Trying to update - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-18-2019, 01:40 AM   #1
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default Trying to update

EDIT: Solution to all this located here


https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...8&postcount=15

















Howdy all,


I'm trying to update after moving the game to another drive. SSD

The original drive it was on recently died even though I was not using it for the game no more, I'm getting this error message now.

Any help would be appreciated, if I must I'll scrap it and start from scratch, but UGGG!!!!



"00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2019-11-18 02:32:05
00000.013 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.12.8 (Windows NT 10.0.18362; Win64; en-US)
00000.013 INFO : cmdline: "X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply update C:\Users\TOAD\AppData\Local\Temp\DCS\update_info.json 2.5.5.39384
00000.017 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.018 INFO : basedir: X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World
00000.019 INFO : DCS/2.5.5.35461 (x86_64; EN; WORLD,WWII-ARMOUR,SPITFIRE-MKIX,MIG-15BIS,BF-109K4,F-86F,FW-190D9,A-10C,P-51D,F-15C,SU-25A,A-10A,NORMANDY_terrain,NEVADA_terrain,FA-18C)
00000.019 INFO : branch:
00001.273 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.274 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.575 STATUS: Verifying installed files...
00005.532 INFO : 0 files are changed or missing.
00006.936 STATUS: Preparing download...
00007.195 ERROR: Can't create directory G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World: (3) The system cannot find the path specified.
00132.941 === Log closed."

Last edited by T_O_A_D; 01-26-2020 at 03:54 PM.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 02:00 AM   #2
Pizzicato
Member
 
Pizzicato's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 939
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_O_A_D View Post
Howdy all,


I'm trying to update after moving the game to another drive. SSD

The original drive it was on recently died even though I was not using it for the game no more, I'm getting this error message now.

Any help would be appreciated, if I must I'll scrap it and start from scratch, but UGGG!!!!



"00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2019-11-18 02:32:05
00000.013 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.12.8 (Windows NT 10.0.18362; Win64; en-US)
00000.013 INFO : cmdline: "X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply update C:\Users\TOAD\AppData\Local\Temp\DCS\update_info.json 2.5.5.39384
00000.017 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.018 INFO : basedir: X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World
00000.019 INFO : DCS/2.5.5.35461 (x86_64; EN; WORLD,WWII-ARMOUR,SPITFIRE-MKIX,MIG-15BIS,BF-109K4,F-86F,FW-190D9,A-10C,P-51D,F-15C,SU-25A,A-10A,NORMANDY_terrain,NEVADA_terrain,FA-18C)
00000.019 INFO : branch:
00001.273 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00001.274 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00001.575 STATUS: Verifying installed files...
00005.532 INFO : 0 files are changed or missing.
00006.936 STATUS: Preparing download...
00007.195 ERROR: Can't create directory G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World: (3) The system cannot find the path specified.
00132.941 === Log closed."

Looks like your installation used to be on your G drive, you moved it across to your X drive. It looks like there are still references to the original location somewhere in DCS's config files (or the system registry).

You might want to try PM'ing Skatezilla. He's usually pretty good with this kind of thing.
__________________
i7-7700K @ 4.9Ghz | 16Gb DDR4 @ 3200Mhz | MSI Z270 Gaming M7 | MSI GeForce GTX 1080ti Gaming X | Win 10 Home | Thrustmaster Warthog | MFG Crosswind pedals | Oculus Rift S
Pizzicato is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 03:12 AM   #3
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks Pizzicato that's the best I can figure also, I went into regedit and can find the individual aircraft listed but not the game.

Looked into C:\Users\TOAD\AppData\Local and its its blank.
And the game is not listed in program files form the start menu, it used to be???

Last edited by T_O_A_D; 11-19-2019 at 01:03 AM.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 03:38 AM   #4
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

I renamed the drive to G: the updater is working, but of course it wacked my other games shortcuts etc.

Once its updated I'll just rename it back to X drive.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2019, 05:17 AM   #5
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,398
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_O_A_D View Post
Thanks that's the best I can figure also, I went into regedit and can find the individual aircraft listed but not the game.

Looked into C:\Users\TOAD\AppData\Local and its its blank.
And the game is not listed in program files form the start menu, it used to be???
If you move DCS around like I have many times to different PC's you wont have the pretty nice full normal install links and win menu links.

Doesn't bother me, all you need to do is launch DCS using the links found in the bin folder of the install or install(s).

For me it's.

E:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World OpenBeta\bin

Make shortcuts from these links below (Right click on them) and send to --> desktop Create shortcut)

DCS_updater.exe

DCS.exe(Launch without updating)

You can copy DCS to as many drivers as you like and have as many version you like. Just redo the links for each.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 32GB Corsair 3000Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Corsair HX850i Platinum 850W | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | VKB Gunfighter Pro

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 01:02 AM   #6
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks for the reply David OC

I have done it that way several times, but this time the updater is giving me a fit.

Renaming my drive didn't work by the way.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 01:41 AM   #7
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Well it updated tonight, but ended up with this error.
going to go see if it will fly as is.





02181.619 STATUS: Removing obsolete files...
02181.726 INFO : Removed 0 files.
02182.098 INFO : Kept 43305 files.
02182.099 STATUS: Installing new files...
02182.100 INFO : BACKUP API/include/FM/wHumanCustomPhysicsAPI.h
02182.101 INFO : MKDIR G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\_backup.001\API/
02182.102 INFO : MKDIR G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\_backup.001\API/include/
02182.104 INFO : MKDIR G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\_backup.001\API/include/FM/
02182.106 INFO : INSTALL API/include/FM/wHumanCustomPhysicsAPI.h
02183.066 STATUS: Shutting the torrents down...
02183.068 INFO : Kill timer set to 30 seconds...
02183.131 INFO : Torrents have been shutdown in time.
02183.131 INFO : Kill timer reset.
02183.135 ERROR: Can't move G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\API/include/FM/wHumanCustomPhysicsAPI.h to G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\API/include/FM/wHumanCustomPhysicsAPI.h: (2) The system cannot find the file specified.
02261.909 === Log closed.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 02:00 AM   #8
David OC
Senior Member
 
David OC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,398
Default

Did you run a repair and clean before updating?

I do this after moving the install generally.
__________________

i7-7700K OC @ 5Ghz | ASUS IX Hero MB
| ASUS GTX 1080 Ti STRIX | 32GB Corsair 3000Mhz | Corsair H100i V2 Radiator | Samsung 960 EVO M.2 NVMe 500G SSD | Samsung 850 EVO 500G SSD | Corsair HX850i Platinum 850W | Oculus Rift | ASUS PG278Q 27-inch, 2560 x 1440, G-SYNC, 144Hz, 1ms | VKB Gunfighter Pro

Chuck's DCS Tutorial Library

Download PDF Tutorial guides
to help get up to speed with aircraft quickly and also great for taking a good look at the aircraft available for DCS before purchasing. Link


David OC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 11:26 PM   #9
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Yes both gave me the original problem and or wanted to download the entire thing again.



By the way it does appear to work now in single player, I tried to join a multiplayer last night I got in the room, then it said please wait for several minutes. So I did a taask Manager on it. I then rebooted the PC and fired up the game , and was told my user login was not right, so I manually typed it in and it gave me a couple of days authorization offline mode.
At that point I went to another game, because the guys I was playing with soon found out that DCS Main Server shutdown or something. Because everyone lost connection and ability to multi-play.

So we joked around that I caused it LOL
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 11:39 PM   #10
T_O_A_D
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 16
Default

Just tried to join multiplayer its loads all the objects terrian etc. then hangs on just wait.



so I tried a repair again. I forgot I needed to rename the drive again.





00000.022 --- Log file: X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\autoupdate_log.txt
00000.000 === Log opened UTC 2019-11-20 00:34:00
00000.013 INFO : DCS_Updater/2.9.12.8 (Windows NT 10.0.18362; Win64; en-US)
00000.013 INFO : cmdline: "X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\bin\DCS_updater.exe" --apply repair
00000.017 STATUS: Initializing...
00000.019 INFO : basedir: X:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World
00000.022 INFO : DCS/2.5.5.35461 (x86_64; EN; WORLD,WWII-ARMOUR,SPITFIRE-MKIX,MIG-15BIS,BF-109K4,F-86F,FW-190D9,A-10C,P-51D,F-15C,SU-25A,A-10A,NORMANDY_terrain,NEVADA_terrain,FA-18C)
00000.023 INFO : branch:
00000.023 STATUS: Connecting to update servers...
00001.072 INFO : Got reply from www.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00002.091 INFO : Got reply from srv15update.digitalcombatsimulator.com
00002.100 STATUS: Asking Yes/No: Clean up extra files after repair?
00005.216 STATUS: Got YES when asked: Clean up extra files after repair?
00005.217 STATUS: Verifying cached version info...
00005.218 STATUS: Downloading version info...
00014.183 STATUS: Verifying installed files...
00018.546 INFO : 0 files are changed or missing.
00019.906 STATUS: Preparing download...
00020.331 ERROR: Can't create directory G:\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World: (3) The system cannot find the path specified.
00182.235 === Log closed.
T_O_A_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.