[AS INTENDED] CAT Take-off instructions removed? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2020, 06:22 PM   #1
ataribaby
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czechia
Posts: 249
Default [AS INTENDED] CAT Take-off instructions removed?

I can't see instructions text that guides me to the catapult I should taxi to in top right corner as seen in manual. I need enable it somehow?

I know I can go to whatever cat I wish. Just missing this info that I saw on preview videos and is in manual.

Flying in VR.
ataribaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 06:32 PM   #2
Deliverator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 12
Default

Same here
Deliverator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 07:02 PM   #3
Auntystatic
Closed Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 161
Default

yes those instructions were removed a few patches ago as it was felt unnecessary at this time, thereby allowing people to use any cat they want and avoid stacking

Last edited by Auntystatic; 05-21-2020 at 05:56 AM.
Auntystatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 08:43 PM   #4
Repth
DCS Ground Crew
 
Repth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Arizona
Posts: 195
Default

Can't say I understand why that was removed. Wasn't part of the super carrier supposed to be more realistic and updated ATC? I can't imagine that the Navy allows its pilots to wander willy nilly around the deck (I know it's a game; before all of you descend on me like hawks for suggesting realism or something resembling it). I wonder if that is also linked to what is causing the AI pathing issues that were reported in another thread? Oh well I guess.
Repth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 08:49 PM   #5
ataribaby
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czechia
Posts: 249
Default

Then please update manual [AS INTENDED] to not confuse players.
ataribaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:24 PM   #6
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 25,794
Default

It was updated in the manual already, but possibly the latest version didn't make this build, thanks.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 09:37 PM   #7
ataribaby
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Czechia
Posts: 249
Default

I see, thanks. Enjoying SC so far.
ataribaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2020, 11:37 PM   #8
Deliverator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 12
Default

I understand it not being needed for online squadron flights, as they can organice themselves but with single player things change a lot.

I've done a test today filling up the carrier with IA, and because they just go about their business, it means that you are stuck in a mess of airplanes going through the deck and you have to force your way in, and therefore your wingmen won't be launching at the same time as you, mixing flights and such.

Over multi-player online servers, it gives the opportunity to self-organization to improve the overall quality of experience with this module.

Please consider adding it back, as it was a really nice addition to sort things out
Deliverator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 04:15 AM   #9
Raisuli
Member
 
Raisuli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deliverator View Post
I understand it not being needed for online squadron flights, as they can organice themselves but with single player things change a lot.

I've done a test today filling up the carrier with IA, and because they just go about their business, it means that you are stuck in a mess of airplanes going through the deck and you have to force your way in, and therefore your wingmen won't be launching at the same time as you, mixing flights and such.

Over multi-player online servers, it gives the opportunity to self-organization to improve the overall quality of experience with this module.

Please consider adding it back, as it was a really nice addition to sort things out

+1; the AI is a particular nuance. At least on MP you can (hopefully) coordinate on SRS.


I suspect it has to be there if we're going to have directors send us to cats some day.
Raisuli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 06:00 AM   #10
VirusAM
Senior Member
 
VirusAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 2,008
Send a message via MSN to VirusAM
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Deliverator View Post
I understand it not being needed for online squadron flights, as they can organice themselves but with single player things change a lot.

I've done a test today filling up the carrier with IA, and because they just go about their business, it means that you are stuck in a mess of airplanes going through the deck and you have to force your way in, and therefore your wingmen won't be launching at the same time as you, mixing flights and such.

Over multi-player online servers, it gives the opportunity to self-organization to improve the overall quality of experience with this module.

Please consider adding it back, as it was a really nice addition to sort things out
That message was not useful for human players, as they can go to any cat they want.
It was useful only for the AI which is directed to a particular CAT.
__________________
Vincent "Virus" DThe
I9-9900K @5 GHz | 32gb | GeForce GTX1080ti| Samsung C34H892 | VKB Gunfighter III (MCG Pro + F14 + K12 grips)| Warthog Throttle | MFG Crosswind |HP Reverb | TrackIr 5 + Delanclip Fusion|JetSeat
VirusAM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:00 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.