DCS Server Control - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2019, 01:07 PM   #1
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 17,751
Exclamation DCS Server Control

(based on Werner ‘derelor’ Siedenburg text and help of beta-testers team.

Many thanks to all public hosters who help us in tests!)


DCS Remote Server Control works starting ver. 2.5.4.28090, based on Web GUI and has the following options:

Server tab:
Pause/start, stop mission
Change server options (Name, Password, Port, Integrity Check etc)
Run any mission from mission list, LOOP and SHUFFLE modes.
Add, remote mission to list. Save current mission list
Mission progress indiccator (based on mission triggers and goals as usual, WIP)



Also you can see Log window in this tab (press </> icon on the top-left corner). Server log updates in this wingow 'on-the-fly'




Players tab:
Show player list, banned list
Kick or ban any player
Unban any player





Chat tab:
Read and write chat messages. All players will see messages sent by the control PC as white-colored server messages. At the same time, the control PC can see all game chat messages.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DS_server_tab.jpg
Views:	9959
Size:	101.2 KB
ID:	205321   Click image for larger version

Name:	DS_players_tab.jpg
Views:	9489
Size:	62.0 KB
ID:	205322   Click image for larger version

Name:	DS_chat_tab.jpg
Views:	9432
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	205323  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DS_log.jpg
Views:	9366
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	205324  

Last edited by USSR_Rik; 03-01-2019 at 02:02 PM.
USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:07 PM   #2
USSR_Rik
ED Team
 
USSR_Rik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Belarus, Minsk
Posts: 17,751
Default

1. What is needed to run a dedicated server?
Dedicated server is not a standalone software, it's one of DCS start option. To run a server, a (separate) DCS base install is needed with all terrains (you wish to host) purchased and installed. We are considering possibilities for running terrains without purchase them in --norender mode.


2. How to run a dedicated server?
Currently, the dedicated server can only be started manually from the command line appending the following parameters to file

--server
runs DCS in ‘server’ mode where the simulator is started as a server with the first mission in list ["missionList"] (see ‘Saved Games\<DCS>\Config\serverSettings.lua’)

and/or
--norender
runs DCS without 3D rendering

or just
--webgui
server started as usual (i.e. with rendering and GUI) and you can control it via web interface.
Examples:

<DCS base directory>\bin>dcs --server --norender
(server started without rendering and launched first mission in serverSettings.lua missions list)

<DCS base directory>\bin>dcs --webgui
(DCS started as usual with full render and server can be controlled via web)

3. How to run several dedicated servers on the same machine?
It is possible to run several DCS (server) instances from the same install by using different write folders for each one with the “-w” (for “write folder”) command line parameter.
Also, each instance should use a separate game port and HTTP port (for the web GUI to work).

The HTTP port can be changed by editing the webgui_port line in file autoexec.cfg:

webgui_port = 12345

4. How to shut down a dedicated server?
Currently, to shut down the dedicated server, the DCS process has to be killed via Windows task manager - a proper shutdown procedure does not exist yet.

Note: While running the dedicated server in graphics mode (i.e., started without the --norender parameter), the game world is shown and the ESC key does not work.

5. How to control a dedicated server?

There are two options: local server started on your PC and remote server started somewhere.

5.1 Remote Control
For remote control, DCS servers use TCP port 8088 by default. This port has to be opened on the server's router for remote control to work. UPNP routers will open this port automatically (this feature is work in progress and currently does not always work reliably).

For remote control of the DCS server, the control PC (or device) has to be logged in into your DCS account on the DCS homepage. NOTE: your PC and server should be logged in the same account! You can't control servers started from different DCS accounts (this feature is in development).

In order to get control open your Profile page and select your server or visit URL:

https://www.digitalcombatsimulator.c...rsonal/server/ (EN)

5.2 Local Control

A. You can use the same URL as in Remote Control (note: you must be logged in to your DCS account)

B. Open the .html document

<DCS base directory>\WebGui\index.html

from your local file system. This allows local server control without forwarding port 8088 and logging into a DCS account on the DCS homepage.


NOTE (added by const):

You should disable uPnP in DCS in case of using manual address or port translation in your router for DCS application. Add line to your autoexec.cfg:

net.use_upnp = false

Otherwise DCS will try to automatically open ports in your router on default router IP via uPnP

Last edited by USSR_Rik; 03-12-2019 at 08:39 AM.
USSR_Rik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:08 PM   #3
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,914
Default

Great!
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor overclocked to @ 4.20 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC, ASUS 27” and Dell 24” screens
HiJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:10 PM   #4
Looney
Senior Member
 
Looney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,033
Default

Thank you so very much!
__________________


Commodore 64 | MOS6510 | VIC-II | SID6581 | DD 1541 | KCS Power Cartridge | 64Kb | 32Kb external | Arcade Turbo
Looney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:17 PM   #5
schurem
Member
 
schurem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: nijmegen, the netherlands
Posts: 387
Default

bolshe spasibo!
__________________
I7 4790K, 32GB, 1070, CV1
schurem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:30 PM   #6
ravenzino
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Australia
Posts: 33
Default

well, just to remark this historical moment...
__________________

i7-6700, 24GB RAM, RTX 2080TI, NVMe SSD 500GB, SATA SSD 1TB, TrackIR 5, TM Warthog HOTAS, VKB T-Rudder, Samsung O+
Aircrafts: F/A-18C(primary), F-14, A-10C, AV-8B, FC3, L-39, UH-1, KA-50, CE II, CA
Maps: PG, NTTR
ravenzino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:33 PM   #7
VladMordock
Junior Member
 
VladMordock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kraków, PL
Posts: 66
Default

Thanks!

Quote:
We are considering possibilities for running terrains without purchase them in --norender mode.
Do it, you will gain more from more active servers than selling "a few" more licenses by server admins.
__________________
Zapraszam na Gildia.org - polska społeczność DCS.
VladMordock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:34 PM   #8
c@sper
Member
 
c@sper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Turkey
Posts: 408
Default

Awesome!
__________________

HD F-15 Cockpit Mod
Wishlist: F-18D(multi seat), F-16C&D, F-4 | In-Game Communication

c@sper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:35 PM   #9
RaiderOne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Paris, FRANCE
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you !


Very good news for MP teams around the world !
RaiderOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:40 PM   #10
HC_Official
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 112
Default

great news about dedicated server

not so great news that we still have to buy terrains to host them
HC_Official is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:36 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.