Next map after Malvinas - Page 6 - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2020, 08:48 PM   #51
Jester986
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1,317
Default

I think Angola would be a great option. We're getting the mig-23 amd Mirage F-1. It would also be incentive for some to make the Buccaneer that so many want(although I don't have much feelings one way or the other for it).

Sadly though the Straight of Hormuz map getting renamed Persian Gulf probably says a a lot about this map's prospect though.
Jester986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 09:28 PM   #52
Ozone1
Junior Member
 
Ozone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 62
Default

Yeah, true. There is a lot more landmass, but still, besides some bushes, it's pretty much vacant space. Most of the effort that goes into map-making goes into the coastline and cities.

And as to Apartheid, ED doesn't seem to have a problem with the Nazi's, so I don't see how they could use that as an excuse...?
Ozone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 09:31 PM   #53
Ozone1
Junior Member
 
Ozone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 62
Default

"It would also be an incentive for some to make the Buccaneer that so many want"

Yeah, totally. I've wanted a Bucc forever!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	a063e30bdcd1ae8fd4840908b5c259f4--blackburn-buccaneer-aviation-art.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	227134  
Ozone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 09:39 PM   #54
Baco
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 637
Default

I think Angola fits perfectly into DCS,
- low populated areas,
- classic cold war proxy war,
- lots of unofficial assistance from all over the world, on both sides....
- may assets from South Atlantic can be reused in Angola
- you can make believe its Congo, Botswana, Zibabwe, or any "what if" African conflicit...
Baco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 10:01 PM   #55
Ozone1
Junior Member
 
Ozone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 62
Default

Yes! Some support...

I'm actually going to get the 3D files for the Armscore mod for Arma. The guy who made them is keen, but we need someone who can convert them for DCS... Anyone willing...?

I'm also working on some SAAF liveries for aircraft that still need them... Will release a skin pack soon...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SAAF Hurcs 3.png
Views:	77
Size:	352.2 KB
ID:	227137   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_200209_214328.png
Views:	81
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	227138   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen_200212_005318.png
Views:	78
Size:	3.18 MB
ID:	227139  

Ozone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 10:12 PM   #56
Ozone1
Junior Member
 
Ozone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 62
Default

Here are some of the Armscor assets...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 1.png
Views:	53
Size:	195.7 KB
ID:	227149   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 2.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	122.6 KB
ID:	227150   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 3.png
Views:	47
Size:	559.2 KB
ID:	227151  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 4.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	129.1 KB
ID:	227152   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 5.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	147.4 KB
ID:	227153   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 6.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	247.5 KB
ID:	227154  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 7.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	36.3 KB
ID:	227155   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 8.png
Views:	49
Size:	570.0 KB
ID:	227156   Click image for larger version

Name:	Armscor 9.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	123.6 KB
ID:	227157  


Last edited by Ozone1; 02-11-2020 at 10:15 PM.
Ozone1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 05:35 PM   #57
shagrat
ED Translator
 
shagrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 11,116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harlikwin View Post
Just to play devils advocate. Oversimplifying, how many units is each Soviet guards army, the 8th and the 1st. How many units are in the US V corps. Plus how much in the way of supply units and support units are we modeling. How many 100's of fighters are we modeling at any given moment? How many SAMS's Arty shells, tanks shells, and "bullets" etc are in flight at any given moment?
What I meant is, if you currently have issues running a mission with 300 units/objects bogging down your system in DCS, there is likely some bottleneck or general issue with your setup you may want to look into.
And actually when I started with DCS A-10C Warthog over 10 years ago, there where these typical mission generator clashes of roughly two tank/armored battalions and support troops fighting a similar opposition force on the unoptimized Caucasus map, on the old engine, limited by DX9 on ancient PC hardware. I haven't done a mass unit clash, yet, but the typical "The valley" campaign etc. should even perform better today than back in 2007?
A mission, does not require the involvement of the whole USSR 5th Army rolling over Europe, but the immediate environment your mission takes place. Spawning units as you approach them, or when they enter the engagement zone further reduces the load on the CPU at mission execution...
just saying.
__________________
Shagrat

- Flying Sims since 1984 -
Win 10 | i5 7600K@4.0GHz | 32GB | GeForce GTX 1080 8GB - Acer XB280HK 28" 4k | TrackIR5 | Simshaker & Jetseat | TM HOTAS Warthog custom extension | MFG Crosswind Rudder Pedals | TM Cougar MFDs |a hand made UFC | AHCP | 2x Elgato StreamDeck (Buttons galore)
shagrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 07:06 PM   #58
Harlikwin
Veteran
 
Harlikwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Living rent free in your mind
Posts: 5,967
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shagrat View Post
What I meant is, if you currently have issues running a mission with 300 units/objects bogging down your system in DCS, there is likely some bottleneck or general issue with your setup you may want to look into.
And actually when I started with DCS A-10C Warthog over 10 years ago, there where these typical mission generator clashes of roughly two tank/armored battalions and support troops fighting a similar opposition force on the unoptimized Caucasus map, on the old engine, limited by DX9 on ancient PC hardware. I haven't done a mass unit clash, yet, but the typical "The valley" campaign etc. should even perform better today than back in 2007?
A mission, does not require the involvement of the whole USSR 5th Army rolling over Europe, but the immediate environment your mission takes place. Spawning units as you approach them, or when they enter the engagement zone further reduces the load on the CPU at mission execution...
just saying.
I personally don't. But the larger point is if you want the fulda gap circa 1950-1990, you are going to have to come to terms with the fact there were tens of thousands of units there at a bare minimum all going head to head. I mean 2 battalions going at it and dynamically generated yeah, maybe, but you gotta fly there getting shot by sams, interceptors, etc, then do your cas mission. Meanwhile WW3 is happening all around you, dynamically or scripted. So at this point in DCS, where actual "moving" units causes issues, I don't think WW3 in germany is a tenable map/scenario.
__________________
New hotness: I7 9700k 4.8ghz, 32gb ddr4, 2080ti, TM Warthog. TrackIR, HP Reverb (formermly CV1)
Old-N-busted: i7 4720HQ ~3.5GHZ, +32GB DDR3 + Nvidia GTX980m (4GB VRAM) TM Warthog. TrackIR, Rift CV1 (yes really).

Last edited by Harlikwin; 02-12-2020 at 07:08 PM.
Harlikwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 06:13 AM   #59
Stratos
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Posts: 3,030
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozone1 View Post
Here are some of the Armscor assets...
This is a mod for DCS?

Angola would be a great choice, sparsely populated, and module relevant.
__________________
I don't understand anything in russian except Davai Davai!
Stratos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 06:31 AM   #60
cordite
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 359
Default

He wants to convert them to DCS
cordite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:02 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.