DCS F-16 questions - Page 2 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2019, 01:26 PM   #11
EvanWeeks
Junior Member
 
EvanWeeks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dawsonville, GA
Posts: 81
Default

MSL STEP long-press wasn't working for AA mode when I tried it. It did for AG mode.
__________________
Evan "Preacher" Weeks - Dad. Programmer. Virtual Fighter Pilot.
EvanWeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 01:31 PM   #12
Greyman
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 802
Default

https://forums.eagle.ru/showthread.php?t=251390 Might clarify
Greyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 01:35 PM   #13
CVS_Ondras
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greyman View Post

Greyman, thanks.


O.
CVS_Ondras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 07:02 AM   #14
Bouli306
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 200
Default

For Tacam be sure to set the tacan to T/R in the DED.
Bouli306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 03:28 PM   #15
Frederf
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 4,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CVS_Ondras View Post
Hello,
1) is there a way to switch between the AA weapons AIM120 - AIM9 - gun using HOTAS? I haven't figure this one out yet.

2) Should the MAN RNG knob on the throttle change radar range when FCR is SOI?

3) I already managed to got my sorry bottom twice into the flat spin / falling leaf situation during dogfight practice, resulting in one R-73 in my forehead and in one ejction 500ft above ground . Can someone please point me to correct procedure to get out of it?

4) When using TACAN, even when I correctly tune the right frequency, and switch EHSI to the TACAN mode, I always have the range red placarded. Can there be something I do wrong or is it WIP?
1. Missile types are changed by long press of missile step button, but it's not implemented right now. The gun for air to air is selected in the dogfight override mode simultaneous with missiles. For normal AA master mode there is no hands on select you must change from AAM to GUN manually via OSB press. In AA master mode gun and missile are mutually exclusive selections. I don't remember but GUN may not be selectable in MRM override mode.

2. Classic question about range knob. History is that range knob was for manual input of range estimate for air-to-air gunnery in F-16A. It still selects between two distances in LCOS (700' 1500') based on which half of the rotary range. It never changes the FCR distance selection. Since it is a useful control it has been adopted by other systems made later like TGP for zoom. It also applies a minor air-to-ground mapping radar gain correction so pilot can adjust picture. If only using EEGS (which has no use for range input) then absolutely nothing about a knob called "range" has anything to do with range. It's a historical quirk.

4. Check if T-ILS page shows TACAN OFF or REC. Distance feature requires transmit feature "T/R". SEQ to change TACAN modes. Default mode is receive-only.
Frederf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 07:27 PM   #16
Vinny002
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 540
Default

Guys, question for you, how do I recover from the flat spin in DCS f-16? Thanks!!

Cheers,
Vincent
Vinny002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2019, 07:37 PM   #17
bbrz
Senior Member
 
bbrz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny002 View Post
Guys, question for you, how do I recover from the flat spin in DCS f-16? Thanks!!
If there are pitch oscillations as well you can try the pitch override switch and rock the F-16 back and forth in sync with the oscillation to increase the amplitude and hence to force the nose down to get her flying again.

Last edited by bbrz; 10-18-2019 at 07:40 PM.
bbrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:08 AM   #18
Vinny002
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 540
Default

@bbrz: please give me step-by-step instructions? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
Vinny002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:31 AM   #19
Deano87
Senior Member
 
Deano87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2,130
Default

Make sure you’ve bound the MPO (Manual Pitch Override) switch to something easy to find with your non-stick hand, presumably left.

Once it’s obvious that you are in a spin or deep stall as indicated by the nose being near the horizon, high rate of descent, not responding to forward stick to bring the nose down, here are the following steps.

1. Throttle Back
2. Locate the Manual Pitch Override switch (in-front and outboard of the throttle) and select and HOLD it. Visually confirm that the switch stays in the override position.
3. In a similar way to how you would get yourself swinging on a swing, rock the nose of the aircraft up and down with pitch inputs. It’s often better start with a full UP input, followed by full DOWN, continue this as you rock the nose up and down. If you time it correctly (like when using a swing) the movement of the nose will get bigger and bigger. Eventually the nose will get low enough that it will be below the AoA limit of 25 degrees and the aircraft will start flying again normally.
4.Once the aircraft has resumed normal flight (vertically downwards) release the MPO switch and then increase throttle and begin pulling out from the dive.
__________________
Ignore me I’m probably wrong - Now with 42% extra sarcasm - May contain nuts.

Proud owner of:
PointCTRL VR : Finger Trackers for VR -- Real Simulator : FSSB R3L Force Sensing Stick. -- Deltasim : Force Sensor WH Slew Upgrade -- Mach3Ti Ring : Real Flown Mach 3 SR-71 Titanium, made into an amazing ring.

My Fathers Aviation Memoirs: 50 Years of Flying Fun - From Hunter to Spitfire and back again.
My Screenshots

Last edited by Deano87; 10-19-2019 at 01:35 AM.
Deano87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 01:57 AM   #20
mvsgas
Veteran
 
mvsgas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 8,499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny002 View Post
Guys, question for you, how do I recover from the flat spin in DCS f-16? Thanks!!

Cheers,
Vincent
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinny002 View Post
@bbrz: please give me step-by-step instructions? Thanks!

Cheers,
Vincent
Not sure if this can help. These are several AVTR recording while doing testing, you can hear the pilot talking to himself about going up and down with the movement of the nose. Just keep in mind this are test aircraft with specific configuration to test the flight control and may not represent operational F-16 flight control behavior. But the video still show proper recovery procedures.

First one is at 6:21, 7:15 is the second example, 8:22: this one seem severe, the pilot had to use the anti spin chute.

https://forums.eagle.ru/showpost.php...postcount=1143
__________________
To whom it may concern,
I am an idiot, unfortunately for the world, I have a internet connection and a fondness for beer....apologies for that. I shall return shortly to modify, correct or delete my post.
Thank you for you patience.


Ryzen 5 3600, Gygabite X570 AORUS Elite, Corsair vengeance LPX DDR4 3200 32gb, 500g Samsung 970 evo pro, WD blue 3D NAND 2 TB SATA III, video card=Gigabyte RTX 2070, 8gb gddr 6, Joystick=Thrustmaster T-flight Stick X, Track IR, Win10 64
.
mvsgas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.