Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2013, 11:22 AM   #1
tietze
Member
 
tietze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 314
Reputation power: 14
tietze is just really nicetietze is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to tietze Send a message via Skype™ to tietze
Default DCS 1.2.3 & TARS 1.0.2b2 (+Helios)

Thanks to Manuel for pointing out the general way to do this. Below is everything described in a bit more detail as I did for my squad, maybe it can help others too :-)

Quote:
Ok, it took me some searching and testing to get to this. The following procedure will make TARS work with DCS World 1.2.3 and if you are running HELIOS for instruments on a second screen it will work as well. Please use notepad2 or notepad++ to edit lua files.

The change introduced with DCS World 1.2.3.9871 is that the file "C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export\Export.lua" and config.lua in the same directory is ignored by DCS, but used by both TARS and HELIOS. Instead DCS now looks for "C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua". And network.cfg, see post #5 by c0ff below.

Configure DCS World 1.2.3.9871
DCS World needs to have the following two directories created (standard installation path quoted below):
  • Export in C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config
  • Scripts in C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts

Additionally you have to copy/ create two files in the newly created: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export
  • Copy Export.lua from (a new empty file will probably also work): C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Scripts
  • Create a new (empty) file called Config.lua (that would normally contain this statement: EnableExportScript = true, but is now handled in network.cfg see post #5 by c0ff below)

This step is for HELIOS users only
Just after creating directories and copying/creating Export.lua and Config.lua, you should setup your HELIOS-profile(s). Do this just before setting up TARS - if you already done the TARS setup, just do the TARS setup again after setting up your HELIOS profiles. What HELIOS does is that it replaces the export.lua, so you will then afterwards have to manually add the line that TARS needs for the TARSExport.lua to be activated (which is: dofile("./Config/Export/TARSExport.lua")).
  • Setup your HELIOS-profile like: profile-editor->open profile->module name->Setup. (Nb. it will replace export.lua in the Config/Export directory, so it will need to be run before TARS adds its line to this file)
  • If you have a HELIOS-profile for more than one module, see note below

TARS Setup
  • Open TARS Control panel (upon installing TARS close teamspeak first).
  • Setup radio-keys and settings
  • Click the A-10C icon. Check install TARS, uncheck standby. (Nb. TARS adds one single line to the Export.lua, in addition to installing TARSExport.lua and some other files, see below)
  • Copy the newly modified C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export.lua to: C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts

Note about program startup sequence
When TARS or HELIOS is installed correctly it does not matter in what sequence you start HELIOS, teamspeak and DCS. You don't need to have the TARS Control panel running, it has done its work installing and modifying files. Teamspeak and Helios Control center connect to the export scripts run by DCS. When DCS starts a module the export is started and is ready to be connected to.

Problems? Things to check:
  • File is present: C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua
    • Contains this line at the end (if not using HELIOS, this is the only line that needs to be in that file): dofile("./Config/Export/TARSExport.lua")
  • File is present: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export\TARSExport.lua
  • File is present: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export\Config.lua
    • Contains this line: ExportEnableScript = true
  • Directory is present (installed by TARS control panel): C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\TARS
    • Containing directory: C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\TARS\aircraft
      • Containing files: a10.luac, ka50.luac
    • Containing files: tarscore.luac, tarsexporter.luac
  • Teamspeak: is the plugin checked in menu Settings->Plugins? (ctrl-shift-p)
    • Files present in teamspeak program directory: tars.ini, plugins\tars_64.dll (if using 32bit version it should be tars_32.dll)

Note about HELIOS and multiple modules
When using more than one module you need to replace the Export.lua in C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\ with the export.lua corresponding to your helios-profile. You don't need to run the profile editor every time you change module:
  • Do a setup of your profile for the first module - A-10C for example.
  • Setup TARS, as above.
  • Check that the following has been added to the end of the Export.lua to enable TARS: dofile("./Config/Export/TARSExport.lua").
  • Copy the newly created Export.lua to a new file like A10C-export.lua.
  • Do a setup of your profile for the second module - KA-50 for example. Copy the newly created Export.lua to a new file like KA-50-export.lua. Add the following line to the end of the file to enable TARS: dofile("./Config/Export/TARSExport.lua").

When you fly A-10C copy A10C-export.lua to (before starting DCS Multiplayer or you will need to restart DCS Multiplayer): C:\Users\USERNAME\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua

This can be done by using batchfiles, macros, shortcuts or... Example of my own two batchfiles below, remember to update the username from Administrator to your username:

HELIOS-KA50.bat
Code:
@echo off
copy /Y "C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export\Export-KA50.lua" "C:\Users\Administrator\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua"
HELIOS-A10C.bat
Code:
@echo off
copy /Y "C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\DCS World\Config\Export\Export-A10C.lua" "C:\Users\Administrator\Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua"
__________________
Please fix the KA-50 bugs :-)

Black Shark: Controller profile & setup, TrackIR profile, pit.
Warthog HOTAS: Lubing the stick and extending the stick.
Posts on howto customize switches in DCS & youtube clip.
Must-have mods for DCS World and KA-50 (mostly JSGME).
Casual couch pilot, watching capped.tv...

Last edited by tietze; 02-28-2013 at 07:55 AM. Reason: updated info/ typos and so on...
tietze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:01 PM   #2
towsim
Member
 
towsim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 625
Reputation power: 10
towsim is just really nicetowsim is just really nice
Default

Quote:
Create a new file called Config.lua containing this statement: ExportEnableScript = true
Could it be, that the key word is EnableExportScript instead of ExportEnableScript?

Mike
towsim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:21 PM   #3
Catdog
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 2
Reputation power: 0
Catdog is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Thx a lot Manuel and Tietze!! :-)


Helios is working again!!
Catdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:25 PM   #4
Esac_mirmidon
Senior Member
 
Esac_mirmidon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Ferrol, Spain
Posts: 2,813
Reputation power: 37
Esac_mirmidon is a name known to allEsac_mirmidon is a name known to allEsac_mirmidon is a name known to allEsac_mirmidon is a name known to allEsac_mirmidon is a name known to allEsac_mirmidon is a name known to all
Send a message via MSN to Esac_mirmidon
Default

Doing this TARS only works for server, not for clients.

TARS runs ok for every member of our squad only when he is server, as clients this don´t work.
__________________
" You must think in russian.."


Windows 7 64 bits Home Premium-Intel 2500K OC 4.6 - GTX 1060 EXOC KFA2 - 16 Gigas RAM 1.600 - 1920x1080

Hotas Rhino X-55 - MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals - Track IR 4
Esac_mirmidon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:37 PM   #5
c0ff
ED Team
 
c0ff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,726
Reputation power: 71
Default

The folder $INSTALL_DIR/Config/Export/ is no longer used by DCS.
Export.lua file is loaded from $HOME/Saved Games/DCS/Scripts/Export.lua
Config.lua is no longer used.

The availability of LoGetObjectById() and LoGetWorldObjects() on multiplayer clients depends on the server setting (in network.cfg):
Code:
server = {
   ...
   allow_object_export = true, -- (default is false).
}
__________________
Dmitry S. Baikov @ Eagle Dynamics
Listen to my music here: http://soundcloud.com/c0ff

Last edited by c0ff; 02-27-2013 at 04:39 PM.
c0ff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 04:55 PM   #6
tietze
Member
 
tietze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 314
Reputation power: 14
tietze is just really nicetietze is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to tietze Send a message via Skype™ to tietze
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by towsim View Post
Could it be, that the key word is EnableExportScript instead of ExportEnableScript?
Yep and thanks! But apparently the file is completely ignored, so its presence is only to satisfy the TARS installation, so an empty file will probably do the trick! Will update the above post accordingly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ff View Post
The folder $INSTALL_DIR/Config/Export/ is no longer used by DCS.
Export.lua file is loaded from $HOME/Saved Games/DCS/Scripts/Export.lua
Config.lua is no longer used.

The availability of LoGetObjectById() and LoGetWorldObjects() on multiplayer clients depends on the server setting (in network.cfg):
Code:
server = {
   ...
   allow_object_export = true, -- (default is false).
}
Thanks for the reply!
__________________
Please fix the KA-50 bugs :-)

Black Shark: Controller profile & setup, TrackIR profile, pit.
Warthog HOTAS: Lubing the stick and extending the stick.
Posts on howto customize switches in DCS & youtube clip.
Must-have mods for DCS World and KA-50 (mostly JSGME).
Casual couch pilot, watching capped.tv...
tietze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:01 PM   #7
shamandgg
Veteran
 
shamandgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,511
Reputation power: 86
shamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to behold
Default

c0ff, where TacviewExportDCS.lua and TARSExport.lua should be located now?
In 1.2.2 they used to be there \DCS World\Config\Export
__________________
:: <51>Shaman
tail# 44 (RU) or 444 (US)
shamandgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:07 PM   #8
tietze
Member
 
tietze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 314
Reputation power: 14
tietze is just really nicetietze is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to tietze Send a message via Skype™ to tietze
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shamandgg View Post
c0ff, where TacviewExportDCS.lua and TARSExport.lua should be located now?
In 1.2.2 they used to be there \DCS World\Config\Export
For the time being they work when still being there. Your Export.lua located in: Saved Games\DCS\Scripts\Export.lua should contain the following lines to enable them:

Code:
dofile("./Config/Export/TARSExport.lua")
dofile("./Config/Export/TacviewExportDCS.lua")
__________________
Please fix the KA-50 bugs :-)

Black Shark: Controller profile & setup, TrackIR profile, pit.
Warthog HOTAS: Lubing the stick and extending the stick.
Posts on howto customize switches in DCS & youtube clip.
Must-have mods for DCS World and KA-50 (mostly JSGME).
Casual couch pilot, watching capped.tv...
tietze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:17 PM   #9
shamandgg
Veteran
 
shamandgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 3,511
Reputation power: 86
shamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to beholdshamandgg is a splendid one to behold
Default

I have tested it, thanks for quick heads up. It's alive!
TACVIEW records are OK, HELIOS works OK, TARS not tested yet, but I suppose analogy applies OK
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HELIOS+TARS+TACVIEW-fileconfig-with-DCSv1.2.3&above.png
Views:	738
Size:	74.6 KB
ID:	77699  
__________________
:: <51>Shaman
tail# 44 (RU) or 444 (US)
shamandgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 05:33 PM   #10
tietze
Member
 
tietze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 314
Reputation power: 14
tietze is just really nicetietze is just really nice
Send a message via MSN to tietze Send a message via Skype™ to tietze
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0ff View Post
The availability of LoGetObjectById() and LoGetWorldObjects() on multiplayer clients depends on the server setting (in network.cfg):
Code:
server = {
   ...
   allow_object_export = true, -- (default is false).
}
Just to be clear: do one actually need to set this to true for those export scripts to work - does it only affect things when hosting a game/creating a server?
__________________
Please fix the KA-50 bugs :-)

Black Shark: Controller profile & setup, TrackIR profile, pit.
Warthog HOTAS: Lubing the stick and extending the stick.
Posts on howto customize switches in DCS & youtube clip.
Must-have mods for DCS World and KA-50 (mostly JSGME).
Casual couch pilot, watching capped.tv...
tietze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:30 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.