Gripen cockpit - "what does this button do?" - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2007, 10:30 AM   #1
peterj
Member
 
peterj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 227
Default Gripen cockpit - "what does this button do?"

http://img159.imageshack.us/img159/2...timized8ft.jpg

Hope I'm not touching anything classified, beeing a russian site and all

Here's my guesses, what do you think?


Right MFD

EMGY - Emergency, backup systems?

INIT - Initialize, ?

A/A - Air to Air
A/S - Air to Sea?
RCE -

X1
XA
X2
MP -

HRES - high/h/ resolution, ?

CURS - Cursor

MENU [RDR] - Radar? menu

+B- Brightness


Save
XIMG
FREZ
ID
CORR


Center MFD

EMGY

MAP?

EWS - Electronic warfare suite

MSSN(?) -

LINK - datalink

FIX -

VARN -

VPN -
LDG -
XPOL -
INFO -
CHKL -
PP[?]S -


Left MDS

EMGY

G
M
E -

CVRS -
MENU[ST?A] -

+B- Brightness
+C- Color

Last edited by peterj; 02-24-2007 at 10:47 AM.
peterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 10:34 AM   #2
Groove
ED Team
 
Groove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: LockOn Forums
Posts: 8,736
Default

peterj, which button do you mean buddy ?
__________________
Our Forum Rules:
http://forums.eagle.ru/rules.php#en

Groove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 10:57 AM   #3
peterj
Member
 
peterj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 227
Default

I posted by misstake when i was going to preview, now it should be more clear Groove
peterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 11:52 AM   #4
nscode
Senior Member
 
nscode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 2,601
Default

Quote:
A/S - Air to Sea?
more like surface
__________________
Never forget that World War III was not Cold for most of us.
nscode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 12:38 PM   #5
Anytime
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 254
Default

Heres' my guesses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterj View Post
http://img159.imageshack.us/img159/2...timized8ft.jpg

Hope I'm not touching anything classified, beeing a russian site and all

Here's my guesses, what do you think?


Right MFD

EMGY - Emergency, backup systems?

INIT - Initialize, ?

A/A - Air to Air
A/S - Air to Sea?
RCE - Recon (sniff)

X1 (maybe radom frequency patterns?)
XA
X2
MP -

HRES - high/h/ resolution, ?

CURS - Cursor

MENU [RDR] - Radar? menu

+B- Brightness


Save
XIMG
FREZ freeze
ID Mode 4
CORR correlate


Center MFD

EMGY

MAP? different mapping modes

EWS - Electronic warfare suite

MSSN(?) - mission planning

LINK - datalink

FIX - Create a fix etc

VARN -

VPN -
LDG - landing charts
XPOL - may be fpol apol ranges etc
INFO - system status
CHKL - checklist
PP[?]S -


Left MDS

EMGY

G
M
E -

CVRS -
MENU[ST?A] -

+B- Brightness
+C- Color

Last edited by Anytime; 02-24-2007 at 12:39 PM. Reason: whats on the right side of the RDR display
Anytime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 02:55 PM   #6
Brit_Radar_Dude
Senior Member
 
Brit_Radar_Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chelmsford UK
Posts: 1,524
Default

X1
XA
X2

With my background in ATC radars, when I see 1, 2, A then my first thought is transponder settings for Mode 1, Mode 2 and Mode A (or more correctly 3/A since military Mode 3 and Civilian Mode A are one and the same). So I am guessing that button would perhaps lead to a pop up menu that allowed the setting of reply codes for those Modes and also the switching ON/OFF of replying to interrogations on those Modes.
The EMGY button could be for the Emergency Transponder response - it is on all 3 panels so whichever the pilot can physically reach in an emergency he can press, it is a different colour, it is in the same position on each panel.

Three particular codes are universally assigned for use to indicate emergency conditions with Mode 3/A
7700 emergency
7600 radio failure
7500 hijack

There would be nothing to stop a military aircraft using 7700, but the introduction of 7700,7600,7500 postdates the existing ability of military aircraft transponders to send a "Four Bar" Military emergency. This consists of 4 closely spaced reply pulse trains 4.35 us apart, the first reply contains Code information (which might or might not be 7700) and the succeeding reply trains have zero code content, ie are just empty brackets.
__________________

Sorry Death, you lose! It was Professor Plum....
Brit_Radar_Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 04:24 PM   #7
Bimbac
Member
 
Bimbac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pardubice, Czech Republic
Posts: 252
Default

To peterj:

Man, you are really teasing me I could help you, but then I'd have to kill you.

Classified stuff, you know...

Anyway, you almost got it right
__________________



Bimbac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 05:46 PM   #8
MBot
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,230
Default

That cockpit looks so sweet

The stick setup looks very unusual. A very short stick, which I guess means more "banking" movement compared to the shifting movement of longer sticks. How comfortable is this compared to conventional sticks ?
Also I read that the throttle is also a joystick used to control the radar and FLIR system. How does this feel and does it cause any unintended throttle movements ?
MBot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 07:25 PM   #9
Frostie
Veteran
 
Frostie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 3,505
Default

Some of that build quality in the pit looks a bit scary.
Frostie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 07:27 PM   #10
EscCtrl
Member
 
EscCtrl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterj View Post
You mean contrast

Glad to add my input on the most difficult switch
EscCtrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Saitek X52 "i" button mapping. Romik Lock On: Flaming Cliffs 1 & 2 16 03-18-2009 09:18 PM
Saitek X52 "i" button Romik Железо и софт 0 07-06-2006 05:56 PM
"А я хАчу..." стандартные "хотелки" из "пожеланий к новым проектам" drimkins Обо всем 48 03-08-2006 10:40 AM
Lockon hangs when trying to use "FBP" button SKK Bugs and Problems 0 12-26-2005 04:25 AM
Unable to remap "print screen" button zorlac Bugs and Problems 9 10-25-2005 10:58 AM

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.