Guard Frequency - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2020, 05:22 PM   #1
Grodlund
Member
 
Grodlund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: GBG, Sweden
Posts: 197
Default Guard Frequency

Hey dudes
How do you edit the Guard Frequency?
I have tried to figure it out, but failed

When you click EMG on the UFC, you can select UHF or VHF and see the default frequencies, but clicking the arrow buttons to edit them does nothing.

Not much luck using the radio panel either.

Plzhelpmkay?
__________________
"Your pumping days are over, Megatron!" -Optimus Prime
"This calls for a very special blend of psychology and extreme violence" -Vyvian
Grodlund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 05:35 PM   #2
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,395
Default

The Guard frequencies are for emergency use, and thus can’t be changed. They are:

UHF : 243 MHz AM
VHF : 121.5 MHz AM

Here are a few notes on the radio use, that I wrote for my kneeboard, hope you may find them useful:

https://1drv.ms/b/s!Ai6cuX3YQI26hoRVzu-VR9reKBY-EQ
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB

Last edited by Rudel_chw; 01-11-2020 at 05:38 PM.
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 05:44 PM   #3
Grodlund
Member
 
Grodlund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: GBG, Sweden
Posts: 197
Default

Ack!
That kind of sux now, doesn't it.
I wanted to tune the Guard to the AWACS channel.

So.
We have one radio dedicated to Datalink.
And one for talking. Basically you have to be talking over the AWACS/EWR all the time then.

Unless you by cheer luck happen to have the AWACS on 243 XD
__________________
"Your pumping days are over, Megatron!" -Optimus Prime
"This calls for a very special blend of psychology and extreme violence" -Vyvian
Grodlund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 06:30 PM   #4
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,395
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
Ack!
That kind of sux now, doesn't it.
I wanted to tune the Guard to the AWACS channel.

No, it doesnt .. if every pilot tuned the Guard to whichever frequency they fancied, then when a real emergency call was made, no one would hear it, as everyone would have the Guard on different frequencies.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - MSI GTX970 - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 06:50 PM   #5
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
Ack!
That kind of sux now, doesn't it.
I wanted to tune the Guard to the AWACS channel.

So.
We have one radio dedicated to Datalink.
And one for talking. Basically you have to be talking over the AWACS/EWR all the time then.

Unless you by cheer luck happen to have the AWACS on 243 XD
The idea of the Guard frequency for emergency is to have a frequency that every aircraft can use to talk to others or ground e.g. airports in case big an emergency in flight. E. g. a fighter jet intercepts a civilian plane that is nearing a restricted airspace. As shooting down civilian plane isn't that popular in most parts of the world, the pilot can approach the plane and if the civilian pilot sees him switch to guard and can advise him to alter course, before he needs to shoot him down.
The frequency is fixed around the world, so it works universally.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 12:08 AM   #6
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 6,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
Ack!
That kind of sux now, doesn't it.
I wanted to tune the Guard to the AWACS channel.

So.
We have one radio dedicated to Datalink.
And one for talking. Basically you have to be talking over the AWACS/EWR all the time then.

Unless you by cheer luck happen to have the AWACS on 243 XD
Seriously?

The Guard channel is the GUARD channel. its not for tuning awacs. Its for listening to downed pilots or other emergencies. Not the least bit Sorry if that doesn't "work for you".
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 06:51 AM   #7
Grodlund
Member
 
Grodlund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: GBG, Sweden
Posts: 197
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Seriously?

The Guard channel is the GUARD channel. its not for tuning awacs. Its for listening to downed pilots or other emergencies. Not the least bit Sorry if that doesn't "work for you".
I didn't ask for you to be sorry. And I don't need it either.
Listening to downed pilots might be useful in real life.
In this game however, it's not.

In this game it's useful to have a radio for AWACS/EWR.
That's why I asked.

But thx. You may keep your sorries
__________________
"Your pumping days are over, Megatron!" -Optimus Prime
"This calls for a very special blend of psychology and extreme violence" -Vyvian
Grodlund is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 09:49 AM   #8
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
I didn't ask for you to be sorry. And I don't need it either.

Listening to downed pilots might be useful in real life.

In this game however, it's not.



In this game it's useful to have a radio for AWACS/EWR.

That's why I asked.



But thx. You may keep your sorries
I hate to break the news, but this is the wrong Simulation for you, if you expect to get magical toys and tools beyond what the real plane provides.
There are cheats and options provided to ease your handling of devices and reduce your workload, but Guard Frequency is a fixed frequency circuit and not a third radio.
It cannot(!) be changed by the pilot. Its purpose forbids this and it is way more than "listening to downed pilots".
A simple way to switch between frequencies are the channel presets. That might help.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 03:41 PM   #9
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 6,328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
I didn't ask for you to be sorry. And I don't need it either.
Listening to downed pilots might be useful in real life.
In this game however, it's not.

In this game it's useful to have a radio for AWACS/EWR.
That's why I asked.

But thx. You may keep your sorries


The Jeff has 2 radios one of which you typically use for the D/L, and its a very real IRL limitation of the air frame, and it increases pilot workload. You know "real simulator" issues. And honestly its not hard to punch in a different freq when you need it.

Same thing with the CM programs, unlike western jets getting a separate flare/chaff dispense button? Not there. Again, a limitation of the airframe.

Don't like it? Need Haxxx? Well, maybe this isn't the game for you.

Ace combat is that way... ---->
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 05:47 PM   #10
Terrorban
Member
 
Terrorban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grodlund View Post
I didn't ask for you to be sorry. And I don't need it either.
Listening to downed pilots might be useful in real life.
In this game however, it's not.

In this game it's useful to have a radio for AWACS/EWR.
That's why I asked.

But thx. You may keep your sorries
I understand your frustration but cannot agree with your reasoning. The best bet you might have is to request someone to mod it in for you instead of expecting the developers to tweak the simulation.

Most people here spend weeks debating if functions on this simulator are reaslistic enough when compared with the actual thing. You are asking for the opposite so you can see from the responses that this is probably not the best place or software for these kinds of questions and arguements.

Calling it a game wont change the fact that this is a game within the "simulation" category and its main selling point is the incredible level of detail when compared with the real aircrafts.

These are 3RD Party Developers so if one does something for the sake of gameplay, please do not expect that all the other developers will follow through with that rule.

I have seen people talk that the developers will eventually add another radio into this jet but so far I did not find any official statement so not sure about the validity of that information. I guess we will find out when they discuss the AAR function.

I hope this helps and wish you a nice time flying.
__________________
Current Hangar : A-10C ¦ AJS-37 ¦ A/V-8B ¦ F-14A/B ¦ F/A-18C ¦ FC3 ¦ JF-17 ¦ Ka-50 ¦ Mi-8 ¦ M2000-C ¦ SA342 ¦ UH-1H

Other Modules : Combined Arms ¦ Persian Gulf

TRAINED -LEARNING- UNTOUCHED

Last edited by Terrorban; 01-13-2020 at 08:37 PM. Reason: typos
Terrorban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:50 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.