Slovak Air Force Digital Camo Skin - Complete and Modman Compatible - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2009, 02:17 PM   #1
VikVaughan
Junior Member
 
VikVaughan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Default Slovak Air Force Digital Camo Skin - Complete and Modman Compatible



DOWNLOAD

This skin is based on Slovakia's digital camouflage paint scheme implemented on their Mig-29's. It's my first real skin for BS, so forgive me for any hickups. File is ready to be installed with Modman, headache free. Instructions are in the readme.

Background

These images of a real Slovak Mig-29 with the digital camo paint job were my reference/inspiration.


More:
http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/9...ooddigikf2.jpg
http://www.hyperstealth.com/Mig29/index.html
http://www.defenseindustrydaily.com/...MiG-29s-04814/


Screenshots











Where's waldo? (alright its not that good )



*Final version features small black tail numbers instead of large side numbering.



__________________
ASUS G74, Core i7-2670QM, 12GB DDR3, Geforce GTX 560M 3GB, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

VV

Last edited by VikVaughan; 01-12-2009 at 11:25 AM.
VikVaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:22 PM   #2
TimA
Junior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 50
Default

Well that looks just fantastic. Thanks a lot, great work!
TimA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:24 PM   #3
=RvE=Tito
Senior Member
 
=RvE=Tito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pleven, Bulgaria
Posts: 2,473
Default

Very nice for winter terrain Good job!
__________________
"See, to me that's a stupid instrument. It tells what your angle of attack is. If you don't know you shouldn't be flying." - Chuck Yeager, from the back seat of F-15D at age 89.
=RvE=
=RvE=Tito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:31 PM   #4
VikVaughan
Junior Member
 
VikVaughan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Default

Thank you . However i uploaded the wrong file! Let me fix that - 5 mins.

Edit: Fixed. The old file will work too, but doesn't come with instructions.
__________________
ASUS G74, Core i7-2670QM, 12GB DDR3, Geforce GTX 560M 3GB, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

VV
VikVaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:47 PM   #5
TimA
Junior Member
 
TimA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikVaughan View Post
Thank you . However i uploaded the wrong file! Let me fix that - 5 mins.

Edit: Fixed. The old file will work too, but doesn't come with instructions.
Thanks. I got it installed with modman just fine (first time I've used that), and it looks absolutely stunning.
TimA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 02:55 PM   #6
Timm
Member
 
Timm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kettering UK
Posts: 274
Default

Hi Guys,
Downloaded the texture, used MODMAN saw the the image over on the right but when in BS all I saw was this, Any clues in what has happened ? Timm

Last edited by Timm; 01-17-2009 at 02:50 PM.
Timm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:02 PM   #7
VikVaughan
Junior Member
 
VikVaughan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Default

Hi Timm, that's unusual. I'm not too sure about the ins and outs of ModMan yet as I'm fairly new with it, but I think installing multiple mods might conflict with eachother. One mod migth edit a file that the other mod needed (unless the program is intuative enough to take that into account and simply add to the file instead of replacing it. That could very well be the case - I'd like to know actually). Sorry I couldn't be of more help. it's odd that TimA installed without any problem. Maybe someone else could chime in.
__________________
ASUS G74, Core i7-2670QM, 12GB DDR3, Geforce GTX 560M 3GB, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

VV
VikVaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:15 PM   #8
Timm
Member
 
Timm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Kettering UK
Posts: 274
Default

Hi VikVaughan,
I got it sorted. I went and had a look in MODMAN took out all the new texture folders and re-started MM and hey presto all working. And now I can see your great texture.
Just one very small question please and this is not knocking your awesome texture in fact it's just an info one ? On the top of the tail that black line what ever it is is there a way it could be remove. Timm
Timm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 03:50 PM   #9
VikVaughan
Junior Member
 
VikVaughan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 57
Default

Hey Timm, glad you got it working. The black line is meant to be a shadow (the top of the tail is slightly fatter I believe). The shadow appears on all the skins in BS. However, after you mentioned that I took a look, and it does seem a little too dark for such a light colored skin. I will tone it down in a future version. Thanks for the feedback
__________________
ASUS G74, Core i7-2670QM, 12GB DDR3, Geforce GTX 560M 3GB, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit

Wise men speak because they have something to say, fools because they have to say something. - Plato

VV
VikVaughan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 05:07 PM   #10
DragonRR
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 302
Default

Really excellent work Vik!

(Note the shots include a shameless plug for my old style Runway (etc.)) textures





Last edited by DragonRR; 01-10-2009 at 05:19 PM.
DragonRR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TW-141 Digital Camo Schemes Colt40Five Screenshots and Videos 4 03-10-2008 01:22 PM
New Slovak MiG-29 "Digi Camo" Kusch Military and Aviation 31 03-06-2008 08:54 AM
Croation Localization for FC 1.12, ModMan compatible golfsierra2 Mods and Apps 2 11-03-2007 01:14 AM
Digital Combat Simulator and ModMan Skypat DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark 8 10-16-2007 03:30 PM
OT:Slovak Air Force Kusch Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 7 06-18-2007 07:42 PM

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.