Speed brakes indicator somewhere? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2020, 02:17 AM   #1
bofhlusr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 69
Default Speed brakes indicator somewhere?

I'm using a single joystick. How does one tell if the speed brakes are open or close from inside the cockpit? Thanks.
__________________
Win Pro 10, A-10c (rarely used, but started with Falcon AT!), P3D v4 (100+ add-ons mostly ORBX), i7-8700k, 16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM, Gigabyte Z370M DS3H, Corsair water cooler, EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 650W, PNY GTX 1070ti, Dell 27" G-sync monitor, Logitech 3D Pro, NVMe OS drive, TB's of free space on SSD.
bofhlusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 03:06 AM   #2
Longiron
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 81
Default

Look over ya shoulder

Some audio clues are there also
Longiron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 03:18 AM   #3
Emmy
Senior Member
 
Emmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 2,236
Default

You need max power to taxi...
__________________

http://www.476vfightergroup.com/content.php
High Quality Aviation Photography For Personal Enjoyment And Editorial Use.
www.crosswindimages.com
Emmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 04:56 AM   #4
bofhlusr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Longiron View Post
Look over ya shoulder

Some audio clues are there also

Interesting. Is that how it's done in real life too? No indicator in the HUD or or the front panel like the flaps have them?
__________________
Win Pro 10, A-10c (rarely used, but started with Falcon AT!), P3D v4 (100+ add-ons mostly ORBX), i7-8700k, 16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM, Gigabyte Z370M DS3H, Corsair water cooler, EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 650W, PNY GTX 1070ti, Dell 27" G-sync monitor, Logitech 3D Pro, NVMe OS drive, TB's of free space on SSD.
bofhlusr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 05:03 AM   #5
ilikepie
Member
 
ilikepie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 683
Default

no
__________________
Action After Contemplation
ilikepie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2020, 10:35 PM   #6
Diesel_Thunder
Member
 
Diesel_Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 122
Default

There is no in cockpit indication that the speed brakes are deployed or stowed. The ways you know that they are out is to look out the window, and hearing more wind noise when they are deployed.

The F-16 doesn't have any indication either. The F/A-18 does have a light on the front panel that lights up if the speed brake is in any position other than stowed.
__________________
Aircraft: A-10A, F-15C, A-10C, P-51D, F-16C, F/A-18C

Modules: Super Carrier, NTTR, Persian Gulf, WWII Assets

PC: MSI 990FXA Gaming, FX-8120 3.1 GHz, 16GB Patriot Viper RAM, GTX980 4GB, 27" 1080p curved Samsung monitor, Saitek X-45 HOTAS, Opentrack

Diesel_Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 12:24 AM   #7
Rudel_chw
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Antofagasta, Chile
Posts: 6,761
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel_Thunder View Post
The F-16 doesn't have any indication either.

Not so .. it has an indicator on the Left auxiliary console .. pretty small and doesnt show the degree of extension, but it lets you know if it is extended or not.
__________________
For work: iMac mid-2010 of 27" - Core i7 870 - 6 GB DDR3 1333 MHz - ATI HD5670 - SSD 256 GB - HDD 2 TB - macOS High Sierra
For Gaming: 27" Monitor - Ryzen 1500X - 32 GB DDR4 2400 - nVidia GTX1070ti - SSD 1.25 TB - HDD 10 TB - Windows 10 Pro - Thrustmaster HOTAS Cougar - Oculus Rift CV1
Mobile: iPad Pro 12.9" of 256 GB
Rudel_chw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 04:38 PM   #8
Diesel_Thunder
Member
 
Diesel_Thunder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 122
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudel_chw View Post
Not so .. it has an indicator on the Left auxiliary console .. pretty small and doesnt show the degree of extension, but it lets you know if it is extended or not.
You're right, I forgot about that
__________________
Aircraft: A-10A, F-15C, A-10C, P-51D, F-16C, F/A-18C

Modules: Super Carrier, NTTR, Persian Gulf, WWII Assets

PC: MSI 990FXA Gaming, FX-8120 3.1 GHz, 16GB Patriot Viper RAM, GTX980 4GB, 27" 1080p curved Samsung monitor, Saitek X-45 HOTAS, Opentrack

Diesel_Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 06:09 PM   #9
lobo**
Member
 
lobo**'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 812
Default

Just a glance over the shoulder (VR baby!), audio, and seat rumble from the buttkicker.
__________________
Lobo's DCS A-10C Normal Checklist & Quick Reference Handbook current version 8D available here:
http://www.digitalcombatsimulator.com/en/files/172905/
lobo** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2020, 06:21 PM   #10
SVgamer72
Member
 
SVgamer72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 397
Default

I can't believe no one answered with..

"Mk.I Eyeball"

SVgamer72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
speed brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:58 AM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.