Tutorial: Introduction to Lua scripting

While I was creating my first large mission, I had one task that I couldn't achieve with the Mission Editor but that should be easy enough with a bit of Lua scripting magic. It took me a while to familiarize myself with Lua scripting in the ME. I hope this introduction to the topic will allow other mission builders a smoother start at it.

This tutorial is aimed at mission designers with a basic understanding of the DCS Mission Editor (ME) who want to find out about Lua scripting inside the ME.

This introduction currently refers to DCS 1.2.7 and may be incorrect or outdated for older or newer versions.

I'm by no means an expert on the matter and will gladly correct any mistakes, incorporate links and extend this guide. Just write a reply to this thread. :thumbup:

This tutorial is far from complete, it merely scratches the surface. For the time being, it is however the introductory tutorial that I wish someone else had written so that I didn't have to figure all of this stuff out for myself. Then again, I've already learned a huge amount of stuff about Lua scripting in DCS by writing this guide. :)

Without further ado, let's get started! :)

What is Lua?

Quoted from the Lua homepage, "Lua is a powerful, fast, lightweight, embeddable scripting language."

DCS and Lua

DCS makes heavy use of Lua. The Simulator Scripting Engine "provides mission designers with access to game world and game objects using scripts. It's possible to change object properties, control object behavior and read object properties."

Getting started with Lua

If you're new to Lua, lua-users.org/wiki/LuaDirectory is an incredibly helpful resource to get an overview. If you have prior programming experience in other languages, you can get a decent overview in just 30 minutes. But even if you have no prior experience with programming languages, Lua is a very simple language to learn and therefore a very good language to start with.