HDR mod for 1.1.0.8 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2011, 07:46 PM   #1
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 9,207
Default HDR mod for 1.1.0.8

The original intention for the New HDR presets was to make SOFT the same as the original DCS HDR. However this did not make it into the patch (Hopefully the next one). The HDR presets enclosed with 1.1.0.8 were the ones I was tweaking before I got it right.

In the meantime, attached is the HDR.fx that was originally intended for 1.1.0.8
  • It returns the Original DCS HDR on the SOFT setting.
  • NORMAL is the 1.1.0.7 HDR and
  • HARD is a more saturated contrasted HDR.

Backup and then replace the \Bazar\shaders\PostMotionEffect\HDR\hdr.fx with the one attached in hdr.zip.







Nate
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	4192
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	52048   Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	3932
Size:	177.4 KB
ID:	52049   Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	3972
Size:	177.9 KB
ID:	52050  

Attached Files
File Type: zip hdr.zip (2.7 KB, 749 views)
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading

Last edited by Nate--IRL--; 06-02-2011 at 07:59 PM.
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:02 PM   #2
Mower
Veteran
 
Mower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,770
Default

Thanx bud.
Mower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:54 PM   #3
Insanatrix
Member
 
Insanatrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 373
Default

I'm liking the Hard preset so far just due to the vibrant color scheme it seems to give. Normal and Soft almost give a washed out look. Is there any way to get the Blur from the Soft preset into the Hard preset?
__________________
Funny thing about "IRL", It can change in a split second...
Insanatrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2011, 10:57 PM   #4
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 9,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanatrix View Post
I'm liking the Hard preset so far just due to the vibrant color scheme it seems to give. Normal and Soft almost give a washed out look. Is there any way to get the Blur from the Soft preset into the Hard preset?
Yes, but it will take some work. I have to try to remember how I changed things, you could probably figure it out if you had a look - I'll do a Soft HARD for you at the weekend. Bump the thread if I've not responded by Saturday.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 12:02 AM   #5
Baggy MacDouche
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 173
Default

I'd be interested in that setting too.

Now, I'm one of those ATI 69xx card users that get the flashing white box when HDR is turned on. I only had a few minutes this morning to install and try out the patch. I turned on HDR normal setting and saw the white box. I have not tried the hard or soft settings yet. Since the normal setting is the same from 1.1.0.7, is there a chance that the new settings fixes this issue?

I've been looking high and lo for any solution to this problem but have been unsuccessful. Is this at least being looked at by ED or is this purely a card driver issue or something?
Baggy MacDouche is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 12:53 AM   #6
delta9856
Member
 
delta9856's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 128
Default

This looks great! I think I'll try it out when I get home. Thanks Nate
__________________
Oli 'Scarecrow' Lusk

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel Core i7 3930K @ 4.20Ghz
ASUS Rampage IV Extreme Motherboard
16GB DDR3 RAM
EVGA Geforce GTX 680 4GB
delta9856 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 04:55 AM   #7
ilikepie
Member
 
ilikepie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 567
Default

yeah. great stuff Nate.
__________________
Action After Contemplation
ilikepie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 11:39 AM   #8
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 9,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Baggy MacDouche View Post
I've been looking high and lo for any solution to this problem but have been unsuccessful. Is this at least being looked at by ED or is this purely a card driver issue or something?
Last I heard was the drivers for the 68xx (EDIT:- I meant 69XX) series do not support a certain DX feature correctly, but don't quote me on that.

Nate
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading

Last edited by Nate--IRL--; 06-03-2011 at 01:09 PM.
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 12:32 PM   #9
Nate--IRL--
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 9,207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanatrix View Post
I'm liking the Hard preset so far just due to the vibrant color scheme it seems to give. Normal and Soft almost give a washed out look. Is there any way to get the Blur from the Soft preset into the Hard preset?
OK see attached - a soft version of the HARD preset. I feel the Blur does take away from the contrasted feel of the setting, but this is just a personal preference.

Install as before.

Nate
Attached Files
File Type: zip hdr (soft HARD).zip (2.7 KB, 327 views)
__________________
Ka-50 AutoPilot/stabilisation system description and operation by IvanK- Essential Reading
Nate--IRL-- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 12:38 PM   #10
miguelaco
Member
 
miguelaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate--IRL-- View Post
Last I heard was the drivers for the 68xx series do not support a certain DX feature correctly, but don't quote me on that.

Nate
Nate, are you a referring to 69xx?. AFAIK, 68xx do not have the issue.

So, can we assume it is AMD/ATI's responsability to solve this one? I assumed the issue was on ED's side as it was introduced with 1.1.0.7.
miguelaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.