[REPORTED] The SA page open causes massive stuttering. - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2019, 05:30 PM   #1
AleCisla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Default [REPORTED] The SA page open causes massive stuttering.

Hi guys,

I couldn't find the reason why my simulation was stuttering like hell...untill I turned off the SA page!

It becomes unplayable because of the stuttering. Then I soon as I turn off the page, it's gone.
Is there anyone else seeing this, is it a bug or maybe something wrong on my end?

I was in a MP server when I noticed this, with loads of people online. Maybe that could be the cause?

Any help will be appreciated. Thanks.
AleCisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 05:37 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,018
Default

Hi AleCisla

We are unable to reproduce here, can you let me know your system spec

thanks
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
On vacation until 14th August

Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 05:44 PM   #3
AleCisla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Default

I've got a gaming laptop EVGA - SC15

Intel i7-7700HQ @ 2.80GHz
250Gb SSD (where DCS is)
16Gb RAM
GTX 1060 - 6Gb VRAM
Win 10 64bit

I'm using Riva Tuner Statistics Server - RTSS, to cap my framerates at 60fps. Which works fine with all the models I have, in any kind of mission SP or MP.
AleCisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 06:15 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,018
Default

Can you attach your options.lua from your saved games dcs location.

I will try to use your settings and reproduce.
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
On vacation until 14th August

Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:12 PM   #5
AleCisla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Default

Thank you for your help!
Attached Files
File Type: lua options.lua (4.8 KB, 194 views)
AleCisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2019, 07:54 PM   #6
BIGNEWY
ED Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 22,018
Default

Thanks

Still seems ok with your settings.

Is your laptop getting hot and maybe throttling?
__________________
BIGNEWY
Community Manager Eagle Dynamics
On vacation until 14th August

Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA MSI RTX 2080Ti VENTUS GP, Intel® i9-10900K 3.70GHz, 5.30GHz Turbo, Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro, 32GB DDR @3000, ASUS ROG Strix Z490-F Gaming, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, VIVE Cosmos

BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 01:16 AM   #7
AleCisla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Default

No, not really. I have a very high fan curve, so it never goes over 75-74 degrees celsius, I'm always carefull about that as I know laptops don't do very well with high temperatures, but I'm sure that this is not the case. I don't know what could cause this, because it doesn't happen at all with any other module, using any kind of MPCD like in the Harrier, I don't have any problems at all. Only on the SA page of the F-18.

I'll try and check more settings, maybe the amount of people on the data link or just in the server, maybe the RivaTuner, I don't know...

Anyway, thank you for your help Bignewy! Much appreciated!
Alex.
AleCisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:18 PM   #8
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 25,631
Default

250Gb SSD (where DCS is) - Is it a fast SSD?
16Gb RAM - on heavy servers with a lot going on, you could see issues in general
GTX 1060 - 6Gb VRAM - 1060 could be struggling at times as well, try turning down draw distances and such.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:41 PM   #9
AleCisla
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 58
Default

Hi NineLine,

I don't know if my SSD is fast or slow. I'll find out that info.
I can join most servers, with 60 people in it, use any model I have with no problems. My FPS is always between 60 and 50-42 if there's too many explosions and such or if I'm flying near populated areas.
And for my settings, I always keep everything in a mid-low kind of settings, only use higher settings if I'm in single player.

But the point is, my gameplay never stutters like that, using any model, in any server. This only happens when I'm flying the F-18 and decide to open the SA page. It's a frenetic jumping of the FPS, with 2 or 3 massive spikes every second. It feels like I'm playing with 5 FPS or frame by frame, which becomes unplayable.

I'll try reducing my graphic settings even more and see what happen.
Thanks!
AleCisla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2019, 04:51 PM   #10
Preendog
Member
 
Preendog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 171
Default

A quick test shows that SA is pretty performance heavy, especially with DL on and a lot of shared contacts.

Example mission: 3 E3s placed around the map with 18 enemy A10s, with player nearby. Offline.

SA page off: 102 FPS
SA page on: 98 FPS
SA, DL on: 85 FPS

SA and DL bring down frames by 20%, and this was a relatively simple mission. Online, it seems even worse. In 4YA PVE server, with maybe 50 active planes and multiple AWACs', SA cuts the frames in half. Like AleCisla described, it is not a uniform reduction in FPS but more of a stuttering or shuddering effect. Worse, the load is all CPU, so reducing graphics settings doesn't help much.

For comparison, the Litening pod looking at a city only cost 10 FPS.

--

SSD, 32 GB RAM, I5 7500 3.4ghz, GTX 1660 TI

Last edited by Preendog; 09-02-2019 at 05:06 PM.
Preendog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.