Disable track file recording in MP - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2018, 03:48 PM   #1
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,620
Default Disable track file recording in MP

Wasn't sure if anyone was aware of this (or if a thread had been started) but it is now possible to stop DCS from recording trackfiles in multiplayer

Simply add disable_write_track = true to your autoexec.cfg in Users\<name>\Saved Games\DCS\Config on either your machine or server if you're the host (you may have to create the file if you don't have one already)



P.S a .trk file will still be generated in your Users\<name>\Saved Games\DCS\Tracks\Multiplayer folder but it will only be the mission contents and nothing more, notice the filesize of the .trk does not grow in size.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 04:11 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,520
Default

interesting mustang, I was still under the impression it was single player only.

However I have not seen much of a difference with performance
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K ( Cooled by H100i ), 16GB DDR3 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, TIR5, Trackclip pro
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 04:15 PM   #3
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIGNEWY View Post
interesting mustang, I was still under the impression it was single player only.

However I have not seen much of a difference with performance
It's definitely working, the size of the trackfile at the end of a session proves this since it's only the bare mission, open the .trk up with something like WinRAR and you won't see the usual trackfile inside.

In terms of performance it seems to make a difference disk write wise so slightly less micro stuttering, this might be even more pronounced for people on slower drives and remember it's less wear and tear on SSDs too.

One other bonus is it makes exiting after a long MP session happen ALOT faster.

Last edited by Mustang; 05-19-2018 at 04:18 PM.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 04:25 PM   #4
BIGNEWY
Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 14,520
Default

good to know, thanks
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K ( Cooled by H100i ), 16GB DDR3 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, TIR5, Trackclip pro
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 06:49 PM   #5
BlacleyCole
Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 823
Default

It would alsso prevent the user from copying your mission to their own server
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram
Oculus Rift with \LeapMotion.
pro Flight Trainer Puma helicopter controls and VKB Gladiator II and pedals GameTrix JetSeat, TM WartHog HOTAS and speedmaster Flight
Kneeboard maker
Voice attack with Viacom pro plugin
Sim Shaker for aviators
Wanted:
VKB Gunfighter2 Pro with Modern Combat Grip Pro and extension and VKB Twin Engine Control System
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 07:22 PM   #6
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,620
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacleyCole View Post
It would alsso prevent the user from copying your mission to their own server
Actually no, the client still has to download the mission locally to be able to fly the mission (hence the small .trk that's generated)
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2018, 09:13 PM   #7
DieHard
Senior Member
 
DieHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Near West Point, NY
Posts: 1,432
Default

+1

Thanks
__________________
DieHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 06:44 AM   #8
BlacleyCole
Member
 
BlacleyCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 823
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang View Post
Actually no, the client still has to download the mission locally to be able to fly the mission (hence the small .trk that's generated)
I think we’re both are saying the same thing, but want to verify.

Previous non protected stupid user logs in gets everything downloaded to the Trk file then goes to his server , repurposes the trk file to miz loads it on his server and finds the hidden jewels correct?

With you new restrictions they receive less info only what applies to their mission as ran. So when they convert the trk file to miz it only has the info the saw? Correct?
__________________
BlackeyCole 20years usaf
XP-11. Dcs 2.5OB
Acer predator laptop/ i7 7720, 2.4ghz, 32 gb ddr4 ram, 500gb ssd,1tb hdd,nvidia 1080 8gb vram
Oculus Rift with \LeapMotion.
pro Flight Trainer Puma helicopter controls and VKB Gladiator II and pedals GameTrix JetSeat, TM WartHog HOTAS and speedmaster Flight
Kneeboard maker
Voice attack with Viacom pro plugin
Sim Shaker for aviators
Wanted:
VKB Gunfighter2 Pro with Modern Combat Grip Pro and extension and VKB Twin Engine Control System
BlacleyCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2018, 06:53 AM   #9
59th_RAVENS
Senior Member
 
59th_RAVENS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Arundel, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlacleyCole View Post
I think we’re both are saying the same thing, but want to verify.

Previous non protected stupid user logs in gets everything downloaded to the Trk file then goes to his server , repurposes the trk file to miz loads it on his server and finds the hidden jewels correct?

With you new restrictions they receive less info only what applies to their mission as ran. So when they convert the trk file to miz it only has the info the saw? Correct?
You can also move the script files out the mission file, so if someone tried to take your mission it won't work.

This is a great find tho and will be added to our server

Thanks Mustang
__________________
DECOY (Lead Admin)

i7-7700K oc at 5Ghz | GTX 1080ti | 32GB DDR4 Ram | Warthog & Saitek Peddles | 2DOF Reality Platform | Custom GAMETRIX Jetseat | CV1
Our Website | Our Facebook Page | YouTube Channel

59th_RAVENS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.