Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2014, 01:28 PM   #1
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,003
Reputation power: 10
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default Browser-Based Multiplayer Mission Planner for DCS: World

Download latest release: v0.0.1-rc2
See also: DCS Mission Planner on GitHub | Issue Tracker on GitHub | Try it online!

For information on how to use the current version, please refer to the instructions included with the software itself.
Original post below; please note that not everything described there applies to the current version.


--


This software was inspired by the mission planning phase in Falcon: BMS. It doesn't do much at the moment, but I think it does enough to be useful, so I might as well release it now.

What is this?

Technically, it's a multiplayer mission editor for DCS: World that only allows you to edit the waypoints of playable aircraft of a specific coalition (red/blue).

See the attached screenshot for how this looks like.

It also does one thing that the DCS Mission Editor cannot do to my knowledge: you can copy the route of one aircraft to another with the "Pull Route" function. That might be useful for mission makers.

Download the .zip file from the link above, extract anywhere, open "planner_client.html" and read the instructions to get started. It should work in recent versions of Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer.


Overview of the intended use case

Assume your squad has met up on TeamSpeak and wants to play some DCS. Before starting the mission, the host can select the mission file and create a new "instance".

An instance stores waypoint data of a mission and is identified by an instance ID. It has a login password to see and edit waypoints of the red coalition, a login password to see and edit waypoints for the blue coalition, and an admin password to download the results.

Once the instance is created, everyone opens the Mission Planner (open planner_client.html in a browser) and logs in using the instance ID and the password for red or blue. Each side can edit the waypoints of their playable aircraft; changes by other players should show up in real time.

You can also draw circles on the map

Using the "Pull Route" feature, you can plan the waypoints for a single aircraft and then quickly copy them over to the other aircrafts in the flight.

When everyone has come up with a plan of attack, the host uses the admin password to download the modified waypoint data and generate a modified mission file, which he can copy to his "Missions" folder and use to start the DCS Server.


Suggestions and Feedback

Please use this thread to suggest improvements, tell me what works and what does not, and ask questions when the user interface is confusing (it was, after all, designed by a programmer )

You can also send me a pull request on GitHub.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mission-planner-screenshot.png
Views:	2228
Size:	1.03 MB
ID:	94831  

Last edited by [FSF]Ian; 04-05-2014 at 10:22 AM.
[FSF]Ian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 02:24 PM   #2
alexej21
Member
 
alexej21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 278
Reputation power: 6
alexej21 is on a distinguished road
Default

Does this really work ?

Wow. I was dreaming about this...
__________________

.....Vladimir, let's go to Sukhoi.......

Czech and Slovakia home of DCS products:
http://dcs-uvp.cz/
alexej21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 02:34 PM   #3
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,003
Reputation power: 10
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexej21 View Post
Does this really work ?

Wow. I was dreaming about this...
Yes, it really does work

In other news, thanks to the awesomeness that is GitHub project pages, you can now try it online!

If you want to use the DCS: World map (which I recommend), you will still need to download it to put the map files next to the mission planner; otherwise, there is no difference in features (the online version is served directly from the source code repository).
[FSF]Ian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 03:46 PM   #4
chromium
3rd Party Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Milan
Posts: 2,600
Reputation power: 20
chromium is just really nicechromium is just really nicechromium is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [FSF]Ian View Post
It also does one thing that the DCS Mission Editor cannot do to my knowledge: you can copy the route of one aircraft to another with the "Pull Route" function. That might be useful for mission makers.
This is a fantastic work Ian, and I'm going to report it in my squad to understand it's capability.

PS:

you can't copy the route of an aircraft.. but you can copy the aircraft (CTRL-C -> CTRL-V) with route, equipment, advanced wpt actions, triggered actions etc etc... but i'm sure you already knew that .
__________________

The thing is, helicopters are different from planes. An airplane by it's nature wants to fly, and if not interfered with too strongly by unusual events or by a deliberately incompetent pilot, it will fly. A helicopter does not want to fly. It is maintained in the air by a variety of forces in opposition to each other, and if there is any disturbance in this delicate balance the helicopter stops flying; immediately and disastrously.
chromium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 04:14 PM   #5
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,003
Reputation power: 10
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromium View Post
This is a fantastic work Ian, and I'm going to report it in my squad to understand it's capability.
Thanks!

Should you test it with multiple people, please report back what worked well and where you think additional features would help with mission planning. As it is technically a mission editor, it could access everything the DCS Mission Editor does.
I wonder if it could export annotations made on the map to the ABRIS of a Ka-50...

In theory, I could build a multiplayer capable version of the DCS mission editor. In practice, that would never be completed and the UI would be too complicated for mission planning anyway, so I need to know what to focus on.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chromium View Post
you can't copy the route of an aircraft.. but you can copy the aircraft (CTRL-C -> CTRL-V) with route, equipment, advanced wpt actions, triggered actions etc etc... but i'm sure you already knew that .
If two aircraft start on ramps that are 100 meters away from each other, all their waypoints will differ by 100 meters after copy&paste in the ME. But advanced waypoint actions are a good point -- the Mission Planner will recreate the waypoints when saving, thus deleting all the extra info (it will never touch the initial waypoint of a plane, though). As it is currently implemented, the "Pull Route" feature is only useful in a mission making context if all the "special setup" is done on "Waypoint 0" of the aircraft, which I think is the case for playable aircrafts; on AI aircraft groups, I think you can have multiple planes in the same group, which avoids the problem in the first place.
[FSF]Ian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2014, 07:18 PM   #6
Rivvern
Member
 
Rivvern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 358
Reputation power: 5
Rivvern will become famous soon enough
Default

Just tried it out really quick. Awesome i must say! Works right out of the box!
I can see many possible features for this. Keep it up. Will follow this thread.
__________________


We are looking for Swedish members!
www.masterarms.se
Rivvern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:36 PM   #7
Butcher59
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bottrop, Germany
Posts: 87
Reputation power: 11
Butcher59 has a spectacular aura about
Default

Can't get it to work.
Tried several times but nothing happens!
The Server stops at "reading file...."
and the client stops at ""establishing connection...."

__________________
CPU: Intel i7-2600K 3,4GHz
Motherboard: P8H67-M EVO
Grafik Card: NVIDIA Geforce GTX560 Ti 337.50
RAM: 16GB
TrackIR 4
Hotas Warthog with Simped Pedals
WIN 7 64bit Ultimate
DirctX 11.0
Butcher59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:44 PM   #8
HiJack
Veteran
 
HiJack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Norway
Posts: 5,804
Reputation power: 72
HiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to beholdHiJack is a splendid one to behold
Default

This is great! A good planning tool for squad flights have really been missed. Ok there are some spreadsheet planners available but nothing graphical like this! It reminds me of the ATC (advanced Tactical Center) board that I used to plan PvP fights on CoD

EDIT: For design tip check out ATC http://www.playprepared.com/
__________________
Windows 7 64 bit FTW!
My DCS Tools:
Quick Airfield information , Better trim with the X52 Pro , Tacview Glideslopes

Spoiler:

ASUS Z97-PRO, Socket-1150
Intel® Core i7-4770K Processor @ 4.60 GHz
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR3 2133MHz CL9 4x8GB
Sapphire Radeon TRI-X R9 390X 8GB "OC"
Samsung SSD 850PRO 1TB SSD
WD 2TB Black 3,5", SATA64MB Cache, Dual Processor, 7200RPM
Windows 7 64-bit
Philips 40" 4K LED BDM4065UC/00

Last edited by HiJack; 02-27-2014 at 03:25 PM.
HiJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 12:59 PM   #9
xcom
Senior Member
 
xcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,204
Reputation power: 9
xcom is a jewel in the rough
Default

Wow!
We need this so much for planning missions in a campaign.

The only thing we miss is mission saving now.

Ian, I'm going to send you a PM about the save mission script I've been working on... Maybe you can help finish it and integrate it into your mod.
xcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:40 PM   #10
[FSF]Ian
ED Testers Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dortmund, Germany
Posts: 1,003
Reputation power: 10
[FSF]Ian is just really nice[FSF]Ian is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butcher59 View Post
Can't get it to work.
Tried several times but nothing happens!
The Server stops at "reading file...."
and the client stops at ""establishing connection...."

My first guess would be that it is incompatible with your browser (I only tested IE 11, Chrome 33 and Firefox 27). What exact version of which browser are you using? Does it work in another browser?
[FSF]Ian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.