Saitek Panels Reader - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2013, 07:51 AM   #1
Raf
Member
 
Raf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 124
Default Saitek Panels Reader

I've made a program to map some buttons to fake keyboard shortcuts, seems to work decently.
The panels i've mapped are the Switch one, and the Radio one (don't have the others).

Perhaps will upload a demo video too, of them working.

Project page:
https://github.com/raffaeleragni/saitek-panels

Attaching zip with binary and other stuff (libraries etc).
Attached Files
File Type: zip saitekpanel.zip (2.17 MB, 545 views)
Raf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 12:10 PM   #2
Raf
Member
 
Raf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 124
Default

Here the video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLMZ...ature=youtu.be
Raf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #3
Trubshaw
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 394
Default

Great progress. I gave up and connected my switch panel to a Bodnar board. Do you think you will have any success with the radio panel?
__________________

TrubshawRN -=SHREK 94=-
Trubshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 04:17 PM   #4
CyBerkut
Member
 
CyBerkut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Somewhere north of St. Petersburg
Posts: 812
Default

That's pretty cool, Raf! I never bought one of those panels because they were limited to FSX and X-Plane. I imagine there are more than a few people who would be interested in that.

(Hey, maybe Saitek would be willing to throw some hardware at you in exchange for the work, as that could help them sell more of those panels!)
__________________

There's no place like 127.0.0.1
CyBerkut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2013, 08:03 PM   #5
Raf
Member
 
Raf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 124
Default

Reading the switches is feasible, but sending data back is quite the hard part... not to mention I'd have to also read data from DCS.

As far as it goes, the switch panel can be used fully, just doesn't have the gear LEDS working.
For the radio, well that's quite complicated for the logic of the switches (the swapper for example) that are quite different than DCS. I've mapped the knob at least.

If someone can make stuff in lua, can use the data in my pogram to read the switches.
Raf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 11:11 AM   #6
nickmow
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 194
Default

I've been holding out for somebody to make these panels work in something other than FSX. Can't believe you did it ! I think this is a major deal, good work mate, I shall try it out soon as I get home from work !
Cheers
Nic,
nickmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2013, 12:05 PM   #7
komemiute
Senior Member
 
komemiute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,009
Default

Impressionante!

Next in line -buy saitek panels!

Mia moglie mi ammazzerà...
komemiute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 08:47 AM   #8
nickmow
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 194
Default

Ok I give up the whole Maven Java installation thing is way beyond me !
nickmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 11:21 AM   #9
pepin1234
Senior Member
 
pepin1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,888
Default

thank u. good job
pepin1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2013, 12:58 PM   #10
nickmow
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 194
Default

RAF could you do an install
guide, Im struggling with the maven java thing , the instructions that come with them are a bit complicated !
nickmow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:09 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.