'F1-F12' commands for comms sub-menu, question... - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2019, 08:15 PM   #1
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,198
Default 'F1-F12' commands for comms sub-menu, question...

I am looking for a way to map the 'F1-F12' keys that control the comms menu and sub-menu to my HOTAS without using keyboard mapping software. However when mapping directly through DCS the 'F1-F12' keys open 'views' and do not control the comms menu.
Is there a way without keyboard mapping software to map the comms menu?


Thank you.

Last edited by fitness88; 03-02-2019 at 08:16 PM. Reason: spelling
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 08:39 PM   #2
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 1,855
Default

May i suggest avoiding immersion-breaking comms menus altogether ? Vaicom Pro and Voiceattack allow a much more realistic AI comms experience .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 08:54 PM   #3
Supmua
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

Target or Joystick Gremlin works for me, but these are external software.
__________________
9900K/2080Ti, 32GB RAM. TM Warthog HOTAS with FSSB R3 Lighting base and TDC slew mod (VKB GFII-MCG Pro-Kosmosima/VPC WarBRD-T50CM2). HTC Vive/Pro/Oculus Rift.
Supmua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 09:48 PM   #4
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,198
Default

It's interesting when the comms menu is open, 'F1-F12' keyboard commands will command the comms menu and when closed will command the 'View' but 'F1-F12' commands through DCS only commands 'View' and ignores the comms menu when it's open.
I have all the software I need, I've used Saitek and Target in the past but have now mapped all commands through DCS and don't want to start with the software again only for this one issue if I don't have to but will if I have to.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 09:59 PM   #5
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svsmokey View Post
May i suggest avoiding immersion-breaking comms menus altogether ? Vaicom Pro and Voiceattack allow a much more realistic AI comms experience .

I never thought of voice commands as an option, I'm not really into talking.
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 11:26 PM   #6
RustBelt
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitness88 View Post
I never thought of voice commands as an option, I'm not really into talking.
Same, when I'm playing a game I don't really feel like yelling randomly at a computer. Unless it's like locking up or smoking or something.
RustBelt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2019, 11:49 PM   #7
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 1,855
Default

Fair enough....i don't like machines talking to me
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2019, 01:18 AM   #8
fitness88
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,198
Default

Thanks for the suggestion though!
fitness88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 02:56 PM   #9
DutchCoolHand
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RustBelt View Post
Same, when I'm playing a game I don't really feel like yelling randomly at a computer. Unless it's like locking up or smoking or something.
It is not random, you still use the comms switches on the throttle, so not random. I have been adding words as I started flying in VR. I also turned off the player's voice and that really adds to realism
__________________
AMD RYZEN 7 2700 / 32GB / RTX2070 / 500GB M.2 with Windows and DCS / 2 - 500GB SSD / Samsung Odyssey+ / TM Warthog + Saitek rudders + 3 MFD's
DutchCoolHand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2019, 05:19 PM   #10
Supmua
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 333
Default

I personally find key bindings to be more efficient than voice commands, which typically takes a few sec to register. With the F keys bound to hat switches I can issues 3 consecutive functions in just 1 second.
__________________
9900K/2080Ti, 32GB RAM. TM Warthog HOTAS with FSSB R3 Lighting base and TDC slew mod (VKB GFII-MCG Pro-Kosmosima/VPC WarBRD-T50CM2). HTC Vive/Pro/Oculus Rift.
Supmua is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.