Fix: AWACS stutter - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2005, 03:38 PM   #1
HUQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Talking Fix: AWACS stutter

On FC1.1, when friendly AWACS begin to speek information, the drawings of frame stops while a few hundred milli-sec - 1 sec.
(I know this occurs on multiplay. I don't know this occurs on on single play.)

I found the way to solve this problem.

1. Get ogg vorbis package version 0.9.9.5 from here
http://tobias.everwicked.com/oggds.htm

2. Execute OggDS0995.exe and install ogg package

3. Open C:\WINDOWS\system32\ using explorer and find these files
ogg.dll
OggDS.dll
vorbis.dll
vorbisenc.dll

4. Copy these files to LockOn installed folder (overwrite)

This kind of stutter will be solved by this way.
Try it!, if you are in trouble.
HUQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 04:12 PM   #2
Hitman IF
Junior Member
 
Hitman IF's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Posts: 56
Send a message via ICQ to Hitman IF
Default

Good find. Hopefully this can be included in the patch.
__________________
---SVBS squad is playing Lock On, ADF/TAW and Typhoon now at www.svbs.co.uk !---
Hitman IF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 04:36 PM   #3
berkoutskaia
Moderator - FR support
 
berkoutskaia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Toulouse, France
Posts: 1,468
Send a message via ICQ to berkoutskaia Send a message via MSN to berkoutskaia
Default

Thanks for the tip. This happens quite often, hopefully it's something from the past now !
berkoutskaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2005, 06:47 PM   #4
ViperVJG73
Veteran
 
ViperVJG73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NF,Germany
Posts: 5,061
Send a message via ICQ to ViperVJG73
Thumbs up

Thanks mate!
__________________
Best Regards
Viper
https://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic3353_7.gif
System: Intel Core i7-4790, 3,6GHz, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 2TB HDD, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960 2GB GDDR5,
TM HOTAS Warthog;(MSFFB2 for testing); TrackIR4 +Track Clip Pro; Windows 10 Pro.
ViperVJG73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 03:13 AM   #5
Willy p.
Member
 
Willy p.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: N.C.
Posts: 105
Default Help!

Hey HUQ,

Did what you said, but I cant find the files? need help.
__________________
44th_Willy p.
187

http://44thvfw.org
Willy p. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 04:24 AM   #6
HUQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy p.
Hey HUQ,

Did what you said, but I cant find the files? need help.
To see the files under system folders (ex. C:\WINDOWS\, C:\WINDOWS\system32, etc...), check off the follows:

explorer -> Tools -> Option -> Display
-> check off "Don't display registerd extension
-> chekc off "Don't display protected operation system files"

(* I don't have Windows XP English version. My Windows XP is Japanese version. So I don't know correct words or sentences in english. Tell me what the correct word is)
HUQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 01:44 AM   #7
Willy p.
Member
 
Willy p.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: N.C.
Posts: 105
Default

HUQ,

I tried to look up the files and still no luck. I installed the zip into the win32 folder, but still cant find the files, can someone that has done this correctly with XP english version help me out. I would really like to fix this, It's a big problem with me and I'm hoping this will correct the text freez I have when I'm on any server in HL. When someone types a message and then hit's enter, my game will freez each time this is done.
__________________
44th_Willy p.
187

http://44thvfw.org
Willy p. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 03:08 AM   #8
HUQ
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Willy p.
HUQ,

I tried to look up the files and still no luck. I installed the zip into the win32 folder, but still cant find the files, can someone that has done this correctly with XP english version help me out. I would really like to fix this, It's a big problem with me and I'm hoping this will correct the text freez I have when I'm on any server in HL. When someone types a message and then hit's enter, my game will freez each time this is done.
Willy p.

If you have some zip-extract tool (like "WinZip"), extract the downloaded file "OggDS0995.exe" in temporary folder, and pick the above files and copy them into LockOn folder.

Last edited by HUQ; 07-05-2005 at 06:46 AM.
HUQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2005, 04:40 AM   #9
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 9,113
Default

fantastic fix HUQ! it works good, messeges from AWACS/tower etc are instant, no 1-2 second pause anymore
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2005, 05:00 PM   #10
609 Avatar
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 68
Default

HUQ, thanks for finding this one and posting it. A squadmate of mine pointed me to this post and it helped big time with the major pausing I was experiencing. Thanks again!
__________________
S!
Avatar

Asus P8Z68 Deluxe, i7 2700k @4.7GHz, EVGA GTX570HD 301.42s, 1x120gb SSD, 2x150gb WD Raptors, 2x200gb SATA, 16gb G.Skill DDR3 2130, 1000W PS, HP DVD-RW, Onboard sound, 32" Sony Bravia XBR, Win7 Pro 64bit, Tai Chi watercooled case
609 Avatar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-15C avionics wishlist SwingKid Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 287 02-19-2007 02:50 AM
dxrenderer.dll problem. Is there a fix? Wolverine Bugs and Problems 1 06-03-2005 12:45 PM
Runway Light Bug + Its Fix TekaTeka Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 27 05-29-2005 06:54 AM
1.1 Russian Cockpit Seat Fix (DDS version) TekaTeka Mods and Apps 13 05-02-2005 05:24 PM
AWACS support schimmel Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 12 02-21-2005 12:13 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.