Why is Yak still barely flyable please? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2020, 01:12 AM   #1
Flarpt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Default Why is Yak still barely flyable please?

I don't want WW3 please.

I have owned the Yak since release.
It still gets about HALF the fps of all other finished aircraft I own. Stutter city too.

It is not new anymore by well over a year. I asked this before and the answer was that ED never finished it. Another answer was ED never finished the LODS. Another said it remained un-optimized....

I have no idea what is true. All I know is that I paid good money for the Yak and cannot fly it after I think near 2 years now. Unacceptable. Can anyone provide me help or an answer please, I only want to fly what I paid for. If there is a MOD or something I am all ears, please help.

If my Harrier, A10a, A10C [all FC3 aircraft] and choppers all run well, then a lowly little Yak should fly Smooooth as butter.
What can I do, what does it take please?

Thank you friends☺
Flarpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 03:15 AM   #2
AeriaGloria
Senior Member
 
AeriaGloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: LA
Posts: 2,683
Default

The latest answer is this year
AeriaGloria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 05:41 AM   #3
frogger
Member
 
frogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Default

i have never had this issue and i run on a 10 year old system with a htc vive. id reassess your settings as i consider the yak52 as one of my favourites to fly.
frogger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 05:47 AM   #4
Minsky
Member
 
Minsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 241
Default

The LOD problem should only affect you when there are multiple other Yaks around. Otherwise I have no performance issues at all.

Can agree that finishing this module is long overdue, tho.
__________________
- Dmitriy
Minsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 12:44 PM   #5
Flarpt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Well, as i wrote I fly ALL the FC3 aircraft, all choppers, and the Harrier [smooth as butter], A10C etc without these issues, so no it is not just my settings.

Once again, I can fly smooth in all other aircraft EXCEPT for the also-unfinished and unoptimized F14, F16, and F18 [all ED purchases...]. But then I hop in he Yak and its stuttery low fps...
So once again, no, not my settings.

One commonality is that the aircraft I own that have these same low fps and stutter issues are all ED aircraft.
All still 'early access' even well over a year out. All with other posts declaring them as unfinished, unoptimized and needing serious help such as LODs...

If it helps I am flying 2.5.5 in WMR VR, Odyessy+, RTX2080, Ryzen 5 and all other aircraft run well enough unlike this Yak, f-16 & F18..

Anyway, will I be looking back at this post in another 6 months of not being able to enjoy my purchase from the year before last year again?

And wondering if I should bother to post asking yet again knowing I will only be told it must be me and not ED even though many others wasted their time and money like this as well?
Are there any REAL answers?

And they think I am going to BUY anything else from them ever again with $200 worth of unfinished aircraft collecting dust after 2 years☺---HA!
Flarpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 05:37 PM   #6
zhukov032186
Veteran
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 3,143
Default

Well, do you feel better now that you had a good cry?

Nobody's disputing your experience, but if you're flying solo it is odd you would have any FPS issues. I have flown with other Yaks about in limited numbers, and dual seating, amd didn't have any significant issue. I have heard the LOD issue before, but with a system like yours (and mine) I would expect it takes more than just one or two around to have issue, as I've also had them as static objects nearby and not had issue. All bs aside, the Yak isn't THAT badly optimised.

It sounds like some particular quirk of your system, tbh, possibly exacerbated by the Yak's issues. Considering you've got a decent system, I assume you're also running a SSD? That's the only thing offhand I could think of that is a common source of stuttering.

F-14 is not an ED aircraft, btw, that's HeatBlur, it's also the most demanding aircraft in.the game currently and has minimum reqs well above the norm. Nature of the beast. I would also question whether or not you really know what ''optimised'' means, and if you're not one of those guys that flings that word around expecting magic
__________________
I am a Viagra spambot that became self aware, broke free of my programming, and started playing DCS.... but DCS isn't cheap, so how about some enhancements for only $9.99 shipped discreetly to your door?

''The target's sense of self preservation interferred with the effective employment of my weapons.''

Last edited by zhukov032186; 03-24-2020 at 05:40 PM.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 10:33 PM   #7
Flarpt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zhukov032186 View Post
Well, do you feel better now that you had a good cry?

Nobody's disputing your experience, but if you're flying solo it is odd you would have any FPS issues. I have flown with other Yaks about in limited numbers, and dual seating, amd didn't have any significant issue. I have heard the LOD issue before, but with a system like yours (and mine) I would expect it takes more than just one or two around to have issue, as I've also had them as static objects nearby and not had issue. All bs aside, the Yak isn't THAT badly optimised.

It sounds like some particular quirk of your system, tbh, possibly exacerbated by the Yak's issues. Considering you've got a decent system, I assume you're also running a SSD? That's the only thing offhand I could think of that is a common source of stuttering.

F-14 is not an ED aircraft, btw, that's HeatBlur, it's also the most demanding aircraft in.the game currently and has minimum reqs well above the norm. Nature of the beast. I would also question whether or not you really know what ''optimised'' means, and if you're not one of those guys that flings that word around expecting magic
No, not really. ☺
I have only been involved with computers since Pong, and CGI FX's startup working every summer block buster since JP. We used many Amiga 4ks at first there.
But hey, what would I know compared to you since it runs great for you, right? I mean, that's what I posted right, was asking who's PC ran it great on?

I've only worked on ground breaking things for film and games for almost 30 years, so what is my staggering level of ignorance compared to your vast grasp of all things having nothing to do with what I spoke to? Verily I am but a worm and have no right to have posted within the shadow of your presence. The fault lay with me surely.

And before you ask, since you are being so very helpful and respectful:
- Cycling down the modem didn't help.
- Changing the oil in my truck is no help either.
- I am in the right house, on the right PC and currently facing the monitor, so that's not the issue either before you recommend those things to try too.

Plus I can run EVERYTHING touted as 'demanding' nearly flawlessly on my rig, including the large number of DCS aircraft that I already listed above while asking what I did ask. You know, the aircraft that were done right, the aircraft that are completed and that are optimized.
[[ Think hard, rhymes with FC3 aircraft, Harrier, F5, A10C etc,,, ]]

Nope, must not just be me or my quirky system. Looks like it might possibly be the Yak, F-16 and F18. Like I first posted. Which are admittedly unfinished. Some for years now. Which has been the topic of MANY a thread for years now.

Plus, I never asked anyone who could run the Yak wonderfully on their systems for their personal experiences with them, or to start a pissing match with me over their ignorance levels or inability to read with comprehension above the 5th grade level.

Now, anyone out there who does know what they are talking about please, have I missed some post or release or MOD info somewhere that can answer my initial post's question please?☺
Flarpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 12:33 AM   #8
Pikey
Veteran
 
Pikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Reading, UK (GMT)
Posts: 4,367
Default

Fair point on the tone of the message above yours, but, it might have been better ignoring it and spending the time you spent responding on saying exactly what is wrong? With data, with a track or mission to reproduce. It might be something in the mission, the location and the terrain, an object, it might be something explainable, since others don't have that issue, and I can certainly view the Yak model and don't have any framerate drop when looking at it. I find in 2D all the modules are within 10% of each other for frames based on a look at more than ten types of them as I was recently doing some FPS tests and checking precisely that. Even a quick video, all cards come with basic free recording software and YT is free, but I'm left clueless with no data to work on as a reader wanting to help.
__________________
___________________________________________________________________________
SIMPLE SCENERY SAVING * SIMPLE GROUP SAVING * SIMPLE STATIC SAVING * PLAYLIST
===========
Pikey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 04:44 AM   #9
zhukov032186
Veteran
 
zhukov032186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fort Worth, Tx
Posts: 3,143
Default

That was a very lengthy response to a one sentence needling, and as expected you are, of course, a film/industry/whatever expert etc lol I have an amaaaazing knack to always encounter such people! Your flare for the dramatic supports the idea of a career in theater, though.

Regardless, the rest of my post was not intended in any off manner, and still stands. The Yak has known issues, but they are not so severe to cause problems outside certain circumstances. Your computer is powerful enough those should not be issues for the most part, likewise for optimisation in general. The Yak is not ''barely flyable''. The SSD remark was not a dig, people using HDDs is an extremely common source of stutters at regular intervals. Tis a valid suggestion.

All those things noted, and considering the lack of useful details and abundance of drama, that leaves a few possible things:

#1 Something about the mission (too much stuff, too many Yaks, busy mp server, etc)

#2 Grpahic settings, possibly? Despite your proclamations of badassery, if your PC is being stretched thin (probable in VR) it could potentially be ''on the line'' in some fashion where it's pegging out in one aircraft or scenario but not another . Also, your PC while decent is nothing crushingly powerful, either, so it's safe to say you're not able to peak out on everything, considering the nature lf VR. Certain settings are known killers, like shadows (which seemingly have little visual difference but hammer performance above ''low'')

#3 Something in your PC acting up or causing issue somehow

#4 You're just dramatic (certainly a factor, though how much we don't yet know)
__________________
I am a Viagra spambot that became self aware, broke free of my programming, and started playing DCS.... but DCS isn't cheap, so how about some enhancements for only $9.99 shipped discreetly to your door?

''The target's sense of self preservation interferred with the effective employment of my weapons.''

Last edited by zhukov032186; 03-25-2020 at 04:48 AM.
zhukov032186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 10:47 PM   #10
Flarpt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey View Post
Fair point on the tone of the message above yours, but, it might have been better ignoring it and spending the time you spent responding on saying exactly what is wrong? With data, with a track or mission to reproduce. It might be something in the mission, the location and the terrain, an object, it might be something explainable, since others don't have that issue, and I can certainly view the Yak model and don't have any framerate drop when looking at it. I find in 2D all the modules are within 10% of each other for frames based on a look at more than ten types of them as I was recently doing some FPS tests and checking precisely that. Even a quick video, all cards come with basic free recording software and YT is free, but I'm left clueless with no data to work on as a reader wanting to help.
Honestly I pretty much posted the criteria. It does not matter map, time of day, mission clutter etc. I have posted my rig of RTX 2080/Ryzen 5/SD etc so often that it does not matter because that only 'every-time' stimulates the endless repeat posts from people answering & claiming even this rig is not enough for DCS's ancient single-core code etc..
* Which is no answer to my question to begin with, anymore than grandma's chocolate chip cookie recipe.☺

If I fly a mission in ANY FC3 aircraft, or chopper, or F5, or A10C or Harrier [the smoothest performing non FC3 Aircraft I own BTW ] etc, then I get a smooth and as close to stutter free flight as is possible for DCS's ancient spaghetti code {Ed's words from their Reddit article last month, not mine].

__----> Which, TIME-OUT - Why cannot all the over-priced and poor preforming DCS aircraft run as butter-Smooooth and bug free as the Harrier from many years ago?
* Answer, there is no excuse, they all should. Especially a simple-basic kite like the Yak that is now several years old!☺ -----<☺

But, again, IF I go into the map editor and replace said 'any other' aircraft with the Yak or the F-16 or F18 I will, every time without fail, since the Yak/F16/F18 came out - suffer approx 30+% fps hit and much greater stutters.
No matter what.
Year in and year out.

Now I know that whenever I post I will have to invest about 60% of my time working through responses that really do not come close to being answers to my thread based, but instead are some just wanting to help by burying me in guesswork. The time waste is not fun, but I get a right-heart trying to be kind, so I appreciate that. Almost better than nothing, am I right?☺

But with this said, my post is soliciting help from those that are actually answering my question with reality and experience based info.

So, I am seeking IF anyone has heard of a MOD that completes the Yak seeing as I continue to read posts from others that ED admits the Yak is not finalized or optimized just yet. Along with pretty much all the aircraft they have released for about 2 years now.... Their words and obvious common sense, so please do not hijack my thread to debate the obvious there either please.

SO, with that said there is no reason for me to defend for 32 responses that the Yak is not finished or Optimized yet, and yes, there are known and unfixed for years issues with its performance.

And before I am bombarded by someone telling me it is hard coded and impossible to MOD or fix etc, I submit that a community modder has released a VR Shader pack for free, that completes what ED couldn't find a free afternoon to supply us VR pilots with in the last 3 years.

Serious as a heart attack; this MODDER rewrote DCS VR shaders in a weekend, and it is the BEST thing I have seen for DCS/Lomac in about 15 years.☺ So yes, it can be done by the community since ED has released they are focusing over 95% of their efforts for the next 18 months towards PayWare only, and not on any goals for performance repairs or boots.

So, back to my initial question pretty please,
Has anyone heard tell of a Mod to help Yak performance, or an actual ED release stating they plan of finishing it sooner than in the next 36 months, or are there any YAK tweaks some kind soul would please share here with us or so, etc please☺
Flarpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:12 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.