Stable v Open Beta - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2020, 06:52 PM   #1
Bengal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 9
Default Stable v Open Beta

New to DCS but loving it. I'm a WW2 guy playing via Steam. Wish I would've understood I could've had downloaded it direct and end up doing that.

Through multiple threads it sounds like I need to be in Open Beta and not Stable. But it sounds like this changes constantly so is worth it to do all that only to have the OB converted to Stable a week later?

Am I thinking about this right?
Bengal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 07:16 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,329
Default

Open Beta is where most things are, new features and multiplayer servers, but if you come across a bug, you are not allowed to cry because it is beta. (short summary of it)

Is it worth? Yeah, if you can look besides the fact that betas are buggy as hell, yes (staying always at open beta that is).
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 07:17 PM   #3
Wolf333
Member
 
Wolf333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 217
Default

Open Beta is has more frequent changes and therefore is updated more often. When a module first comes out of pre-sale, it is only playable on open beta - until it is stable enough (most of the bugs worked out) to go to the stable release platform. An example of this is the JF-17 is on OB only right now; also newly added features to planes like the FA-18C and the F-16C, etc. get loaded to OB first.

So! If you want to be a true beta tester - meaning you are open to experiencing some problems and bugs, and reporting them, and not be frustrated with them - and you like getting access to the new stuff faster, then OB is a good way to go. If not, then your best bet is to stay with the stable release.

Another option - if you have the disk space - is to install both.
__________________
Rig: Alienware Aurora R9 - 9th Gen Core i7 9700K 4.6GHz 8 Cores | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB GDDR6 | 2TB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD | 32GB Dual Channel HyperX FURY DDR4 XMP at 2933MHz | TM Warthog HOTAS w/F-18 grip | Logitech G Pro RP | TM Cougar MFDs | TrackIR 5 Pro |

Modules: FC3 | F/A-18C | F-16C | A-10C | F-14 | M-2000C | AV-8B | F-5E | JF-17 | P-51D | KA-50 | UH-1H | Supercarrier | Nevada | Persian Gulf
Wolf333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2020, 07:19 PM   #4
Wolf333
Member
 
Wolf333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 217
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
Open Beta is where most things are, new features and multiplayer servers, but if you come across a bug, you are not allowed to cry because it is beta. (short summary of it)

Is it worth? Yeah, if you can look besides the fact that betas are buggy as hell, yes (staying always at open beta that is).
+1
__________________
Rig: Alienware Aurora R9 - 9th Gen Core i7 9700K 4.6GHz 8 Cores | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER 8GB GDDR6 | 2TB M.2 PCIe NVMe SSD | 32GB Dual Channel HyperX FURY DDR4 XMP at 2933MHz | TM Warthog HOTAS w/F-18 grip | Logitech G Pro RP | TM Cougar MFDs | TrackIR 5 Pro |

Modules: FC3 | F/A-18C | F-16C | A-10C | F-14 | M-2000C | AV-8B | F-5E | JF-17 | P-51D | KA-50 | UH-1H | Supercarrier | Nevada | Persian Gulf
Wolf333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 04:37 AM   #5
danvac
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by razo+r View Post
Open Beta is where most things are, new features and multiplayer servers, but if you come across a bug, you are not allowed to cry because it is beta. (short summary of it)

Is it worth? Yeah, if you can look besides the fact that betas are buggy as hell, yes (staying always at open beta that is).
-1 Open Beta contains a few new features, usually half completed or broken.

Anyway most of people are not able to wait one month until beta moves to "stable"... so congratulations, you are becoming community enforced beta tester. (Currently is "stable" 3 month old, because open beta is broken more...)
danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 07:14 AM   #6
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danvac View Post
-1 Open Beta contains a few new features, usually half completed or broken.
Well, I'm one of those forever open beta players and I'm very happy with it. I haven't had any major issues with it in over a year (and probably even much longer than that). Sure, there are the usual small issues that come with each beta update, while other issues are getting fixed at the same time, but there nothing gamebreaking for me in a looong time.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 08:49 AM   #7
danvac
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 304
Default

@QuiGon, so if there were not any gamebreaking issues, why BlueFlag was not using latest open beta for some time?
danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 08:57 AM   #8
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,731
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by danvac View Post
@QuiGon, so if there were not any gamebreaking issues, why BlueFlag was not using latest open beta for some time?
That was much more than a year ago when they did that, because there have been gamebreaking issues indeed at one point, but this was much more than a year ago.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 09:10 AM   #9
danvac
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 304
Default

@QuiGon, let me remind you February this year...

danvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2020, 09:15 AM   #10
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,731
Default

I must have missed this and the mentioned DCS issues, as I was on vacation for 1.5 weeks starting on the 14th.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!


Last edited by QuiGon; 03-25-2020 at 11:03 AM.
QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:02 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.