Flaps optimal position in combat? - ED Forums
 


Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2017, 04:25 PM   #1
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,182
Default Flaps optimal position in combat?

Hi, just not sure whats the best position to choose for flaps when in combat in the F5 and what would be the correct management of them during corner speed situations so I would like to know some tips about this...iirc in manual is not very clear and sugest you to use them in "auto" position but when doing tight turns, I guess they should increase drag more than improving lift but not sure if they are good or bad.

Also, AI F-5's seems to NOT use them in combat, at least in the BFM campaing.

thanks!!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1080ti Gaming X| 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 04:28 PM   #2
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,063
Default

auto is good, if you know how to use manual, even better, but if you don't know how to set them manually, you can make it worse...

Auto is good for starting, and mostly it helps a lot, depends on the speed, they create more lift (in lower speeds) or create more drag (high speeds)

AI uses SFM and doesn't need to use flaps or they never use flaps in combat
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 06:38 PM   #3
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,182
Default

any tips on how to use them manually?, would it be any better than auto?

thanks for the reply mate!
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1080ti Gaming X| 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 06:40 PM   #4
razo+r
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,063
Default

I mostly use them in auto, except when my data computer is damaged, then i use them manually otherwise they would be always down.

So, i don't know much about handling them manually, so maybe someone else has more experience with it...
razo+r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 06:59 PM   #5
grunf
Senior Member
 
grunf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2,371
Default

I always keep them on auto... too lazy to use manual
grunf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 05:06 AM   #6
Robert31178
Senior Member
 
Robert31178's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,504
Default

I think using them in manual is like driving stick vs auto when mudding or climbing - if you don't know what you are really doing you will just make a mess of things. I run mine in auto!!
Robert31178 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 11:50 AM   #7
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,182
Default

Ok, I think I will run them in auto also, but I guess it shouldnt be that hard after all...as long as speed decreases and lift with it it can be good to use them...if you want less drag to be faster then disable them, just like any other aircrafts...
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1080ti Gaming X| 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 05:08 PM   #8
ST0RM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: The land of Two Suns
Posts: 607
Default

Maybe I'm wrong, but I've found auto-flaps will hurt my chances of recovering energy loss.

Entering an engagement, I'm at good speed/high energy state. If I'm having to pull into a turn, auto-flaps seems to skip the less draggy fixed flap setting and go full. While it may provide max lift, it also adds a ton of drag reducing energy faster. The jet doesnt have the oomph to power out of that low energy state with full flaps, forcing an unload for a time.

I've began playing with manually placing (throttle switch) the flaps into the fixed position after the initial turn and then adjust up or down from there. Is it correct? I dont know but have found it's easier to maintain energy longer until the fight ends up low and slow.

Just my $.02
ST0RM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2017, 05:33 PM   #9
Pocket Sized
Senior Member
 
Pocket Sized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,124
Default

I often manually retract them after takeoff until 350 kts to reduce drag.

As for dogfighting:

Auto. The flaps are scheduled to move proportionally with AoA until a certain Mach number (with a small amount of delay) One trick is to structure your maneuvers around the auto flap system. I usually pull just enough to get the flaps moving before really digging into the turn. Airframe buffeting indicates you're pulling too hard for the current flap position and energy bleed will increase significantly.

If you need to run away or gain energy in a straight line, putting them up doesn't hurt, but 99% of the time they'll already be up if you're in auto.
__________________
DCS modules are built up to a spec, not down to a schedule.

In order to utilize a system to your advantage, you must know how it works.
Pocket Sized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2017, 02:14 PM   #10
watermanpc
Senior Member
 
watermanpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,182
Default

Nice tips guys!!

Thats what I felt also, when turning at high g's, I felt like the plane suffered "too much" with the flaps on auto...will have to check colsely to see whats better. Btw, I cant beat any of the 3 F-5 in the similar BFM combat in mision 1 , we always spend the 5 minutes or I got killed. No matter what I do, at the end the AI is on my six and Im not sure if my flaps has something to do with this (probably not )
__________________
i7 6700K@4,5Ghz | GB Z170x-UD3 | GTX 1080ti Gaming X| 32Gb DDR4@3000Mhz | 850 EVO 500Gb (DCS here) + SSD + Barracuda x3 | NOX Hummer M750 | HOTAS WartHog | DIY IR Clip+Opentrack | Win10 64 pro

Take a look at my MODS here
watermanpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:59 PM. vBulletin Skin by ForumMonkeys. Powered by vBulletin®.
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.