How do DCS sims compare to Microsoft's FSX?

bofhlusr

I'm new to DCS.

I keep reading about how DCS is the best simulator available here.

Is this really true? FSX has some pretty complex planes. For example, this plane which is just an add-on costs $90.

http://www.precisionmanuals.com/pages/product/FSX/777LRF.html

It's described as "......developed with technical input from Boeing and a team of real-life 777 crew and maintenance advisors,..."

Like I said, I'm new to DCS so I'm curious. Thanks.

Win Pro 10, A-10c (rarely used, but started with Falcon AT!), P3D v4 (100+ add-ons mostly ORBX), i7-8700k, 16 GB 3200 Mhz RAM, Gigabyte Z370M DS3H, Corsair water cooler, EVGA SuperNOVA Gold 650W, PNY GTX 1070ti, Dell 27" G-sync monitor, Logitech 3D Pro, NVMe OS drive, TB's of free space on SSD.

DCS modules have a high standard quality. Technical inputs from real life references are similar to PMDG boeing aircrafts from what's been told to the public.

DCS MiG 21, for instance, relied on constant input and insight from a real life MiG 21 pilot.

I had my small share on PMDG aircraft experience and it really compares to a DCS standard and vice versa. They may be on the same level. FMCs modeled by PMDG I remmember being pretty thick and full fidelity, it was the most remarkable feature from that product and can be compared to the immense depth feature as the DCS A-10C electronics.

You can not expect a fighter jet or attack jet to have so many buttons or switches as a commercial passenger jet (stating the obvious), but as fidelity, both are among the top really close.

As physics or flight model are taken into consideration, DCS have higher definition.

Expect way better fps on DCS world also.

I hope I've helped. Good luck and be very welcome! : )

Good Flying

I'm not 100 percent familiar with FSX but first of, what are you interested in ? The example you provided is civil aviation. DCS is primarily military.