If I trash a module(trash can in module manager) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2019, 12:05 AM   #1
Marcq
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 299
Default If I trash a module(trash can in module manager)

Does it free up some space on my hard drive and can it be retrieved?

Marc..
__________________
Intel-Core-i5-2500-3-33GHz-16GB-Windows7 pro, GTX1060 3gb -CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle ,CH pro pedals, Voice Attack ,Generic cockpit
Marcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 10:08 AM   #2
draconus
Senior Member
 
draconus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Poland
Posts: 1,259
Default

It deletes the files from the disc, so yes, free up the space.


If you want to retrieve it, just go the module manager again and it will remind you of what you have left not installed yet.
draconus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2019, 03:26 PM   #3
Marcq
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
It deletes the files from the disc, so yes, free up the space.


If you want to retrieve it, just go the module manager again and it will remind you of what you have left not installed yet.


Marc..
__________________
Intel-Core-i5-2500-3-33GHz-16GB-Windows7 pro, GTX1060 3gb -CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle ,CH pro pedals, Voice Attack ,Generic cockpit
Marcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 10:58 PM   #4
Marcq
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by draconus View Post
It deletes the files from the disc, so yes, free up the space.


If you want to retrieve it, just go the module manager again and it will remind you of what you have left not installed yet.
Actually it saved only 600mb on the disk when I trashed the Viggen, i"m sure it should be more then that

Marc..
__________________
Intel-Core-i5-2500-3-33GHz-16GB-Windows7 pro, GTX1060 3gb -CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle ,CH pro pedals, Voice Attack ,Generic cockpit
Marcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 11:03 PM   #5
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcq View Post
Actually it saved only 600mb on the disk when I trashed the Viggen, i"m sure it should be more then that
Not really, the aircrafts use less than 1 GB each, the Campaigns use almost nothing ... the big users are the Maps ... one Map uses up the equivalent of more than a dozen aircrafts.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 11:28 PM   #6
Marcq
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 299
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Not really, the aircrafts use less than 1 GB each, the Campaigns use almost nothing ... the big users are the Maps ... one Map uses up the equivalent of more than a dozen aircrafts.
Hmm, I guess it's not worth trashing aircraft modules to save space

Thanks, Marc..
__________________
Intel-Core-i5-2500-3-33GHz-16GB-Windows7 pro, GTX1060 3gb -CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle ,CH pro pedals, Voice Attack ,Generic cockpit
Marcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 11:58 PM   #7
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 4,234
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcq View Post
Hmm, I guess it's not worth trashing aircraft modules to save space
That's true ... here is an interesting diagram with the relative size of DCS components:



Thank god that SSDs prices are falling
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 480 GB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 8.1 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 128 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 05:14 PM   #8
Marcq
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 299
Default

Interesting!!! No wonder it took me 3 days to download the Persian Gulf Map
Thanks for sharing

Marc..
__________________
Intel-Core-i5-2500-3-33GHz-16GB-Windows7 pro, GTX1060 3gb -CH Fighterstick/Pro Throttle ,CH pro pedals, Voice Attack ,Generic cockpit
Marcq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 07:35 PM   #9
Dyk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 18
Default

The space comparison is really interesting. I use TreeSize Free for something similar, it lists folders and subfolders regarding percentage of space used. I noticed how relatively lot of space is consumed by Mig-21 liveries in core mods, and that graphical interpretation shows it as well, did you notice? Is that texture quality difference noticeable in game?
__________________
My skins on DCS User Files, Enjoy!
________________________________
FC3, Mi-8, UH-1, CA, L-39, AV-8B, F-14
Dyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 01:56 PM   #10
Tenkom
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 139
Default

Even if you delete the module a large part will still remain so that they can appear in missions. The game still needs textures, sounds, animations, flightmodel etc. for every plane including the models you don’t have.
Tenkom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.