DCS WWII Map Discussion - Page 25 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2020, 09:14 PM   #241
tintifaxl
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,053
Default

Try to tone down your shadows - those are eating up quite some fps near the ground.
__________________
Windows 10 64bit, Intel i9-9900@5Ghz, 32 Gig RAM, Palit RTX 2080 TI, 1 TB SSD, 43" 2160p@1440p monitor.
tintifaxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2020, 09:48 PM   #242
JG13~Wulf
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Belgium
Posts: 295
Default

I tried some days ago. It didn't change a lot the fps (maybe 1 or 2).
I think the best think to do is to wait and see for the channel map
__________________
JG13~Wulf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2020, 07:43 AM   #243
Al-Azraq
Junior Member
 
Al-Azraq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JG13~Wulf View Post
I tried some days ago. It didn't change a lot the fps (maybe 1 or 2).
I think the best think to do is to wait and see for the channel map
If you have a high end graphics card, then you will be CPU limited. This means that lowering graphical options that load work on the GPU will not yield a performance increase due to the CPU being the bottleneck. Other options like Terrain Shadows Flat may yield more performance specially in dense tree areas but as I limit my FPS to 60, I will not see any FPS improvement from lowering graphics.

And if you ask yourself why do I limit my FPS having a 1440p, 144 hz, GSYNC monitor, it is because I feel the game smoother if I have stable FPS rather than going to 100 FPS high in the sky and around 52 - 60 when I am low in a dense tree valley. However, I am still trying options in order to find my sweetspot. I will try to unlock frames again today maybe.

The PC is in my signature.
__________________
i7 7700K @ 4,8 | 2x16 gb @ 3200 | EVGA RTX 2080 XC ULTRA | Acer XB271HU 1440P 144HZ | Virpil T-50 CM throttle | Virpil WarBRD Base + WarBRD Grip
Al-Azraq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 05:53 PM   #244
tapi
Junior Member
 
tapi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 53
Default

Normandy map err near Maupertus airfield:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	err02.jpg
Views:	26
Size:	638.2 KB
ID:	225783  
__________________
HW: i7-7700K@OC(delid) to 5.0 GHz, 32 GB RAM, MB ASUS Z270-A, GTX 1080Ti, LCD WQHD G-SYNC 120Hz,TrackIR5, VKB Gunfighter, MFG Crosswind, GVL Throttle, Windows 10 64-bit
tapi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 06:45 PM   #245
gavagai
Senior Member
 
gavagai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronJockel View Post
You would be fine with a map that fits the historical combat area for these aircraft too.
There are hundreds of sim pilots that won't get into DCS, leaving WW2 multiplayer in DCS dead as it is, and that is just sad.
As soon as you make the map and ground assets separate purchases from the airplanes you've decided you don't care about popularity.

Anyway, the DCS WW2 planset is a chronological mismatch, and so is the current map, and so is the future map. I would really like to see an effort to have some consistency moving forward, but it looks like it is too late.
__________________
Ryzen 2700x - AsRock x470 Master SLI/ac - 8gb EVGA 1070 - 32gb Corsair Vengeance LPX ddr4 @3.2ghz - Win 10 - MSFFB2 - CH Pro pedals - TWCS throttle - Trackir 5
gavagai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:20 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.