Harrier CAS page update - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2020, 05:35 PM   #1
=DECOY=
Senior Member
 
=DECOY='s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: West Sussex, United Kingdom
Posts: 2,278
Default Harrier CAS page update

Just wanted to share. Zeus is currently working on the Harrier

The CAS Brief editing is enabled, its its still WiP and being worked on


ATHS/CAS Update:
1. Now it is possible to create, edit and delete CAS briefings using the MPCD/UFC/ODU.
2. For creating, editing:
2.1 Clicking on the CAS button when the CAS brief is in the display toggles editing mode on/off.
2.2 A '*' will be shown indicating the field to be edited.
2.3 Field 14 (TOT) is the default field.
2.4 To change fields, you must click on the Up Arrow/Down Arrow buttons. The '*' will move up or down.
2.5 The UFC/OUD will change modes based on the current field to be edited.
2.6 Some fields cannot be changed in the UFC. For these field two buttons: UP/DOWN will appear in the MPCD. Clicking on these buttons will change the available options. The UFC will display the selected option.
2.7 To set a target position there are two ways:
2.7.1 By inserting a Lat/Lon coordinate (Field 6)
2.7.2 By Polar coordinates (bearing and distance):
2.7.3 Polar coordinates requirements:
2.7.3.1 An Initial Point or IP (Field 1). It can be any flight plan waypoint. This will be the starting point for the attack run.
2.7.3.2 Bearing from IP (Field 2). Any value between 0 to 359.9
2.7.3.3 Distance from IP in nautical miles (Field 3). Any value greater than 0. Values greater than 100 will be assumed to be in meters and will be converted into nautical miles.
2.8 To complete the target position, its elevation must be entered (Field 4). Value is in feet (-2000 to 25000)
2.9 NOTE: Modifying the target position in an ACTIVE CAS record does not update the associated targetpoint(s). The ACTIVE record will be set as NOT ACTIVE. To use the new position the targetpoint(s) must be reselected.
2.10 Field 5 indicates type of target. Type is fixed and can be selected by pressing UP/DOWN buttons when the field is being edited.
2.11 Field 7 indicates how the target will be marked. If it is being maked by a laser, the laser code must be included.
2.12 Field 8 and Field 9 have a DIRection component. This relates to specific points of the compass (i.e: North, North East, etc.)
2.13 Field 8 Indicates direction and distance to friendly forces (if any) in relation to the target position. Distance is in meters (max value is 10000 meters).
2.14 Field 9 Indicates egress route from the target. You can select up to 3 flight plan waypoints (CP1, CP2 and CP3) for determining an egress route. DIR indicates direction of egress for the escape route.
2.15 Field 13 is for mission remarks and observations. It is not enabled.
2.14 Field 14 is for selecting a Time-On-Target (TOT) value. Not enabled at this time.
2.15 To save the changes, you must click on the SAVE button. If you are creating a new record, an internal ID will be generated.
2.16 If the number of CAS records is greater than 18, the first record will be deleted to make space for the new one.
2.17 Clicking on the PCLR button will clear the display and set the page into edit mode for creating a new record.
3. To delete a record
3.1 Record deletion is only available in the RECALL page
3.2 Place the '*' cursor on the record to be deleted by using the Up Arrow/Down Arrow buttons.
3.4 On the ODU click the ERAS (erase) option (Option 2).
3.3 NOTE: Deleting an ACTIVE CAS record does not clear the associated targetpoint(s).

F10 Map updates:
1. The F10 Map will ignore any mark that does not have the label begin with TNN format, where N is any number between 0 to 9.
2. The F10 Map will save the name of the pilot who created the mark. It will be displayed in the CAS page as FAC. (WiP)
3. The F10 Map will process all marks but only the last 18 will be saved to the CAS page. For example, if there are 24 marks, only the last 18 will be saved. The first 6 will be discarded and marked as processed.
4. The F10 Map will not reload a processed record, even if it was never saved to the CAS page.
5. The F10 Map will not reload a deleted record.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_200122_125115-1.jpg
Views:	1556
Size:	703.0 KB
ID:	225583  
__________________


Water cooled i9-9900K | Maximus Code XI MB | 2080ti | 64GB DDR4 Ram | Virpil T50 | Warthog Throttle | Saitek Peddles | Rift S
Razbam Website | Facebook Page | Offical Razbam YouTube Channel



Last edited by Zeus67; 01-23-2020 at 08:14 PM.
=DECOY= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 05:58 PM   #2
Britchot
Member
 
Britchot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lancaster, CA
Posts: 502
Default

Lovely, thank you!
__________________

CPU - Intel 8088 @ 4.77 MHz; Memory - 128KB; 360KB
double-sided
5 1/4" full-height floppy disk drive; 10MB Seagate ST-412 hard drive
JG-1 MiG-21bis Checklist
Britchot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2020, 11:55 PM   #3
Konovalov
Member
 
Konovalov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 639
Default

Looks promising.
__________________
Intel i7-8700K | Asus Maximus X Formula | Corsair Vengeance 32GB DDR4 3200MHz | Gainward Phoenix GTX1070 GLH | Samsung 960 EVO NVMe 1 x 250GB OS & 1 x 500GB Games | Corsair RM750x 750W | Corsair Carbide Air 540| Win10 | Dell 27" 1440p 60Hz | Custom water loop: CPU EK-Supremacy EVO, GPU EK-GTX JetStream - Acetal+Nickel & Backplate, Radiator EK-Coolstream PE 360, Pump & Res EK-XRES 140 Revo D5, Fans 3 x EK-Vardar 120mm & 2 x Corsair ML140 140mm
Konovalov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 09:03 AM   #4
LastRifleRound+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 692
Default

Asking earnestly here, what's the practical application of this?
LastRifleRound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 09:20 AM   #5
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
Asking earnestly here, what's the practical application of this?
CAS
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:13 AM   #6
Fri13
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 4,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
Asking earnestly here, what's the practical application of this?
You do not need to receive 9-ball or anything over radio, as JTAC can send the targets over datalink to your computer, and you get to see what there is. You can as well send your TPOD video feed back to JTAC terminal, where they can draw over it to tell you back that what they want you to strike or use otherwise tactically, like where are own troops, where is enemy, where is assets etc.

In fast moments there is no time for JTAC or anything like that. You have radio contact with the troops on the ground and they talk directly to you what they see, where they are, where enemy is etc. In case of difficulties own troops use smoke grenades to create a visual landmarks that you can easily then spot, like red smoke to their rear side and green smoke to toward enemy (or smoke the enemy position). And then you can easily find where own troops are and on what direction from that position the enemy is etc. No need to tell any coordinates or like. But it requires that pilot has visual contact with the area and not flying 20nm from them and trying to get a JDAM or JSOW there. So that method doesn't work when a B-52 is giving close air support, as then you definitely require a coordinates and all.
__________________
i7-8700k, 32GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 2x 2080S SLI 8GB, Oculus Rift S.
i7-8700k, 16GB 2666Mhz DDR4, 1080Ti 11GB, 27" 4K, 65" HDR 4K.
Fri13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:13 AM   #7
LastRifleRound+
Posting Rights Suspended
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 692
Default

Not sure how playing with already known data helps with the CAS mission
LastRifleRound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:16 AM   #8
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
Not sure how playing with already known data helps with the CAS mission
Already known data? What do you mean?
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 10:58 AM   #9
Captain Orso
Senior Member
 
Captain Orso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 2,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastRifleRound View Post
Not sure how playing with already known data helps with the CAS mission
In Real-Life™ you are also getting targets assigned through your command structure. Target coordinates are programmed into the CAS page before you climb into the cockpit. You just call them up and attack them - very vaguely simplified.

In DCS in dynamic campaigns for example or long missions with a constantly changing situation and opposing players controlling enemy units, there would be no way for this to be done for the player. He has to make out his own targets on the map or have their coordinates presented to him.

With this system he can punch them into CAS himself, or use the F10 map to mark location and then transfer them from F10 map markers to the CAS page.
__________________
When you hit the wrong button on take-off


System Specs.
Spoiler:
System board ... MSI X99A GAMING 9 ACK
CPU ............ Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3800MHz per OC Genie
CPU cooling .... Noctua NH-D15
Memory ......... 16GB DDR4-3000 G.Skill Ripjaw
PSU ............ Corsair AX860i PSU
Graphics card .. Zotac Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Amp! Extreme
System disk .... SanDisk Extreme PRO 480GB SSD
Monitor ........ ASUS MG279Q, 27"
VR ............. Oculus Rift CV1
Captain Orso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2020, 11:05 AM   #10
QuiGon
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 13,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Orso View Post
In Real-Life™ you are also getting targets assigned through your command structure. Target coordinates are programmed into the CAS page before you climb into the cockpit. You just call them up and attack them - very vaguely simplified.
Uhm, that's not CAS then, but a classic strike mission. CAS is always a dynamic situation, as you support troops on the ground that are in contact with the enemy. Such situations are way too dynamic to be programmed before you climb into the cockpit.
__________________
Intel i7-4790K @ 4x4GHz + 16 GB DDR3 + Nvidia Geforce RTX 2080 (8 GB VRAM) + Windows 10 64Bit

DCS Panavia Tornado (IDS) really needs to be a thing!

QuiGon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:39 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.