3Dmigoto VR mod for DCS : new zoom, label masking and Pimax Parallel Projection fix - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2019, 07:29 AM   #1
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default 3Dmigoto VR mod for DCS : label masking, color change, NVG size, cockpit reflection

06/15/2020: beta => version 7.1 compatibily with 2.5.6.50793
06/15/2020: stable => version 6.0 : comptability with 2.5.6.49798

This mod provides the following features:
  • Setup mode with help text to customize settings
  • Label masking by cockpit frame
  • Lightening of cockpit and outside colors
  • Copy/paste of radio messages and F10 map coordinates to easier JTAC coordinates conversion (see forum link below for more informations)
  • Mirror sun glare (too high and not synchronized for each eye) can be disabled
  • Scaling of NVG in VR so it is possible to see below them
  • Sharpen filter for cockpit and outside
  • Reflection on cockpit glass can be lowered/suppressed (AV8B, A10C, F/A18C, UH1-H, SA342, Mi 8, Ka50, mig21, FW190D9, P51D, FC3 planes)
  • Night mode for AV8B HUD and MFD

Global Setup Menu
The setup menu can be activated by pressing LSHIFT+F7. You can cycle different pages covering all mod settings. You can change values by using INS/DEL/HOME/END/PageUp/PageDown keys, the effect will be seen directly in game.

At the end you must save your settings and exit by pressing LALT+F12.


NVG feature

Use setup menu, page "NVG" (LSHIFT+F7). It is best to have NVG activated Help text position is defined for Pimax 5k+ with low FoV. You may need to adjust it by modifying this section in the file "user_settings.ini" (one setting for normal view and one setting for NVG view):

Code:
;-----------------------
        ; Help message position
        ;-----------------------
        [ResourceHelperPos]
        type = StructuredBuffer
        array = 1
        ; upper left corner coordinate (0=>1)
        data = R32_FLOAT +0.35  +0.35       +0.35 +0.35
        ;                 X&Y pos (no NVG) | X&Y pos (in NVG)
Basically, the two first number are UV coordinates of uppel left corner of help text when in normal view, the two last numbers are UV coordinates of uppel left corner of help text when in NVG view
Sharpen filter for cockpit and outside (MSAA must be off)
Sharpen filter is toggled On/Off by pressing LAlt+F8 key. Sharpen can be applyed only on cockpit to avoid shimmering on landscape and optimize performance.

Sharpen factor and luma can me interactively modified by Setup menu, "Sharpen" page (LSHIFT+F7).
There are two options : cockpit only or cockpit+external. sharpen and luma can be different for cockpit and outside.

Color change
Color settings are defined for cockpit and outside (external). You can modify color saturation and add RGB constant or multiply all RGB component
Color change is made with the following algorithm:
step 1 new color = saturation change for standard output
step 2 : new color = saturated color *mul + add
color settings can be changed interactively by using setup mnu, "COCKPIT COLOR" and "EXT. COLOR" page. (SHIFT+F7)

Reflection on cockpit glasses change
You can reduce or suppress reflection on cockpit glasses for static textures and dynmaic light (even if I did not encounter a case with them in my testings).
Reflexions can be changed interactively by using setup menu, "Reflexion" page (SHIFT+F7).
"Texture" will reduce stenght of reflections based on static texture, "lights" wil reduce reflexions based on lights. If set to zero it may reduce a little bit fps because it will disable some loops.
Unfortunately, it will work only on planes/helos I own because others may used shader that I did not modify. See above in feature list the planes/helos supported.


Label masking (works in 2D)
Label masking by cockpit frame is on by default.
It can be toggled by setup menu, MISC page (LSHIFT+F7)

Mirror sun glare (AV8B)
Mirror sun glare can be toggled off/on by setup menu, "AV8B" page (LSHIFT+F7)

Radio messages copy/paste
Radio messages copy can be copied in cockpit view by LSHIFT+F3.
It will appears in front of you and in map view (F10). When in map view, a new LSHIFT+F3 will add map coordinates at bottom of radio message (when in cockpit view). Either Radio or Map coordinates are updated when pressing LSHIFT+F3 in the appropriate view.
Radio messages and map coordinates can be toggled on/off by pressing LSHIFT+F5 and erased by LALF+F5
Position of messages in cockpit view or in map view are defined in user_var_initialization.ini, in [ResourceRadioMap] section. See in file for more information.
Here is a demonstration video:

Night mode
Night mode for cursor and kneepad can be toggled on/off by LSHIFT +F11.
Key binging can be modified in files users_settings\user_keymapping.ini or users_settings\user_keymapping_zoom.ini
Intensity of brightness is defined using SETUP menu, page "MISC." (LSHIFT+F7)
Fix for AV8B MFD and HUD can be toggled on in setup menu, page "AV8B" (LSHIFT+F7). If toggled on, AV8B HUD and MFD will be dimmed by the same value than cursor and kneepad.

Installation : It is best to use Jsgme or ovgme, but you can unzip the contain of the zip into dcs world install dir.

The mod versions for stable and OB can be downloaded here : https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/fr/files/3305420/

Unsintallation : It is best to use Jsgme or ovgme, but you can use the provided uninstall.bat


The mod for is not compatible with "cockpit illumination" and SSA.
Kegetys compatibility : no more compatible for current version.


It may eat 2 to 3 fps. I did not see any fps loss with last beta / AV8B/ quick start / ready on the ramp.


This mod is only possible because of the work of people making the Helix or 3Dmigoto libs: http://helixmod.blogspot.com/ or https://github.com/bo3b/3Dmigoto/releases
Sharpen algorithm and lot of code for it taken from here : https://astralcode.blogspot.com/2018...ing-of_13.html

06/13/2020: beta => version 7.0 compatibily with 2.5.6.50793
03/09/2020 : version 4.1b compatibility with OB 2.5.6.43931,zoom feature removed (DCS has now native compatiblity with Pimax for zoom and Spyglass zoom), kegetys compatiblity, new color saturation feature : added in the post untill the OB will become stable (see bottom of post)
02/22/2020 : version 4.0b compatibility with OB 2.5.6.43931, zoom feature removed (DCS has now native compatiblity with Pimax for zoom and Spyglass zoom)
02/08/2020: version 3.2 : compatibility with OB 2.5.5.41962 and stable 2.5.5.41371, bug fixes
01/12/2020: version 3.1 : bug fixes
12/29/2019: version 3.0.0 : compatibility with OB and stable 2.5.5.41371, sharpen, new zoom & NVG setting mode with help text, setting for PP fix for spyglass zoom, bug fixes
12/14/2019: version 2.8.0 : bug fixes (message copy should work with all maps, icon masking should also work in all situation)
12/08/2019: version 2.7.0 : compatibility with stable and OB DCS 2.5.5.40647, support for spyglass VR zoom without PP for Pimax.
09/08/2019: version 2.6.3 : compatibility with 2.5.5.35461 and stable version, improved copy/paste for radio messages, add convergence for NVG view, fix for F18 HUD
08/31/2019: version 2.6.2 : bug fix
08/25/2019: version 2.6.1 : added 2 missing shader for MSAA2x and MSAA4x (needed for PP fix, color modification and radio messages copy)
08/15/2019: version 2.6 : compatibility with 2.5.5.34644
08/04/2019: version 2.5.1 : fix cursor and kneeboard too dark by default
08/03/2019: version 2.5 : bug fixes, no more need to declare PS shaders for label masking, normal and modded zoom can be stacked, support for kegetys mod (but only for specific settings)
07/07/2019: version 2.3 : compatibility with 2.5.5.33184
06/27/2019: version 2.2: label masking is working in 2D mode
06/10/2019: version 2.1 : support of MSAA 2X and 4X, added shaders for Normandy and Persian Gulf maps
06/09/2019 : Version 2.0 : compatibility with 2.5.5.31917 Open Beta and copy/paste for radio and map coordinates
06/01/2019 : Version 1.8.1 : fix an error in config files that brake Pimax PPFix
06/01/2019 : Version 1.8 : first stable version
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	color_settings.jpg
Views:	220
Size:	43.4 KB
ID:	229594  

Last edited by lefuneste01; 06-16-2020 at 05:51 AM.
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 03:52 PM   #2
glassy99
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 13
Default

I just got the chance to try this latest version.
The effects all seem to render properly now which is great!

However, one thing that I don't like in this new version is how the HUD is zoomed.

In the previous version I tried (1.4), I could use zoom to line up bombs and gun fire to ground targets using the HUD ( F/A-18 )

However, in this version, the targeting reticle on the HUD doesn't 'stay in place' and it moves opposite to the head movement .. so it isn't possible to line up shots.

It would be wonderful if the HUD itself doesn't get zoomed so you get fine targetting.

EDIT: Just tried version 1.6 and 1.4 again and the HUD behavior in 1.4 version is different than 1.6 and 1.8. In 1.4 the HUD sticks to the correct position, so lining up gun shots is possible, while 1.6 and 1.8 it is not. However gun effects are rendered wrong in 1.4. At this point I prefer 1.4 as it allows lining up bombs.

1.4 HUD still gets zoomed though but its position is correct. It would be great if the HUD is locked to the correct position and isn't zoomed, which would allow to finely aim/line up shots.

Last edited by glassy99; 06-01-2019 at 04:07 PM.
glassy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2019, 07:37 PM   #3
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glassy99 View Post
I just got the chance to try this latest version.
The effects all seem to render properly now which is great!

However, one thing that I don't like in this new version is how the HUD is zoomed.

In the previous version I tried (1.4), I could use zoom to line up bombs and gun fire to ground targets using the HUD ( F/A-18 )

However, in this version, the targeting reticle on the HUD doesn't 'stay in place' and it moves opposite to the head movement .. so it isn't possible to line up shots.

It would be wonderful if the HUD itself doesn't get zoomed so you get fine targetting.

EDIT: Just tried version 1.6 and 1.4 again and the HUD behavior in 1.4 version is different than 1.6 and 1.8. In 1.4 the HUD sticks to the correct position, so lining up gun shots is possible, while 1.6 and 1.8 it is not. However gun effects are rendered wrong in 1.4. At this point I prefer 1.4 as it allows lining up bombs.

1.4 HUD still gets zoomed though but its position is correct. It would be great if the HUD is locked to the correct position and isn't zoomed, which would allow to finely aim/line up shots.

I checked with the Harrier HUD and for me it's OK...
Can you try with other planes than F18 ?


I found an error in the uploaded version, I fixed it in 1.8.1, please download it again.

Last edited by lefuneste01; 06-01-2019 at 09:04 PM.
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:16 PM   #4
davidp57
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Metz, France
Posts: 554
Default

Nice mod, although I'm struggling to assign the zoom feature to my Warthog stick buttons.
Just a quick note : it does not work on the latest 2.5.5 openbeta (zoom is weird and does not zoom objects nor scenery, but only water and sky)
__________________
Zip - VEAF

If you want to learn, talk and fly with french-speaking friends, the Virtual European Air Force is here for you ! Meet us on our Discord and our forum
If you're a mission creator, you may want to check the VEAF Mission Creation Tools (and its GitHub repository) a set of open-source scripts and tools that make creating a dynamic mission a breeze !
davidp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 07:51 AM   #5
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default

First post updated. I rebuild the mod, it takes me time because they use new texture registry (that I used also) and mostly because I did a kind of copy/paste for radio messages and map view : it allows to have the saved radio message (9 line for example) displayed when you want in front of you in cockpit, or at top left in mapview.
Moreover, you will have saved map coordinate also displayed in cockpit view.

Easier to convert coordinates in VR, when you do can not easilly write something.

For french people, there is a topic for the mod also here: http://www.checksix-forums.com/viewt...f=435&t=205054

I can also post my AV8 Target profile, it contains all zoom mapping. But the command to have key mapping are (I mapped them in Shift+trim)

Code:
define    VR_ZoomMin                PGUP
define    VR_ZoomMed                HOME
define    VR_ZoomMax                INS
...
    MapKeyIO(&Joystick, H1D, VR_ZoomMin, AV8_TRIM_AFT);

Last edited by lefuneste01; 06-09-2019 at 12:28 PM.
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 04:27 PM   #6
davidp57
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Metz, France
Posts: 554
Default

Hi Lefuneste,

Thanks for your answer, although I do not use Target (hate the thing, and if I switched to using it now I'd have to redo all my assignments in DCS).
Is there a way of specifying a DX button of a specific DX joystick in your mod's configuration files ?
For instance, in the config files it states that you can use constants like "XB_LEFT_TRIGGER" ; is there something like "DX18" ?
I canl try using RSMapper if I have no other option.

Also, I couldn't make the copy/paste messages function work. I pressed lshift-F3, did I miss something ?
__________________
Zip - VEAF

If you want to learn, talk and fly with french-speaking friends, the Virtual European Air Force is here for you ! Meet us on our Discord and our forum
If you're a mission creator, you may want to check the VEAF Mission Creation Tools (and its GitHub repository) a set of open-source scripts and tools that make creating a dynamic mission a breeze !
davidp57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2019, 06:28 PM   #7
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidp57 View Post
Hi Lefuneste,

Thanks for your answer, although I do not use Target (hate the thing, and if I switched to using it now I'd have to redo all my assignments in DCS).
Is there a way of specifying a DX button of a specific DX joystick in your mod's configuration files ?
For instance, in the config files it states that you can use constants like "XB_LEFT_TRIGGER" ; is there something like "DX18" ?
I canl try using RSMapper if I have no other option.

Also, I couldn't make the copy/paste messages function work. I pressed lshift-F3, did I miss something ?
The 3dmigoto does only allow keyboard or xbox controler input. You miss really a lot of thing by going away of target scripts. This is one of the most powerfull tool to program a joystick.
The copy paste function is still in beta, it is possible that it will not work in all situation or settings. Can you try it from map view ? Did you have "binocular" mask when zooming ?
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2019, 12:56 PM   #8
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default

I updated the mod to add Perisan Gulf and Normandy shaders, and support MSAA2x and MSAA4x, maybe it was the cause of the problem of davidp57
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:36 PM   #9
cuervo111
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: London, UK
Posts: 193
Default

lefuneste, the label masking is one of the best ideas I've seen in DCS in a long time! It is something I wished we could do for a long time.

However it is not working for me I am NOT using VR. I updated the drivers. The lighter cockpit is working so I assume the mod is correctly installed.

Any ideas about why that could be? Could someone confirm it is working for them without VR (well, or not working)
__________________
DCS Rosetta, my automatic DCS mission and campaign translator: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=233877
cuervo111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 08:14 PM   #10
lefuneste01
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: france
Posts: 451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cuervo111 View Post
lefuneste, the label masking is one of the best ideas I've seen in DCS in a long time! It is something I wished we could do for a long time.

However it is not working for me I am NOT using VR. I updated the drivers. The lighter cockpit is working so I assume the mod is correctly installed.

Any ideas about why that could be? Could someone confirm it is working for them without VR (well, or not working)
The label masking is working by adding a "mask" drawn by pixel shaders.
Unfortunately, a LOT of pixel shader are used for planes, and most of them are dedicated to a specific plane. I made them for the plane I have, but F18 and F14 (at least) may have lacks. So did you try with a FC3 plane, the Huey or the Shark, the Harrier,...?

The label masking is off by default, it must be triggered by pressing LALT + F10.
And I did not check if it works in 2D...Maybe shaders for labels are not the same...I'll have a look, but I wont have the time before at least 2 weeks.
lefuneste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.