spherical dome made out of satellite dishes

PeterP

After moving to a greater flat I have now a little room (12sqm) that I want to use for a new gaming rig. The heart of the visualisation is planed to look similar like this:

I already know that I need the minimum of two 16:9 fullHD projectors (better three 4:3 for more pixels) and a image warping software like nthusim

(http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=56006).

I want to build the projection-screen out of several overlapping satellite dishes of 90cm in diameter So that after cutting them at the top and bottom I will have 70cm of vertical projection space left.

Than I want to body-filler the overlapping and paint to get a even surface.

geosatpro_90cm.jpgattachment.php?attachmentid=42104&d=1283411798

MY first question :

I tried to sketch plan how many dishes and room I will need for this project but its really hard to calculate the screen an the projection without a CAD tool.

I'm a total noob in using CAD programs :) (I never did before).

So can someone recommend me a simple free-ware CAD drawing program where I can simulate this project and also export my data later to a more advanced program when I'm more experienced ?

Thanks for your advises in advance!

I will post updates when the project will left the planning-phase.

EDIT: http://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?p=1000107#post1000107

Small update:

Got all my Dishes (8 for 100€!) and cut already the border from one of them away with the angel-grinder.

(The middle one is without the border - 1mm thick 92cm high and 80cm wide)

IMG_0148.jpg

I also made new plans that match the size of the dishes I have:

domesize.jpg

Here I have taped everything roughly together to get a feeling for the final size...

IMG_0149.jpg

This is getting Huge!

domeroom.jpg

:D

overllapping dishes.bmp

Edited by PeterP

For a free CAD software, try Google Sketchup which is free and quite easy to use. There is a lot of "how to" on youtube and other sites.