AV-8B COPY PROTECTION CHANGE - Page 66 - ED Forums
 


Notices

View Poll Results: Eagle Dynamics New DRM Expiration Period Limit
1 Calendar Day 3 0.69%
3 Calendar Days ( Current System Under Evaluation ) 7 1.60%
7 Calendar Days 29 6.64%
14 Calendar Days 44 10.07%
21 Calendar Days 10 2.29%
30 Calendar Days ( Once a Month ) 154 35.24%
60 Calendar Days 11 2.52%
90 Calendar Days 207 47.37%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 437. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2018, 12:43 AM   #651
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3WA View Post
Well, I'll say what I've said before.

DRM on this sim is WAY OVERBLOWN.

This isn't Call of Crap or ARMA. There aren't 30 million pirates plotting to pirate this sim. I can count on 1 finger the number of people I know who play flight sims. Me. And I'm a hardcore gamer.

No 12 year old pirate is going to try to steal a game that has a 700 page instruction manual. Anyone that does is going to fire it up, scream and curse trying to play it, and then toss it off their drive. As I recall, I think someone cracked A-10C years ago. It was a total failure. NO ONE wanted it.

Just put it on Steam like Arma, Call of Crap, Battlefield, and all the other Big Studio games do. It will be fine. No one is going to pirate it. You'll probably end up with a lot more customers.

Why are you so worried about kids who would never have bought from you anyway? Please your Real Customers by not overdoing the Copy Protection.

The cost of Hotas joysticks, MFDs, TrakIR, etc. alone will stop any piracy, as they really are needed to play this sim decently. Pirates are poor and won't bother spending on anything greater than a mouse.



THIS! I FREAKIN HATE Starfarce. Every time even the tiniest thing changes on my machine, I have to go looking for my Keys. It's REALLY ANNOYING!
After the recent desaster with the Meltdown and Spectre Bugs in basically all CPUs, I am actually very fond of the idea to lock my modules to a specific hardware, rather than "my account" practically only secured by a password that needs to be held in the kernel memory.

If somebody steals my hardware I need an activation, OK, but if someone steals the account/paasword... what are my options to get back access?

What I do not like about StarForce is the limitations of activations/deactivations.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller
shagrat is offline  
Old 01-13-2018, 02:06 PM   #652
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3WA View Post
Well, I'll say what I've said before.

DRM on this sim is WAY OVERBLOWN.

This isn't Call of Crap or ARMA. There aren't 30 million pirates plotting to pirate this sim. I can count on 1 finger the number of people I know who play flight sims. Me. And I'm a hardcore gamer. :p

No 12 year old pirate is going to try to steal a game that has a 700 page instruction manual. Anyone that does is going to fire it up, scream and curse trying to play it, and then toss it off their drive. As I recall, I think someone cracked A-10C years ago. It was a total failure. NO ONE wanted it.

Just put it on Steam like Arma, Call of Crap, Battlefield, and all the other Big Studio games do. It will be fine. No one is going to pirate it. You'll probably end up with a lot more customers.

Why are you so worried about kids who would never have bought from you anyway? Please your Real Customers by not overdoing the Copy Protection.

The cost of Hotas joysticks, MFDs, TrakIR, etc. alone will stop any piracy, as they really are needed to play this sim decently. Pirates are poor and won't bother spending on anything greater than a mouse.



THIS! I FREAKIN HATE Starfarce. Every time even the tiniest thing changes on my machine, I have to go looking for my Keys. It's REALLY ANNOYING!
Pretty much with you on some points .... except you dont need to go looking for keys when
you get a starforce re-activation message it usually has the key you entered once before there

Iam not a big fan of starforce, but it does work well (apart from the MIG-21 issues because leatherneck
decided to do it their own way)

You can export ALL your DCS module keys very easily from the windows registry and NEVER have to enter them again
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests

Last edited by Johnny_Rico; 01-13-2018 at 02:08 PM.
Johnny_Rico is offline  
Old 01-14-2018, 05:41 PM   #653
WytchCrypt
Junior Member
 
WytchCrypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: South Puget Sound WA
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3WA View Post
THIS! I FREAKIN HATE Starfarce. Every time even the tiniest thing changes on my machine, I have to go looking for my Keys. It's REALLY ANNOYING!
Got ya...no argument here. I just keep a simple text file with my keys in it on the desktop. If Starforce wants me to reverify for whatever silly reason, I just open the file and cut and paste. Doesn't make it less annoying, but makes it less painful to get around
__________________
MSI GT72VR Dominator: i7-7700HQ, 16GB Ram, 128GB SATA SSD + 1TB HD, Nvidia GTX1070 8GB, Windows 10, CH Eclipse...
WytchCrypt is offline  
Old 01-18-2018, 04:25 PM   #654
esb77
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NH
Posts: 314
Default

So I'd say that 3 days is an awfully short time period if you travel at all in regions where internet coverage is spotty, ie, most of the land surface of this planet.

Sure, most people live in urban areas where access is easy and often cheap, but urban areas are overall a bitty little speck of all that's out there.

With a frequent update period, which seems to be what ED is after, I can see 7 days as being a reasonable compromise. More than 7 days means it's getting to be more than just a little trip, and while 14 or 30 days would be nice for those of us that do exceed a week worth of non-access sometimes, 7 days seems like it would probably cover most people most of the time.

I'd love a month, I voted 14 days, but 7 is where it becomes a dealbreaker for me when looking at purchasing new modules.

Three days is just too damn short.
__________________
Callsign "Auger". It could mean to predict the future or a tool for boring large holes.

I combine the two by predictably boring large holes in the ground with my plane.
esb77 is offline  
Old 01-18-2018, 04:40 PM   #655
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 8,744
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esb77 View Post
So I'd say that 3 days is an awfully short time period if you travel at all in regions where internet coverage is spotty, ie, most of the land surface of this planet.

Sure, most people live in urban areas where access is easy and often cheap, but urban areas are overall a bitty little speck of all that's out there.

With a frequent update period, which seems to be what ED is after, I can see 7 days as being a reasonable compromise. More than 7 days means it's getting to be more than just a little trip, and while 14 or 30 days would be nice for those of us that do exceed a week worth of non-access sometimes, 7 days seems like it would probably cover most people most of the time.

I'd love a month, I voted 14 days, but 7 is where it becomes a dealbreaker for me when looking at purchasing new modules.

Three days is just too damn short.
That means all military personell on deployment is out of the game, during their 3-6 month tours... And a lot of military personell is playing these kind of Sims.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom build extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC and an AHCP | Oculus Rift & controller

Last edited by shagrat; 01-18-2018 at 07:33 PM.
shagrat is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 06:52 AM   #656
Clawhammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wags View Post
Later, we hope this will allow usage of a module purchase between Steam and e-Shop versions.

Stay tuned for updates please.

Thanks
Sorry for bringing this up. Is this still the plan? Iam new to DCS and my next purchases (Iam going for the F-18, Harrier and Nevada map) will make me decide if i can keep the steam version (I really like the fast download and all the steam features) or switch to standalone. I do not expect a solution tomorrow or in the next weeks but if i will never be able to import steam modules into the standalone i would like to know it before i buy them on steam.

Thanks!
Clawhammer is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 04:08 PM   #657
Johnny_Rico
Senior Member
 
Johnny_Rico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 1,337
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clawhammer View Post
Sorry for bringing this up. Is this still the plan? Iam new to DCS and my next purchases (Iam going for the F-18, Harrier and Nevada map) will make me decide if i can keep the steam version (I really like the fast download and all the steam features) or switch to standalone. I do not expect a solution tomorrow or in the next weeks but if i will never be able to import steam modules into the standalone i would like to know it before i buy them on steam.

Thanks!
I would wait on buying anything until ED get back to us on this
__________________
METAR weather for DCS World missions

Guide to help out new DCS MOOSE Users -> HERE
Havoc Company Dedicated server info Connect IP: 94.23.215.203
SRS enabled - freqs - Main = 243, A2A = 244, A2G = 245
Please contact me HERE if you have any server feedback or METAR issues/requests
Johnny_Rico is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 04:12 PM   #658
NineLine
Community Manager
 
NineLine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: BC, Canada
Posts: 22,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny_Rico View Post
I would wait on buying anything until ED get back to us on this
I wouldn't, would hate to miss out on that $20 discount on the Hornet.
__________________
Nick Grey - "I have had the privilege of flying most marks of Spit, the I, V, IX, XIV, XIX and enjoyed working with Eagle to make this simulation of the IX the 'mutt's nuts'."
Artist formerly known as SiThSpAwN
Forum RulesForum Rules Guidelines
ED Facebook PageED YouTube PageWags YouTubeMy YouTube • My Discord - NineLine #0440
**How to Report a Bug**
NineLine is offline  
Old 01-19-2018, 06:18 PM   #659
Clawhammer
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SiThSpAwN View Post
I wouldn't, would hate to miss out on that $20 discount on the Hornet.
I just started with DCS. I have the F-15C, the free russian plane and the A-10C. Enough stuff to learn until the next f-18 sale. It just would be nice to know if i have to say goodbye to steam someday because they do not longer plan to bring both versions together.
Clawhammer is offline  
Old 01-21-2018, 07:39 AM   #660
bolt69
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3WA View Post
Well, I'll say what I've said before.

DRM on this sim is WAY OVERBLOWN.

This isn't Call of Crap or ARMA. There aren't 30 million pirates plotting to pirate this sim. I can count on 1 finger the number of people I know who play flight sims. Me. And I'm a hardcore gamer. :p

No 12 year old pirate is going to try to steal a game that has a 700 page instruction manual. Anyone that does is going to fire it up, scream and curse trying to play it, and then toss it off their drive. As I recall, I think someone cracked A-10C years ago. It was a total failure. NO ONE wanted it.

Just put it on Steam like Arma, Call of Crap, Battlefield, and all the other Big Studio games do. It will be fine. No one is going to pirate it. You'll probably end up with a lot more customers.

Why are you so worried about kids who would never have bought from you anyway? Please your Real Customers by not overdoing the Copy Protection.

The cost of Hotas joysticks, MFDs, TrakIR, etc. alone will stop any piracy, as they really are needed to play this sim decently. Pirates are poor and won't bother spending on anything greater than a mouse.



THIS! I FREAKIN HATE Starfarce. Every time even the tiniest thing changes on my machine, I have to go looking for my Keys. It's REALLY ANNOYING!
Excatly !!! Average simmer is someone who can afford to buy a game and actually buy it. I never pirated any DCS module and I bought all the modules I have. The price is awlays something to consider but this is not what keeps me aways. Conversely, drastic and constraining copy protection like this one will keep me away for sure. And I bet I am not the only one.
Copy protection has to be adapted to the market you are dealing with.
bolt69 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:19 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.