DCS World: The new stuff - ED Forums
 


Notices

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 04:08 AM   #1
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 7,975
Default DCS World: The new stuff

Main Menus
Selecting Missions
The main menu now has Tabs similar to modern web browsers to select quick missions or campaigns for certain aircraft. There is also a "users" tab for campaign selection. Also selecting a mission dialog has a little "DCS" next to the mission name.
Other Stuff
You can set a "theme" or wallpaper within the options based on whichever aircraft you want. A "special" tab is located in the options menu but currently has nothing.

Additionally multiplayer interface has not yet changed.

Mission Editor.
Warehoues
GUI dialogs exist for the anticipated "warehouse" feature. You can place warehouse via "static objects". Each warehouse has dialogs associated with which airbases they supply. You can specify how much aircraft, fuel, and weapons a warehouse has access too and how often it gets resupplied.

Curiously the F-111, Ka-52, Mig-29K and Aim-9X appear in the warehouse list but can't be placed in the sim. I realize most of these have art assets or code sitting somewhere idle in the sim... but so did the Harrier which is missing...
Updated:
Looked at warehouses a little bit more, it appears that FARPS and airbases have their own warehouses built into the base in addition to the static object "warehouse" that you can place anywhere on the map. You can specify which warehouses (on or off base) can supply who, however resupply doesn't seem to be implemented yet. You can also specify which coalition owns a base via the bases warehouse.
Mission Options
  • F10 view can now be limited to "Fog of War". Unknown how it is implemented, assume similar to Starcraft or other RTS.
Group Related
  • All ground units are now sorted by type. A dropdown box gives options, air defence, armor, artillery, fortification, unarmed, and infantry.
  • "Late Activation" checkbox has been added. And automatically sets the start time to 0:0:0/0.
  • P-51D has a "civil plane" checkbox. Checking this removes the box specifying how much gun ammunition it carries.
  • Player controllable aircraft are listed slightly differently from that of AI.
Triggers
Did not notice any new conditions, however new actions are present.
  • Group Sound/Message - Sends a group either a text or audio message. Same function as Coalition or Country Sound/Message
  • Radio Beacon Unit/Zone - Specifies an audio sound to be broadcast from a specific unit or zone. Can specify AM/FM, frequency in Khz, Power in Watts, and whether or not it loops.
  • Set Briefing - Allows you to set a new image and briefing text for Red, Blue, or offline (general briefing). Currently unknown whether it replaces the briefing or adds to the briefing.
Mission Goals still lacks a "clone" button.


Game Environment:
  • "Abort takeoff" added to the ATC dialog. Once commanded, ATC will direct you to park on ramp.
  • Appears to be a new font on almost everything.
  • Minor aspects of resource system working. If enabled airbases have 100 supply of aircraft and munitions. Once supply of a specific munition is gone, aircraft cannot load said munition.
  • LAlt + ' command is used to bring up a window to specify weapon payload per pylon. Additionally chaff, flares, desired % of fuel and (I assume) ammo type can also be changed. Is functionally identical to setting payload in the mission editor.


Other Changes
  • File structure changed slightly. Missions and campaigns are now located in dcsworld\mods\aircrafts\(aircraftname)\missions
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum

Last edited by Grimes; 05-08-2012 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Fixed a herp a derp
Grimes is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:14 AM   #2
leafer
Veteran
 
leafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Blender
Posts: 4,430
Default

Thank you for thinking of those less fortunate. I'll buy it enough.
__________________
ED have been taking my money since 1995.
leafer is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:23 AM   #3
HungaroJET
Senior Member
 
HungaroJET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 1,342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimes View Post

Curiously the F-111, Ka-52, Mig-29K and Aim-9X appear in the warehouse list but can't be placed in the sim. I realize most of these have art assets or code sitting somewhere idle in the sim... but so did the Harrier which is missing...
^ Fixed
...KC-10A, AV-8B/GR7, SH-3H, wrong S-3R/KS-3A too...and dont forget Tu-141/143 and the EA-6B
Old "missing" but added weapons already worked in FC2 (AIM-9X, Mk-82HD, AGM-122/123/130) besides some added pilons and containers.
Still added more: old ships/weapons/vehicles from Flanker2.5, some new weapons/guns, AH-1G, AH-60L/DAP, F-15D, MiG-21bis, Tu-154B2 and more...VNAO and ADA guys will B happy too
Old .CMD models needs some animations correcting to .EDM "format" (WIP)...or newer, nicer models


Still working on this - WIP - not only for you: http://forum.lockon.ru/showpost.php?...61&postcount=1
I only need more time
__________________
Atop the midnight tarmac,
a metal beast awaits.
To be flown below the radar,
to bring the enemy his fate.


HAVE A BANDIT DAY !


"When I'm working on a problem, I never think about beauty. I think only how to solve the problem. But when I have finished, if the solution is not beautiful, I know it is wrong." - R. Buckminster Fuller (1895 - 1983), American Architect, Author, Designer, Inventor, and Futurist

Last edited by HungaroJET; 04-30-2012 at 08:25 AM.
HungaroJET is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
Grimes
ED Testers Team
 
Grimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Black Mesa
Posts: 7,975
Default

Warehouses are clearly still a WIP, however some of it is functioning! I was able to test somethings out and I might have a more clear picture of how the warehouses work.

Any aircraft that spawns at an airbase automatically removes whatever their payload and themself from the inventory at the base. If an aircraft spawns in with a payload that has run out, the aircraft will automatically spawn with whatever is available. I tested it with 5 A-10Cs, all loaded with 22 Mk-82 bombs with the 5th plane set to spawn in 10 seconds after mission start. 88 Bombs had been used (spawned) and the 5th plane spawned in with exactly 14 bombs. The math isn't perfect, however the 5th A-10 spawned with 2 TER's completely empty and 1 TER with a single bomb. Payload also wasn't 'balanced', but its AI so it doesn't really matter, however it could be an issue for client/player aircraft unable to specify their payload based on what is available. At least for the AI, once they land their assets are NOT added back into the inventory. Hopefully that's a WIP issue. Either way seeing it prevent the AI from taking their default loadout because the base ran out of bombs is very promising to see!
__________________
You can only tie the world record for lowest flight.
Current Projects: Scripting Wiki, Something...
Useful Links: Mission Scripting Tools MIST-(GitHub) MIST-(Thread), SLMOD for DCS 1.5/2.0, IADScript, Mission Editing Wiki!, Mission Building Forum
Grimes is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 09:32 AM   #5
EagleEye
ED Translator
 
EagleEye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,139
Default

Thanks Grimes for looking at the new stuff and report it here! Can`t wait to go home and dl ing.
__________________
Deutsche DCS-Flughandbücher

Modul-Timeline
Spoiler:

SYSSpecs: i7-4790K @4GHz|GA-Z97X-SLI|16GB RAM|ASUS GTX1070|Win10 64bit|TrackIR5|TM Warthog/Saitek Pro Pedals
EagleEye is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:56 AM   #6
hreich
Senior Member
 
hreich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,035
Default

is it free?
__________________

Pilot from Croatia
hreich is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 12:03 PM   #7
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 10,960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hreich View Post
is it free?
Yes. The Su-25T is free in the base module of DCS:-World.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 12:13 PM   #8
Avimimus
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 826
Default

My question - when can we by the Su-25S...
Avimimus is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 04:01 PM   #9
Boberro
Veteran
 
Boberro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 6,048
Default

I quickly loaded into DCS world to see how it looks like.

Interface is nice - clean, pretty and just good so far.
New explosion effects are better too - however I noticed such small Vikhr makes big explosion like Kh-25ML does. Shouldn't have explosions been scaled down\up regarding their warhead? I doubt Vikhr or rocket pod is able to make similar "boom" like Kh-29T can

HUD is unfortunately worse - same effect like in A-10C, where it is hard to read. In LO2 you have great, crystal HUD. Here I must stare at monitor quite close or just zoom in the cockpit.

I found firing Vikhrs without keeping big circle in the small circle has changed a bit. Now you must pay much more attention to it and just must keep big circle steadier - before I could fire it without worrying much the circle is either close to small circle or not. Don't know it is as it should be now, or before it was too easily.

Performance is in current beta moment not too good - I don't have slow PC but I am a bit worried about future optimizations. I set all highest as possible except antialiasing because for me more than 4x is meaningless. I had smooth flying, but it was just fast mission without other clients and so on...

Why can't I set Shkval to mouse? It was handy in LO2, perhaps some file digging is needed in the input folder )

Flying the Su-25T was really pleasant time. In DCS world it is another story, I've been missing this plane since DCS Ka-50. Glad to see now it has place in DCS together.

That's all for now I observed in 15 min of flying

__________________
Reminder: Fighter pilots make movies. Bomber pilots make... HISTORY! | Also to be remembered: FRENCH TANKS HAVE ONE GEAR FORWARD AND FIVE BACKWARD
ಠ_ಠ

Last edited by Boberro; 04-30-2012 at 04:04 PM.
Boberro is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 04:01 PM   #10
Kegetys
Member
 
Kegetys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kuopio, Finland
Posts: 110
Default

Minor thing, but there's a new line in TheatresOfWar/aliases.cfg:

Quote:
Caucasus = "Bazar/Terrain/terrain.cfg.lua"
--Myanmar = "U:/MYANMAR/TerrainMyanmar/terrain.cfg.lua"
__________________
As a cyborg, you will serve SHODAN well
http://www.kegetys.fi
Kegetys is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.