How to make a video? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-28-2020, 03:53 PM   #1
Tregarth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 17
Default How to make a video?

I am becoming quite good at landing the F-18 (at least I crash less frequently).

I would like to make a video so I can play it back and admire my skill but cannot see how to do it. I have searched both Chuck's and DCS's manual using terms like record and video with no success.

How can I make a video and where is it stored?

Thank you,

Tregarth
Tregarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 04:01 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,350
Default

Use Fraps, Shadowplay and something similar to record a video.

You could also save the track (at the end of the mission, you can hit "save track") but tracks are usually bugged and unreliable, making these kind of replays random and not what you were actually experiencing.
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 04:39 PM   #3
Tregarth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 17
Default

Thanks for this. I didn't know FRAPS could be used for outside view recording - I thought it could only be used for interior.

Can you "fly" round the F-18 whilst it is landing? That is really something.

Thank you,

Tregarth
Tregarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 04:56 PM   #4
PoorOldSpike
Junior Member
 
PoorOldSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: England
Posts: 61
Default

Well I made this vid 15 minutes ago with FRAPS of my superb landing attempt on a carrier, but I somehow botched the quality (I'm not a geek), is the link showing ok in this post?


PS- yeah I know I shouldn't have tried to be smart by flaring, and to rub in salt I was too slow reaching for the eject button (sniffle)..


https://youtu.be/3goWD6dtC9U

Last edited by PoorOldSpike; 03-28-2020 at 05:02 PM.
PoorOldSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 04:57 PM   #5
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tregarth View Post
Thanks for this. I didn't know FRAPS could be used for outside view recording - I thought it could only be used for interior.

Can you "fly" round the F-18 whilst it is landing? That is really something.

Thank you,

Tregarth
It records whatever perspective you are in at that moment.
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 06:16 PM   #6
Raisuli
Member
 
Raisuli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 577
Default

I use OBS studio, but I also use track files to get different angles. OBS just records what's on your screen.
Raisuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 06:26 PM   #7
PoorOldSpike
Junior Member
 
PoorOldSpike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: England
Posts: 61
Default

After shooting a vid with Fraps and moving it to desktop, I then usually open it with 'Movie Maker' to crop out the bits I don't want.
Then I upload it to youtube then pick up the link to post in forums.
I haven't done all that for ages so am rusty which is why the definition of my vid was terrible, it's my fault not FRAPS or anybody elses.
PoorOldSpike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 10:52 AM   #8
Tregarth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 17
Default

Poor Old Spike, thank you for your reply, sorry you have written off one of Mr Trump's aeroplanes, but he has plenty more.

I have tried FRAPS; thank you for the answer. I find it odd that both X-Plane and FSX supply a video capture command but DCS expects you to pay money for FRAPS.

DCS is becoming a disappointment to me. Knowing what I know now I would not have bought it and would not recommend it to any one else.
Tregarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 11:01 AM   #9
Eight Ball
Senior Member
 
Eight Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bubbelgium
Posts: 1,692
Default

Have a look here: Record AVI Tool

EDIT: this might be useful too: DCS cameras, views and video recording

Last edited by Eight Ball; 03-31-2020 at 12:15 PM.
Eight Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2020, 12:42 PM   #10
Limaro
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 28
Default

If you have a Nvidia graphic card, you could use the native recording application from Nvidia Geforce Experiance. If already installed, and it may alread be active, just press Alt+Z.
__________________
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit - AMD Ryzen 3700X - Zotac 2080 Super - LG 32" 4k Display - Logitech X56 Hotas
Limaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:24 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.