IMPORTANT MiG-21bis StarForce PATCH - MARCH 2017 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2017, 10:53 PM   #1
Dolphin887
3rd Party Developer
 
Dolphin887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 374
Exclamation IMPORTANT MiG-21bis StarForce PATCH - MARCH 2017

Dear all,

Most of you know we have issues with the StarForce protection for the MiG-21Bis module.
The primary complaint was that the protection was not flexible enough for the users' hardware and/or software changes.

We took this very seriously, and dedicated our time to work on the fix along with the people on the StarForce team.

Our Starforce patch will be distributed along Eagle Dynamics next DCS World openBeta patch, which should be released by the end of this week.

This is a major patching event for all of us, and it will require your cooperation for a proper and successful execution. In short, in order to save one activation for MiG-21Bis, you will have to deactivate the module BEFORE the DCS 1.5.6 patch is downloaded to your PC. We advise you to do this in next 24 hours.

We have created a guide with detailed instructions that will help you prepare for the incoming patch: please find the attached two identical documents written in English and Russian languages.

Please feel free to distribute them among your friends that are using the MiG-21Bis module.

Note that if you are using DCS World 2.0.5 openAlpha, you do not have to do this at this time. However, when Eagle Dynamics decide to distribute the patch for DCS World 2.0.5 openAlpha, we will distribute the same StarForce patch; thus a simmilar procedure will be required if you do not use any other version.

If you patch 1.5.6 openBeta first after doing the procedure, it is not required again for 2.0.5 openAlpha update.

If there is a 2.0.5 openAlpha update and you update that first ((doing the procedure) before updating 1.5.6 openBeta), then you do not have to do it for 1.5.6 openBeta.

The same as in 1.5.6 stable release. We will do our best to keep you informed in time.

We sincerely appologize for this inconvinience. Our ultimate goal is your satisfaction: there are things we have to do to get there, and there are some thing we have to do together.

We will provide help along the way and we hope this transition will be sucessful. We also hope you will like the fixes we prepared in the next patch.

If you need any help please write us at support@leatherneck-sim.com.

Your dedicated developers,
LNS
__________________
Power through superb knowledge, training and teamwork.


Last edited by -Rudel-; 03-30-2017 at 08:44 PM.
Dolphin887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 10:59 PM   #2
BIGNEWY
Community Manager
 
BIGNEWY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hereford, UK
Posts: 13,964
Default

Thanks for the heads up Dolphin887
__________________
Windows 10 Pro x64, NVIDIA PALIT 1080 8GB, INTEL i7 4790K ( Cooled by H100i ), 16GB DDR3 , Asus Z97-AR, TM Warthog, Jet provost rudder pedals, TIR5, Trackclip pro
BIGNEWY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:06 PM   #3
bobbyb1966
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks Dolphin! This is only a suggestion, but why not just refill all of the activations for your customers who have supported this product?
bobbyb1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:22 PM   #4
Dolphin887
3rd Party Developer
 
Dolphin887's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 374
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbyb1966 View Post
Thanks Dolphin! This is only a suggestion, but why not just refill all of the activations for your customers who have supported this product?
We did that - we added 2 activations for every key. Its mentioned in the documents.

However, the remaining number of activations might not show correctly until the patch "sticks" to StarForce server.
__________________
Power through superb knowledge, training and teamwork.


Last edited by Dolphin887; 03-29-2017 at 11:23 PM. Reason: typo
Dolphin887 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:39 PM   #5
Justificus
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 774
Default

Thanks for the heads up about this and the detailed instructions to deal with it. Product is now deactivated.
__________________
Justificus

System Specs:
Spoiler:
i7 4970K @ 4.8, GTX 1080 SC, 32GB G.Skill DDR 2133,Thermaltake Level 10 Full Tower Case, Noctua NH-D15 6 Cooler, Win 10 Pro, Warthog, CH Pro Pedals, CH Throttle Quadrant, Oculus Rift, 1 32" & 2 19" Monitors



Modules Owned: A-10C, Ka-50, FC3, F-86, Mig-15, Mig21, UH-1H, Mi-8, CA, P-51D, BF-109K-4, FW-190 D-9, Hawk, NTTR, M-2000C, SA342, F-5E, Spit Mk. IX, AJS-37, Normandy, WWII A.P., AV-8B, F/A-18C, L-39, Persian Gulf
Justificus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:49 PM   #6
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,081
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Thank you Dolphin.

Thanks for taking care of the Fishbed community so kindly and thanks for the impressive fixed bug list you have recently posted in the bugtraker.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2017, 11:59 PM   #7
Sporg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,011
Default

First: Thanks for your work on solving this issue.

I have two questions :

1. Do you refill deactivations as well?
I had my activations refilled back when there were problems with 2.0, but when I checked my deactivations, I had only three left.

2. How do you handle the difference between activation types used in 1.5 and 2.0?
Last time the difference meant that every time you switched between 1.5 and 2.0, StarForce required a new activation.
Will this be a problem again?
Sporg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 12:02 AM   #8
bobbyb1966
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphin887 View Post
We did that - we added 2 activations for every key. Its mentioned in the documents.

However, the remaining number of activations might not show correctly until the patch "sticks" to StarForce server.
Cool! 2 is better than none for sure. Just to clarify - I own two keys, will both keys get 2 activations added even though I only intend to reactivate one?
bobbyb1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 12:05 AM   #9
Esac_mirmidon
Veteran
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 5,081
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Yes, he said 2 activations PER KEY.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2017, 12:07 AM   #10
bobbyb1966
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Esac_mirmidon View Post
Yes, he said 2 activations PER KEY.
Thanks. Do you work for Magnitude 3?
bobbyb1966 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
important, leatherneck, mig-21bis, update

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.