Christopher Nolan's Dunkirk Inspired Skin

Wrench

Hey all.

So I really liked Dunkirk (The movie, not the evacuation)

It actually inspired me to start flying WWII again.

I know it's not the most historically accurate movie ever made, but it's no Braveheart, either.

Anyway,

The "109" in the film have a very distinct Livery, so I thought I'd see what I could do to replicate it.

One error is the wavy pattern on the edges of the two-tone. I was far too lazy to fix that, and figured you'll never notice it in flight. :music_whistling:

I also used wildw1ng's "Hoheitszeichen" Mod, Given that I'm not prone to historical censorship.

**Edit**

So I fixed a few errors and fixed the wavy lines I was hitherto too lazy to do.

Screens:

So here's the main reference image, taken from Warbirdsnews.com:

MLR_2586a.jpg

I a made Hand-Painted Version and a Procedurally Generated version since I'm not that good at painting.

Screens:

Painted:

Fixed version:

1UeqLQ4.png

8qCziFl.jpg

HBHCvgc.jpg

Procedural

IPktW6B.jpg

ed05JfF.jpg

It's nothing special, but it's all set up for JSGME if you'd like to try it yourself.

**EDIT**

Added attachments. Had to separate the two to meet the forums' file size restriction.

BF109 Dunkirk Skins-Painted.zip

BF109 Dunkirk Skins-Rendered.zip

Edited by Wrench
Gave credit for wildw1ng's mod

No need to be so modest, it looks great! Download link?

PC Specs / Hardware: MSI z370 Gaming Plus Mainboard, Intel 8700k @ 5GHz, MSI Sea Hawk 2080 Ti @ 2100MHz, 32GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM

Displays: Philips BDM4065UC 60Hz 4K UHD Screen, Pimax 8KX

Controllers / Peripherals: VPC MongoosT-50, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, modded MS FFB2/CH Combatstick, MFG Crosswind Pedals, Gametrix JetSeat

• 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Very nice skin, I'll try it later!

It is. It's a HA-1112 Buchon. A Bf 109G with a RR Merlin engine. It's the identical '109' that has been used in the old Battle of Britain movie.