Nonlinear control, best idea ever! - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2018, 06:42 PM   #1
Svend_Dellepude
Senior Member
 
Svend_Dellepude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,952
Default Nonlinear control, best idea ever!

Just want to thank you, BST, for making the nonlinear option for non FFB sticks.
It's so much easier to control and at the same time retain energy in the F-5 now.
I hope you will do the same for the F-86.

Cheers.
__________________

Win10 64, Asus Maximus VIII Formula, i5 6600K, Geforce 980 GTX Ti, 32 GB Ram, Samsung EVO SSD.
Svend_Dellepude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 06:29 PM   #2
ac5
Senior Member
 
ac5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Svend_Dellepude View Post
Just want to thank you, BST, for making the nonlinear option for non FFB sticks.
It's so much easier to control and at the same time retain energy in the F-5 now.
I hope you will do the same for the F-86.

Cheers.
Indeed... Much easier.
Thank you for pointing that out!
__________________

Mainboard: ASUS Maximus X Hero Intel Z 370
CPU: Intel Core i7-8086K @ 4.0 GHz
Memory: 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3000
Graphics Card: ASUS NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti 11GB
Monitor ASUS PA 329 32" @ 4K
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 256 GB
1 SSD Samsung 860 PRO 1 TB
Windows 10 - 64
CH Pro combatstick, throttle and pedals
ac5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2018, 10:10 PM   #3
Baz000
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 674
Default

for those of us not in the know... What does it do???
Baz000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 03:12 PM   #4
DaveRindner
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 809
Default

I also have nonlinear ON. What exactly does it do. I also curve bias of 25 on all axixes except throttle.
DaveRindner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2018, 08:59 PM   #5
Sarge55
Senior Member
 
Sarge55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 1,455
Default

Me to, how is it different?

I use 15 curve for pitch and roll and 20 for rudder.
__________________

i7 10700K OC 5.1GHZ / 500GB SSD & 1TB M:2 & 4TB HDD / MSI Gaming MB / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 / TrackIR 4 Pro / CH Pedals / TM Warthog
Sarge55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 06:17 PM   #6
Svend_Dellepude
Senior Member
 
Svend_Dellepude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,952
Default

It changes your virtual stick range in relation to trim. With it enabled you will always be able to reach virtual extremes regardles of trim.
For instance: If you trim for takeoff with a linear, you only have half or less of range on your real joystick before you reach the stop of your virtual stick.
With nonlinear your extremes will always equal the extremes in the sim.
You can try to toggle it on and off, go in the sim, press ctrl+enter, trim, wove the stick and watch what happens with and without it.
For some reason it seems to make flying and trimming a lot easier.
__________________

Win10 64, Asus Maximus VIII Formula, i5 6600K, Geforce 980 GTX Ti, 32 GB Ram, Samsung EVO SSD.
Svend_Dellepude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2018, 11:13 PM   #7
Sarge55
Senior Member
 
Sarge55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Richmond, Canada
Posts: 1,455
Default

Thanks Svend. Good to know, I'll give it a try next time I'm flying.
__________________

i7 10700K OC 5.1GHZ / 500GB SSD & 1TB M:2 & 4TB HDD / MSI Gaming MB / GTX 1080 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 / TrackIR 4 Pro / CH Pedals / TM Warthog
Sarge55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 02:43 AM   #8
Woolfe
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Perth
Posts: 35
Default

OK, i give up, where in options do i find it?
Woolfe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2018, 08:57 AM   #9
Svend_Dellepude
Senior Member
 
Svend_Dellepude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Posts: 1,952
Default

Specials.
Nonlinear is only an option for the F-5 so far.
__________________

Win10 64, Asus Maximus VIII Formula, i5 6600K, Geforce 980 GTX Ti, 32 GB Ram, Samsung EVO SSD.
Svend_Dellepude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2018, 06:22 PM   #10
Kingsnake
Member
 
Kingsnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: US
Posts: 353
Default

Just purchased the F-5 during the sale and I like it a lot better with my Non-FFB Joystick set to Nonlinear. Loving this plane so far. I was looking for a new Trainer type plane and this was close enough to a T-38 for me. :-)
__________________
Kingsnake

Windows 10 2004 64-bit, AMD FX-6300 OC 4.00 GHz, EVGA GTX 1050 Ti SC 1.83 GHz 4GB, 32GB DDR3 RAM
CH Fighterstick Pro, CH Pro Throttle, CH Pro Pedals, TrackIR 4 (5.4 Software), 24" RL2455HM 1920x1080*60hz 1ms
[ DCS World: Latest (Open Beta) ]
Nevada, Persian Gulf, DCS: Ka-50 Black Shark, A-10C Warthog, Combined Arms, AJS-37 Viggen, Mirage 2000C, AV-8B N/A Harrier II, F/A-18C Hornet, F-5E Tiger II, UH-1H Huey, L-39 Albatros, MiG-21Bis Fishbed, JF-17 Thunder, * F-16C Viper *
Kingsnake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:23 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.