Flap Angle indicator not indicating - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-30-2018, 12:32 AM   #1
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 95
Default Flap Angle indicator not indicating

Not sure if this is a bug but I've noticed that when I lower the flaps the flap angle indicator is still on zero even though the flaps have deployed and the flap switch is in the appropriate position.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 01:50 AM   #2
Tholozor
Member
 
Tholozor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 276
Default

Got a track?
__________________
REAPER 51 | Tholozor
Tholozor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 02:45 AM   #3
Yurgon
Campaign Testers
 
Yurgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,830
Default

Never had any problems with it.

Common flaps problems for me are:
- out of sync between my physical flap switch (TM Warthog) and DCS
- above V(LE); the flaps won't extend and will also auto-retract above that speed (somewhere in the 180 to 200 KIAS region; pretty much in line with the yellow marker on the steam IAS gauge)

A track would be good indeed!
__________________
Yurgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 06:09 AM   #4
Frederf+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,160
Default

The flap position indicator is powered by the aux DC essential bus and receives its position signal from the position control unit attached to the left outboard flap.

You can disable the indicator while not disabling the flaps by pulling the 35A AUX ESS BUS TIE C/B. It also disables about 20 other things which might not be immediately obvious. That's the only normal way I know of having flap control without indication.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 11:53 AM   #5
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 95
Default

I'm afraid I didn't save the track...I haven't saved any yet. I'm still learning the aircraft's handling characteristics and haven't saved anything for posterity yet. I will hop back as soon as I can, replicate the bug, save the track and then share it.

Frederf, are you suggesting that I may have tripped a circuit breaker?
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 07:56 PM   #6
Frederf+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,160
Default

Only thing I can think of if you're sure that indicator wasn't matching actual flap position (visually by an outside view) and the battery is on.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 07:31 PM   #7
BuzzU
Senior Member
 
BuzzU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1,722
Default

You might have been going too fast.
__________________
Buzz

"You have reached the pinnacle of success as soon as you become uninterested in money, compliments, or publicity."
BuzzU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 08:52 PM   #8
Phil73805
Junior Member
 
Phil73805's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: NW London, UK.
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuzzU View Post
You might have been going too fast.

After experimenting today, I think you're right...
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel Core i5 8600K CPU @ 3.6GHz, 32GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1060 6GB. 500GB SSD (Exclusively for DCS World), Thrustmaster Warthog. Track IR 5 with Pro Clip. Vaicom Pro.

EASA PPL(A), Glider Aerobatics. Modules: A-10C, F/A-18C, F-5E, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A, Yak 52, Flaming Cliffs 3 & Heatblur F14B/A . Caucuses, Persian Gulf & NTTR.
Phil73805 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
a10c, dial instruments, flap angle indicator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:16 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.