shark 1.2.1
please put DCSW bugs in the thread designed for this purpose. Its easier for ED and for the testers to monitor.

http://forums.eagle.ru/forumdisplay.php?f=185

thanks.
__________________
i7-7700K : 16Gb DDR4 2800 Mhz : Asus Mobo : 2TB HDD : Intel 520 SSD 240gb : 2xGTX 970 SLI: Win7 64pro : Dx9.0c+ : TrackiR4 : TM Warthog : 3 x Dell U2410
Druid_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 12:15 AM   #8
svedan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 45
Reputation power: 7
svedan is on a distinguished road
Default

I can't get the ka-50 datalink to work anymore, the send/mem button just flashes when i press it. I can't say for sure if it's a bug, maybe I'm doing it wrong. Can anyone else try to send datalink to AI wingman and see if it works.
svedan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 06:48 PM   #9
nuNce
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 33
Reputation power: 7
nuNce is on a distinguished road
Default

I can't get my wingman to attack any units in the first mission of Georgian Oil War.
nuNce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2012, 07:55 PM   #10
lokitexas
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 244
Reputation power: 7
lokitexas is a jewel in the roughlokitexas is a jewel in the roughlokitexas is a jewel in the roughlokitexas is a jewel in the roughlokitexas is a jewel in the roughlokitexas is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nuNce View Post
I can't get my wingman to attack any units in the first mission of Georgian Oil War.
It happens alot. No attack commands work....not just in the first mission.
__________________
Spoiler:

i5 3570k @ 4.3
560ti GTX 2gig
8gig RAM
Intel SSD
Win7 64bit
lokitexas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.