No sound in SEAD missions - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2019, 07:04 PM   #1
franx
Member
 
franx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 123
Default No sound in SEAD missions

Fellas, I'm getting standard engine and world sounds in my AV8B SEAD missions but no radar or missile growling at all, nor any lock on sound. Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?
__________________
aka MadMonk; Windows 10, 64 bit, Radeon R390 gpu, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition cpu, 32 gig ram; Samsung 850 EVO SSD, Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and HOTAS, Saitek combat rudder pedals.
franx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2019, 08:43 PM   #2
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 851
Default

Did you turn up the volume? It’s middle right panel labeled AUX (1 is for Betty, the other knob is for sidewinder/sidearm)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I3570K @ 4.5Ghz, 16Gb DDR3 @ 2400, Vega64 @1080p
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 12:56 PM   #3
franx
Member
 
franx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 123
Default

That's not it. ;( RWR is working fine, but my Sidearm simply won't growl or lock on or fire. I seem to be following every step properly. Not sure what's going on.
__________________
aka MadMonk; Windows 10, 64 bit, Radeon R390 gpu, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition cpu, 32 gig ram; Samsung 850 EVO SSD, Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and HOTAS, Saitek combat rudder pedals.
franx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:23 PM   #4
SGT Coyle
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 732
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franx View Post
That's not it. ;( RWR is working fine,

Right Console. Not the RWR panel. The ACNIP Panel. There's a double encoder there labeled GND and AUX. The outer knob is for the Betty and Growler. Turn them both all the way up.


Were you getting lock on symbology in the HUD?
__________________
Implement CW and CCW keyboard commands for the encoders!!!!!
For all that is holy and right with the world please!
SGT Coyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:55 PM   #5
franx
Member
 
franx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 123
Default

Thanks SGT! Yes, I'm getting locks and kills, and I've turned up both of the knobs you mention. I get tone about 25-50 percent of the time. It's very erratic. This is either a bug or a problem with my specific install.
__________________
aka MadMonk; Windows 10, 64 bit, Radeon R390 gpu, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition cpu, 32 gig ram; Samsung 850 EVO SSD, Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and HOTAS, Saitek combat rudder pedals.
franx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:57 PM   #6
ricktoberfest
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 851
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by franx View Post
Thanks SGT! Yes, I'm getting locks and kills, and I've turned up both of the knobs you mention. I get tone about 25-50 percent of the time. It's very erratic. This is either a bug or a problem with my specific install.


Sometimes you have to fiddle with the volume knob to get back sound. I’m sure it’s a bug


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I3570K @ 4.5Ghz, 16Gb DDR3 @ 2400, Vega64 @1080p
ricktoberfest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 08:58 AM   #7
Silo01
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 69
Default

I've found, you need to put up the volume after you have taken off, else you won't hear anything
__________________
Louis|Sikk, foundation member of the digital swiss air force, a young group of enthusiasts trying imitate everything that has to do with swiss military aviation.

our youtube chanel:dSAF

our instagram:dSAF

our website:dSAF

If you want to join us, contact us via instagram.

my pc:
Spoiler:
gpu: asus rx580 dual oc
cpu: amd ryzen 5 1600
mobo: gigabyte ga-ab350 gaming
16gb ram
opentrack
logitech x-52
Silo01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 10:23 PM   #8
Slippery Pete
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 76
Default

I don't know about the latest patch, but if you use radio communication to talk to your wingmen, this kills the audio tone for the sidewinder and sidearm. This is a reproducible bug that I could replicate over and over again so I know what was causing it on my end. Telling my wingmen to attack anything would kill the tones for the rest of the mission.
Slippery Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 01:07 AM   #9
franx
Member
 
franx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 123
Default

I’m not using the radio at all. This is software related. I also turn up the volume knob. It makes no difference. Still no tone.
__________________
aka MadMonk; Windows 10, 64 bit, Radeon R390 gpu, AMD FX 8350 Black Edition cpu, 32 gig ram; Samsung 850 EVO SSD, Thrustmaster Warthog throttle and HOTAS, Saitek combat rudder pedals.

Last edited by franx; 05-18-2019 at 08:45 AM.
franx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 11:21 AM   #10
feefifofum
3rd Party Developer
 
feefifofum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,119
Default

Please attach a simple air start track demonstrating the issue, that will help us determine if this is a bug or a case of PEBCAC.
feefifofum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.