Ryzen build (half) - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2019, 06:17 PM   #1
thurs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Default Ryzen build (half)

Hi guys. After waiting for the new AMD stuff to I've decided I want to upgrade from my struggling i5-4690k. I'm interested in the 3700x but haven't been keeping up with the tech stuff and want to know if I should get a X470 or X570? Would you guys be able to give me a half build (keeping psu, gpu, ssd, case etc just need need cpu, mb and ram) based on my requirements:

R7-3700X which I will keep stock so no intention to oc

No interest in pci-4

16gb ram not sure what speed

At least 8 USB ports

Also will a 620w evga gold psu be able to handle gtx 1060 6gb and all this new stuff?

Mainly getting it for fps games and il2 and Dcs.

Thanks in advance.
thurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 06:24 PM   #2
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 2,002
Default

I'm reading 3600 mhz is the sweet spot for Ryzen memory . Your power supply is fine . X470 is fine with no interest in pci-4 . Bios will prolly need to be re-flashed , but a bios usb connection and external reflash button makes that very easy .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 06:34 PM   #3
Katj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 23
Default

How can you tell that your CPU is struggling?

I have a gtx 1060 6 gb and a 4670, which is a slightly worse CPU than yours, and I think my CPU is probably good for another upgrade of the GPU. At least I wouldn't upgrade the CPU without upgrading GPU, that's for sure.
Katj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2019, 08:24 PM   #4
thurs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Default

Ah great so performance wise the x470 will perform the same as a x570 just without the extra features? If that's the case I'll go with a x470 then.

DCS isn't the only game I play, but most of them show my cpu very close to 100% most of the time. Tbh it could be my motherboard it's been glitch and broken for a while but I don't see the point in buying a new older motherboard and older cpu. I may as well get something newer.
thurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 04:28 PM   #5
Katj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 23
Default

Well, I suppose it depends on how you use your stuff. If you play FPS games and want high refresh rates at "lowish" graphics settings, then I suppose that you might benefit from a faster CPU.

If I were you I would consider getting a 3600x and save some money for your next graphics card upgrade. But you know best if you will use those extra cores.
Katj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2019, 07:47 PM   #6
DeltaMike
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 290
Default

It's not possible to have too much CPU for dcs. I have my eye on the ryzen 5 3600x, bursts to 4.4 GHz (with a 10% increase in instructions per cycle over gen2) and feel that's well worth the price for dcs. I'd rather have that than more cores or a fancy mobo

Zen2 can't really handle more than 3600mhz ram very well

Whichever Mobo you pick, I'd go to the manufacturer website for ram known to run at rated speed. Maybe the newer boards aren't as picky but still
__________________
Ryzen 5 2600 (4.0GHz), B450M, 16Gb RAM, Vega 56 (undervolt), T16000M, Oculus Rift
DeltaMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 09:47 AM   #7
thurs
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 25
Default

OK thanks guys. I know the 3600 (non x) is close to the 3700x but what's the fps difference between the 3600x and 3700x?

Also DeltaMike, how does your current cpu and gpu handle dcs? How does it run in mp and with vr if you don't mind me asking?
thurs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 01:50 PM   #8
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 2,002
Default

I have since learned of a new wrinkle when considering motherboard series . It seems that to update the bios on an older mb , say b450 or x470 , you must have a cpu installed that the "old" bios will recognize before flashing . Not a problem for upgrading AMD systems , but we Intel guys thinking of Ryzen might be better served with the x570 motherboard , which has the Ryzen 3000 bios already .

EDIT : many MSI and Asus boards can update bios without a cpu installed .
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"

Last edited by Svsmokey; 07-11-2019 at 04:29 AM.
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:28 PM   #9
Pappen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Not by any stretch of the imagination, a scientific test just a quick one and I don't know if it's even stable at this moment...


Tested instant action with F-18 Nevada map Ready on Ramp without doing anything.


2700x 124 FPS
3600 165 FPS



System:
Asus C7H (X470)
Old Proc. 2700x mem. speed @3200 CL14
New Proc. 3600 mem. speed @3600 CL14
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Settings.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	480.3 KB
ID:	213539  

Last edited by Pappen; 07-11-2019 at 05:32 PM.
Pappen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2019, 03:36 PM   #10
Svsmokey
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dystrumpia
Posts: 2,002
Default

Wow . Thanks for that !
(Think you meant 3600 instead of 2600)
__________________
I5-6500 3.2ghz cpu, 16 gb ddr4-2133mhz , Asrock H170M PRO4 , 128gb & 240gb ssd's , 1tb hdd , EVGA 1070 FE , Rift , CH Hotas and pedals , Foxx deskmounts

"Hold my beer"

Last edited by Svsmokey; 07-10-2019 at 03:38 PM.
Svsmokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, motherboard, pc advice

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:55 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.