DCS World 2.5.x Terrain Texture Tiles - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2018, 10:04 AM   #1
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,857
Default DCS World 2.5.x Terrain Texture Tiles

In light of the recent advances with multiplayer IC allowing servers to use customized textures I decided to push ahead with a new set of tiles for the 2.5.x Caucasus map - please know that I adore what ED has done for us with the new map regardless of what I offer here, I just want to push the quality further

All of the textures are the same as stock (4096x4096) and performance is identical - tested and developed on i5 4670K 3.8, AMD R9 380 4gb, 16gb system RAM, 500gb 850 EVO SSD.

Please be aware that this mod is in continual evolution so updates can come quite regularly, i'll try to keep you all informed of what gets altered.

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you update your DCS and you have this mod installed please check to make sure you're using the terrain.cfg.lua from the mod package and NOT the one DCS replaces when it does an update, otherwise the mod will not operate in the way it's intended to!

25/11/18 v1.18 link https://drive.google.com/open?id=12H...-XtAgpzfT40tOU

V1.18 - Adjusted colour of main noise texture for spring, updated field textures.








Last edited by Mustang; 12-01-2018 at 02:45 AM.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 11:03 AM   #2
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,640
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Mustang...

You did it again. You are improving an already fantastic terrain.

Thanks.

One question. Are you going to edit the winter terrain with a full snow version or you are thinking about a not fully covered like previous one?
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 11:13 AM   #3
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esac_mirmidon View Post
Mustang...

You did it again. You are improving an already fantastic terrain.

Thanks.

One question. Are you going to edit the winter terrain with a full snow version or you are thinking about a not fully covered like previous one?
Cheers mirmidon,

I quite like the winter terrain as it is and haven't really planned to touch any of it so for now the emphasis is on the other 3 seasons.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 11:21 AM   #4
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,640
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Thanks Mustang. I think the same, winter is very good looking now.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 12:53 PM   #5
YoYo
Senior Member
 
YoYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland / The Warsaw Pact
Posts: 1,615
Default

Hi Mustang,
Is it JSGME ready with proper structure?
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4977_2.gif
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl
Win 10 64, i7 7700k@4.5, GTX 2080Ti 11Gb, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX, 4xSSD+1SSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, TH Warthog, Throtlle Quadrant CH, MFG Rudder, Go Flight GF-P8, Saitek: Pro Flight Radio Panel, Pro Flight Switch Panel, Pro Flight Multi Panel, FiP and BiP, iPad2 for maps [FSX, P3Dv3, DCS, TOH, RoF, Condor, WT, IL-2 CoD/BoS/BoM/BoK]
YoYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 12:55 PM   #6
Fri13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 2,512
Default

Yeah... All that small texture details are lacking in the Vanilla. First you notice always about the trees and lighting, but eventually you start to miss the finer ground details that makes the difference between trees and areas.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 1080Ti SLI 11GB, Oculus CV1.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 60" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 01:10 PM   #7
Mustang
Veteran
 
Mustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 8,857
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoYo View Post
Hi Mustang,
Is it JSGME ready with proper structure?
I spoke to a few people and they say it works fine with JSGME and OvGME, like I mentioned in first post it's quite a simple installation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fri13 View Post
Yeah... All that small texture details are lacking in the Vanilla. First you notice always about the trees and lighting, but eventually you start to miss the finer ground details that makes the difference between trees and areas.
Agreed, the biggest drive towards making these textures.
Mustang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 01:49 PM   #8
zionid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 695
Default

Tested and vouched for. A superb step in the right direction!
zionid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 02:52 PM   #9
YoYo
Senior Member
 
YoYo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Poland / The Warsaw Pact
Posts: 1,615
Default

Ok, checked, it works with JSGME.



The difference is very soft, more varied textures. I noticed more visible "dots" from the long distance on moutains areas (trees, default settings looks better with this I suppose). TY Mustang!
__________________
http://forums.eagle.ru/signaturepics/sigpic4977_2.gif
Webmaster of www.yoyosims.pl
Win 10 64, i7 7700k@4.5, GTX 2080Ti 11Gb, RAM 32Gb Corsair Vengeance LPX, 4xSSD+1SSD M.2 NVMe, Predator XB271HU res.2560x1440 27'' G-sync, Sound Blaster Z + 5.1, TrackIR 5, TH Warthog, Throtlle Quadrant CH, MFG Rudder, Go Flight GF-P8, Saitek: Pro Flight Radio Panel, Pro Flight Switch Panel, Pro Flight Multi Panel, FiP and BiP, iPad2 for maps [FSX, P3Dv3, DCS, TOH, RoF, Condor, WT, IL-2 CoD/BoS/BoM/BoK]
YoYo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2018, 03:10 PM   #10
Art-J+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,617
Default

Mister Terrain is back in business . That's the biggest breakthrough of spring '18 in modding scene from my point of view. Can't wait to try these out and I'm looking forward to any further improvements.
__________________
i5 4670K @ 4.4, single GTX1070, 16 gigs of RAM, TH Warthog, MFG Crosswind, Win7 x64.
Art-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.