Launching on DL contacts - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2020, 10:48 AM   #1
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 644
Default Launching on DL contacts

Why is this not a thing? The computer knows where the contact is. Would greatly complement TWS
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 10:52 AM   #2
Matchstick
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 159
Default

The plane was built to a budget, maybe it's a feature that was cut to hit the price point.
Matchstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 11:00 AM   #3
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,234
Default

You can always maddog.

I believe this is a feature of newer PL-12 models and PL-15 with ZDK-03 AWACS
AeriaGloria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 11:19 AM   #4
GIGA_HORSE
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 41
Default

Can any other plane in dcs do that?
GIGA_HORSE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 11:36 AM   #5
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 644
Default

Doesn't radar provide initial guidance to sd10 in TWS mode unlike maddog? All it has to do is do the same but for DL contact. Even a slightly rougher guidance would do wonders for PK compared to my shitty maddog estimate.
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 12:10 PM   #6
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,234
Default

It requires a two way data link I believe, that’s what I always see being said when people talk about this capability.

It’s really only practical with longer ranged missiles seems to be the modern military consensus. For example PL-15 wold have longer range then our JF-17s radar, with such a weapon you would need to be able to fire on DL and be able to cancel and change course mid flight.

I know it sounds easy, but with this similar to Link-16 system it’s still in the dawn of data links era, they are still a pretty immature technology, so I don’t expect too much.
AeriaGloria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 01:27 PM   #7
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 644
Default

i dunno. imagine never turning on your radar at all. even for TWS. and chucking an SD10 that still roughly follows the lead dot. It doesn't seem too much of an ask. as you mentioned before one can still vaguely do it maddog. the computer should be able to do a much better job.
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 01:36 AM   #8
foxwxl
Member
 
foxwxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 414
Default

The plane does not have a MSI capability at current block. PAF can not afford a all-best airplane that will cost too much at that time. And JF-17(at least block I&II) was mainly aimed to replace J-7P, Q-5, Mirage-3,etc ,not the F-16 fleet.

So cost will be its first concern. Aside, F-16 will do the primary air dominance job in PAF.
__________________
Deka Ironwork Tester Team
foxwxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 04:28 AM   #9
shaHeen-1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 644
Default

I don't understand.... The computer should already be able to do this. It's just some software that reads DL contact and guides based on that. We can already roughly do it ourself by aiming maddog where DL contact is going. Computer should be able to do it much better like how it guides in TWS till active.
shaHeen-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:55 AM   #10
foxwxl
Member
 
foxwxl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shaHeen-1 View Post
I don't understand.... The computer should already be able to do this. It's just some software that reads DL contact and guides based on that. We can already roughly do it ourself by aiming maddog where DL contact is going. Computer should be able to do it much better like how it guides in TWS till active.
DL track from surveillance radar may not be that precise in the RL like what we have in the game. Surveillance radar usually use S or L band, which may not suitable for pinpoint a target's exact location, that's why a X band FCR is needed (in most case) to give fire control level of target data.

So a datalink target may not actually at the place where U see it on HSD.

To track a DL target, the plane need to have MSI capability to fuse the DL data into FCR and the FCR should then have a special mode that adjust its AZ/EL to scan a small area(ie. 10deg 4bar) to find the target's actually position.

Personally, I think this function should or already been added to the newer fighters or newer radars.

The things we can access in the game is usually 10-20 years ago,that's quite a long time and the fighter planes are always under continuously upgrading.
__________________
Deka Ironwork Tester Team
foxwxl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:17 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.