[RESOLVED] AWG-9 snaps to center when switching modes - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2019, 07:00 AM   #1
mrkline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 81
Default [RESOLVED] AWG-9 snaps to center when switching modes

When switching radar modes, the AWG-9 suddenly ignores any azimuth or elevation controls and snaps to the centerline. But as soon as you touch the azimuth or elevation controls again, it snaps back to its previous position.

https://youtu.be/tJ7UfTsW2yU

Last edited by IronMike; 04-16-2019 at 09:28 PM.
mrkline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 07:29 AM   #2
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,203
Default

I can confirm that and it's pretty annoying!

See here as well: https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.p...60#post3842260
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 11:26 AM   #3
HawkDCS
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 273
Default

That feeling when you didn't realize you could steer it that far left and right lol!
__________________
Rig: 5960X @ 4.5GHZ 32GB 3000Mhz DDR4 Titan XP Dell 3415W 21:9 Thrustmaster Warthog
HawkDCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 11:40 AM   #4
Random
Senior Member
 
Random's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: North Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,015
Default

Yep this is an annoying one! Often causes me to drop a contact as RIO
Random is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:28 AM   #5
mrkline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 81
Default

This is still present in the latest OB, but seems to only show up in multiplayer. In singleplayer, the radar doesn't jump at all: https://youtu.be/hI6HHdXjZb4

I'm assuming this makes it some sort of network sync issue as the RIO transitions radar modes.
mrkline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 06:47 AM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,203
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkline View Post
This is still present in the latest OB, but seems to only show up in multiplayer. In singleplayer, the radar doesn't jump at all: https://youtu.be/hI6HHdXjZb4

I'm assuming this makes it some sort of network sync issue as the RIO transitions radar modes.
That's an interesting observation! I hope that helps the devs to track this down. Btw, has this problem even been acknowledged by HB so far?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 10:12 PM   #7
mrkline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 81
Default

Not to my knowledge. I'll keep posting here until it's tagged per the bug reporting sticky (https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=236238)
mrkline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 04:54 AM   #8
mrkline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 81
Default

This affects supersearch too: https://youtu.be/nW11-vGjuvA

When commanding supersearch with a HCU half-action, elevation snaps back to center until the user futzes with azimuth or elevation controls.

Watch the antenna elevation meter.
mrkline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 12:18 PM   #9
BlueRaven
ED Translator
 
BlueRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Pesaro, Italy
Posts: 482
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrkline View Post
This affects supersearch too: https://youtu.be/nW11-vGjuvA

When commanding supersearch with a HCU half-action, elevation snaps back to center until the user futzes with azimuth or elevation controls.

Watch the antenna elevation meter.
Nice to know, I thought it either was expected behaviour or it was me doing something wrong and it was driving me mad and very poorly self-confident in my RIO skills.
__________________


Nulla Dies Sine Linea
__________________
Case: Phanteks Eclipse P400S Tempered Glass Red/Black | Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty H170 Performance/Hyper | CPU: Intel Core i5-6500 | RAM: 2 x Corsair Vengeance DDR4 8GB 3200MHz CL16 | GPU: Gigabyte GeForce® GTX 1070 G1 Gaming 8G | HDD: 1 x Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB SSD + 1 x Crucial MX500 1 TB SSD | PSU: EVGA SuperNova G2 550W | Monitor: ASUS ROG Swift PG279Q | OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
BlueRaven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 05:06 PM   #10
VampireNZ
Senior Member
 
VampireNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkDCS View Post
That feeling when you didn't realize you could steer it that far left and right lol!

All we need now is for Jester to figure it out also...
__________________
Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha| i7-6700K @ 4.60GHz | nVidia GTX 1080ti Strix OC 11GB @ 2075MHz| 16GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200Mhz DDR4 CL14 |
Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2 SSD | Corsair Force LE 480GB SSD | Windows 10 64-Bit |
TM Warthog with FSSB R3 Lighting Base | VKB Gunfighter Pro + MCG | TM MFD's | Oculus Rift S | Jetseat FSE

VampireNZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.