2.1.1: Wow, Troops embark/disembark without CTLD? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2017, 03:22 AM   #1
BaD CrC
ED Translator
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,085
Default 2.1.1: Wow, Troops embark/disembark without CTLD?

Looks like we got a new F7 radio item in 2.1.1 allowing to embark and disembark whatever infantry next to the chopper. Am I dreaming?
If not, this is awesome.
__________________
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 03:27 AM   #2
Hyena
Member
 
Hyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sterling, Va
Posts: 255
Send a message via AIM to Hyena
Default

Now we just need the ability to select and load infantry teams from the loadout screen and the Hip and Iroquois will be golden!
Hyena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 05:31 AM   #3
BaD CrC
ED Translator
 
BaD CrC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 2,085
Default

Well, I am not sure what you meant but when there is infantry units next to a Huey or a Mi8, the list of groups appears in the new F7 radio menu now (sorted by proximity, a bit like for cargos). When selecting one of the group, you see it running to you then disappear one by one. You can then disembark it wherever you want. I don't know if this influence your aircraft weight. I don't know either if the number of infantry you can embark varies according to the chopper. I have to make a few tests. F7 menu doesn't show up for Ka50 and SA342 (pity since you can certainly take 2 infantry with the gazelle).
__________________
BaD CrC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 07:41 AM   #4
Tarres
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 443
Default

This feature worked in one of the previous 1.2.x/1.5.x versions. And yes, it changed weights, and dynamics.


I will try later. Thanks!
Tarres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 12:13 PM   #5
Hyena
Member
 
Hyena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sterling, Va
Posts: 255
Send a message via AIM to Hyena
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BaD CrC View Post
Well, I am not sure what you meant ...
Well, being able to load troops that have been set out for you in the mission is good, and one half of what is needed. What I speak of is being able to add troop units to appropriate vehicles from its rearm screen, which I see as the other half.
Hyena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 07:53 PM   #6
Gizzy
Member
 
Gizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tír na nÓg
Posts: 358
Default

UH1h 'rough' M4 Infantryman weight test comes in around 198lbs per soldier by my reckoning...

FAT 30C

2 airframe loadouts...

  • UH1h Full fuel no weapons or gunners = 7747 lbs + 14 M4 Infantry
  • UH1h (rather foolishly) Full fuel, 2 M134 to the front. 2 M134s on the sides and 2x rocket pods with 19 Mk151HE = 10523lbs

Both have approximately the same maximum achievable indicated hover height of around 5'

(10523 - 7747) / 14 = 198.2 lbs per soldier.
Gizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 12:13 PM   #7
flanker0ne
Senior Member
 
flanker0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Rome Italy
Posts: 1,254
Default

Why a news/debug of this magnitude is not reported in the changelog??
__________________
AMVI Forum , Youtube Channel , Facebook Page
flanker0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 03:36 PM   #8
enigma6584
Member
 
enigma6584's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 908
Default

This is fantastic news! Been waiting for this a long, long time.
enigma6584 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 03:52 PM   #9
Gizzy
Member
 
Gizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Tír na nÓg
Posts: 358
Default

Don't get too excited, weight stays when troops unloaded and some issues crashing MP BUT we are getting there
Gizzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2017, 03:56 PM   #10
gunterlund21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Napa, Ca
Posts: 652
Default

need this for vehicles as well.
__________________
I was in Art of the Kill D#@ it!!!!
gunterlund21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:28 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.