Main Radar Inverter in F-86F - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2014, 05:46 PM   #1
Chief1942
Member
 
Chief1942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 735
Default Main Radar Inverter in F-86F

Okay, here's the deal. I started getting this problem out of the blue. Whenever I would start a mission, shortly after the sim opens into the cockpit, the sighting reticle on the HUD disappears and the "Radar Inv" Light on the front panel illuminates. When I put my mouse pointer on the light, the tool tips indicate that the Radar Inverter is OFF. Pretty obvious what with the reticle being gone and all, so how does one turn the Radar Inverter ON? Read the Quick Start Manual, scoured the cockpit for some sort of switch or indicator and no joy. Any idea how this happened and what the solution is?
Chief1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 05:52 PM   #2
Scrim+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 826
Default

I think it's turned on by the armament switch. The only times it's turned off for me in flight has been due to battle damage.
Scrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 05:57 PM   #3
Zee Pet
Junior Member
 
Zee Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 76
Default

Never mind
__________________
||i5-9600k||MSI GTX1070Ti Duke||16GB DDR4 G.SKILL Ripjaws V||Gigabyte Aorus B360||X56||

Last edited by Zee Pet; 07-31-2014 at 05:58 PM. Reason: Nvm
Zee Pet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 06:38 PM   #4
Buzzles
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Northern Europe
Posts: 2,606
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrim View Post
I think it's turned on by the armament switch. The only times it's turned off for me in flight has been due to battle damage.
Or, in relation the inverter light: if you drop below ~40% throttle and stop generating power #
Buzzles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:20 PM   #5
Scrim+
Posting Rights Revoked
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 826
Default

Yep, that too I noticed now you mentioned it. It goes out along with the sight pipper and various other things. So well detailed, I love it.

Though of course it wouldn't explain OP's issue.
Scrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 08:59 PM   #6
Chief1942
Member
 
Chief1942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Arizona
Posts: 735
Default

Took a quick and dirty way to resolve my issue. I simply copied and pasted my F-86F folder from my DCS World Beta and copied it over the one in DCS World (the one I had the issue in). I am still somewhat puzzled at what caused the problem in the first place. I know the reticle can disappear if one uses the Camera Highth adjustment to extremes R-Crtl R-Shift Numpad 2 or 8, but I checked that after the reticle disappeared and it never showed. Guess I will let it be one of those mysteries that are oft the case with Beta releases. Love this F-86F though and my hats off to Belsimtek. Am really looking forward to the final release along with the full manual.
Chief1942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 09:36 AM   #7
krazybiskit
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 81
Default

one turns on the radar inverter by advancing the throttle until engine is ~48%...the inverter is on the engine and at lower engine rpm's the engine isn't going fast enough to get the radar inverter going
krazybiskit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.